We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book Now!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Burford House
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Book Now!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed only one night in this beautiful hotel in the lovely town of Burford.Ian and his staff made us so welcome, our room was amazing and the food was the best we had ever had.A huge thank you to all.Look forward to our next visit.
Highly recommend to anyone looking for a cosy comfortable hotel with excellent food and lovely friendly staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    70
    19
    16
    7
See reviews for
42
165
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed in the charming town of Burford, England located in the middle of the famous Cotswold countryside area of wonderful villages and small towns. It is an easy drive from Windsor, England where we visited that afternoon the Windsor Castle.

After alot of research decided on the Burford House Hotel situated in the active town of Burford. We wanted to be in a location to easily walk to shops and a good selection of restaurants. The hotel has a very good restaurant that is not mentioned in the restaurant section of Burford restaurant selections in the area. Our large king antique canopy bed room the Southrop, was wonderful and located at the back of the Hotel which is away from a front room location on High Street that has alot of traffic all times of day and night. We over looked the lovely English garden patio enclosed and very private. Several evenings we enjoyed an after dinner drink in the English garden.

I must say for a couple who likes to stay in upper scale hotels like the Four Seasons, or St. Regis and The Savoy
we would highly recommend the small privately owned hotel The Burford House. We arrived later in the evening than we had expected to for checking in. When checking in, what a warm greeting we received by Rachel Denton one of the managers who checked us in and even arranged a wonderful dinner meal, still being served in the lovely main dinning room. We had not made reservations for dinner, but Rachel talked with the chef and we had a wonderful selection to pick from even though the kitchen was closing. The dinner was excellent one of our best. It made it so comfortable to eat and relax in the hotel instead of trying to locate a restuarant in town close by which we had originally planned to do.
While we ate in the lovely fireplace dinning room, Rachel had our bags in our mini suite by the time we finished. She then showed us the way to our room and made sure everything was fine and did we need anything.

The hotel is very historic and remodeled beautifully with our Southrop room having its ownd section on the second floor. I am a degreed interior designer from America , so was very interested in the decor they selected. The king bed was very comfortable and the lounging/ sitting area most comfortable. One suggestion, would have prefferred another relaxing apholstered chair or small sofa. We stayed three nights and enjoyed every moment. Very private and the staff lets you decide upon when you want your room made up. This is very important to us when we travel and stay in hotels. Breakfast is served in the beautifully decorated dinning room for several hours, so you just go down when ever you want. One night returning late the owner and manager Ian Hawkins even parked our rental car for us, when everything seemed to be taken.

Upon check out ,each guest received a lovely thank you gift bag. We were given a beautiful coffee table book of the English Cotswolds. What a wonderful jesture and very thoughtful for them to do.

Do try their restaurant for dinner and select the Southrop room. You will not be disappointed.
This is a highly selected hotel and you will love staying at the Burford House Hotel on High Street. The staff is wonderful especially Rachel and gives you fantastic service and makes your trip to the Cotswold region fabulous.


Many thanks for such a wonderful three nights.
James and Pamela Greer
Dallas, Texas

Room Tip: The Southrop Room a room away from the main street. There largest room. Wonderful king canopy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamelaDallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just returned from a three night stay for our 50th wedding anniversary. What a wonderful weekend from start to end Ian and his team made us so welcome. The room was wonderful and we found it very relaxing. We had breakfast and an evening meal which was unquestionably the best we have had.for many years. Hightly recommend to anyone thinking of going to the costswolds and I shall certainly recommend it to our friends.Burford and the surrounding countryside is very picturesque and worth a visit. We wish Burford House success in the future you certainly all deserve it.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor overlooking the garden area and side street. Very quiet and enjoyable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynthia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long melford
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just arrived back from a 3 night stay as a couple and found the hotel to be pretty much as we expected from other trip advisor reviews. We obviously knew there was no car park so we prepared ourselves using google earth street view to gen up on Burford as this was our first visit to a proper cotswold town .This paid off as we were able to go straight to Hidcote n.t. gardens in the late morning and amble back to Burford to check in without the stress of scouring the town .The main car park is safe and well used and as we had small bags were able to carry these from here without exerting ourselves too much.We made a visit into Huffkins for some well earned cakes on route and settled in the room (taynesford) .We had a table booked for dinner at 1930 and enjoyed wine and cocktails in the living room downstairs which is very pleasant. We ate 3 courses , all of which were well prepared and cooked and represented good value too.The fan supplied in the room came in handy as the weather was very hot during the whole stay .All the staff are very pleasant and polite and the owner Ian is true proffesional . Not a bad word to say really , there are petty things one could find to say but for a hotel in the middle of Burford it is what anyone could expect .

Room Tip: Most rooms will have traffic noise but dont let this put you off. The taynesford has good views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed with my wife and grown up daughter. Ian and his staff were helpful and friendly, particularly as we arrived early. Sunday lunch was excellent and the service continued the relaxed, friendly, but unobtrusive theme. The small enclosed courtyard garden was a pleasant place to relax. We stayed in rooms overlooking it, which were comfy, slightly quirky with a spacious bathroom. We left a sweater in the room and it was returned to us by post - for which we were grateful. We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We enterted Burford House Hotel, wanting to have lunch however lunch service had already so we settled for a cream tea instead, the scones where divine and jam and cream where superb all served on a 3 piece stand. We sat in the room which faced the garden, with the comfy blue sofas the atmosphere was perfect. However, we could what could only be described has horrendous music coming from the reception we bit our lip as we knew we wouldn't be there for long, on payment of the cream tea we went down to reception and music was playing loud, Facebook was most clearly on and the lady didn't deal with our payment a young gentlemen did, once she shouted for him.
That's why we're only giving this 4 star, would give it 5 if staff we're better trained.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

On entering do not be deterred by the two small rather old fashioned reception rooms which would benefit from an interior designer, as one's attention is soon distracted by the warm welcome from mine host, Ian Watkins. Pre-dinner drinks are discreetly served whilst one peruses the menu for which the desciptions of each dish are very understated. One is then shown to a table in the Centre Stage Dining Room, beautiful crisp white linen table cloths, with elegant cutlery and glass ware. The variety of breads are delicious and a treat on their own. Each course is a picture and cooked to utter perfection. A well balanced wine list complements the excellent cuisne which surpasses many five star hotels. In all, a wonderful dining experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burford House

Property: Burford House
Address: 99 High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Burford
#4 Family Hotel in Burford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#5 Luxury Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Burford House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Burford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burford House Hotel Burford
Burford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing