We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay in Burford”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Burford House
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Burford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

A very friendly,comfortable hotel. Set in the heart of Burford an ideal location for exploring the town. The hotel has loads of character and the bedrooms are nicely furnished.. The only problem was parking but soon found somewhere close to the hotel when all the shops had closed.

Room Tip: Front rooms face onto busy high street with traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    70
    19
    16
    7
See reviews for
42
165
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Ive been using the fantastic Burford House Hotel for my morning cuppa for the past couple of weeks. The location, staff & atmosphere are simply amazing. You could not ask for a better start to the day. Ive sat in the stunning gardens & used the garden room for this morning Tea & Toast, the free wifi is very fast & reliable.

You will not be disappointed with any visit to the Hotel

Gary P

Room Tip: Garden room is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We only went to the burford house hotel for a coffee after a friend's wedding the night before at the Bay Tree Hotel. I ordered a cream tea which was fairly priced, girl serving was friendly enough but the clotted cream I received was clearly off and stank, as well as obviously tasting pretty rancid! I didn't want to go in search if the one girl serving so I waited until we were ready to leave and she hadn't appeared by that point but my husband went yo pay and complain. The manager was in the kitchen and off with him but he paid as he hadn't eaten the cream. I went to take it to them and explain and say I wasn't best pleased that not even a sorry was offered but all I was told by manager was it was opened that day and he couldn't find fault. Still no apology and though he did reluctantly agree to take cream tea off bill, because my husband had paid he basically finished mid sentence and didn't speak to me again, so I left. I would certainly not recommend this to friends as I felt I was looked down on, treated as if I were a liar or someone trying to get out of paying a bill and all I can say is, is it any wonder nobody was coming in except for our big group when attitude is so poor and staff hide in the kitchen! Customer service training certainly required!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Wish I had not ignored the bad reviews on here. Stayed in the 'Sherbourne' 4 poster attic room, we renamed it the Sauna, so hot. Furniture in the bedroom was ok, but the bathroom was grim. I'm a big fan of mismatched vintage style but the bathroom decor was just poor and shabby. I agree with previous reviews, the green lights and signs for the fire escape are really off putting, and the traffic noise unbearable, although luckily my boyfriend can sleep through anything. The only request we made was for our tea and coffee in the room to be replenished and this was not done. We asked for poached eggs at breakfast but were brought fried. Why give the choice if its going to be ignored? Couldn't be bothered to complain, just wanted to check out. Whoever gave this hotel 5 stars needs to think again, it's very misleading when booking online.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in Burford House. It is a delightful hotel and the town makes an excellent base for touring the Cotswolds. The staff at Burford House are very helpful and friendly. Ian, the owner and his manager Sarah, are good company and very informative. The chef too is very talented. Her dinner menu is superb and the food is of high standard and fresh. It is also a welcome surprise to find a breakfast menu with food served by a waitress at the table instead of the now almost universal self-serve buffets.
The breakfast menu is very good, including, whilst we were there, 2 fish dishes and a superb porridge served with a whole nutmeg, a grater, cream and honey. There is a fruit buffet option with cereals for those who don't want to order from the menu.
Ian has a very nice wine list and an exclusive concession for a superb Dutch beer called Neuborg. The weather was good enough for us to be served drinks in the enclosed and peaceful courtyard.
The only negative is not the fault of the hotel, but a feature of Burford itself - and that is the incessant heavy truck traffic. If you stay in any hotel in Burford, you will need to ask for a room at the rear if you are sensitive to truck noise at close quarters throughout the night. We had a courtyard facing room and it was very quiet indeed. Despite the through traffic, parking was very easy in the side streets. The hotel has no car park but this is honestly not a problem.
Burford is a pretty town with plenty of pubs and restaurants and is good to stroll around.

Room Tip: Rear rooms facing courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Burford is a town with houses from the 1500 to 1700's. This charming place is one of the oldest on the main street. We had a large room with a wonderful four poster bed and wooden ceiling beams. The management is helpful and we recommend a rest in the garden.Breakfast good.
Be sure to leave time to wander around the town (particularly the hat store on High Street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorkoldgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night in August in the Sherbourne 4 poster attic room with free standing bath en-suite. First impressions were a definite wow factor, beautiful old room with lots of character and details. However if you scratch beneath the surface cracks begin to appear. First floor landing has an old fold up bed with cheap coat hangers on a rail, surely these could be hidden away or covered by a screen or curtain as they looked out of character. We tried to use the free wifi to no avail, manager couldn't understand why "its not happened before", no big issue really but annoying when its advertised. We then thought that later we could watch a film after dinner on the free Sky Premier movies however that didn't work either "its not happened before" according to the manager (again) obviously its just not our day. So getting ready for a night out we discovered that the toilet seat was split and flaking underneath ! and the actual toilet was cracked, not what you expect at these prices as a new toilet seat is only £20 at B&Q. After returning to the room later we found the room bathed in green light from the fire alarm (however someone had decided to tape cardboard over it so it wasn't too bright, but it didn't work). In the morning we found a polite letter reminding us that check out was 10.30am which is very early especially on a Sunday. Breakfast was ok limited range of cereals and juices and when we got there most of the fruit was gone, girls were polite and friendly but didn't seem too familiar with the layout of where things were. Quite a lot of traffic noise as said by others and if a lorry went past, the room shook. Value for money big question mark, when paying these prices expectations are high and this simply didn't live up to them which is a shame.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesstatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burford House

Property: Burford House
Address: 99 High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Burford
#4 Family Hotel in Burford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#5 Luxury Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Burford House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Burford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burford House Hotel Burford
Burford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing