We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bay Tree Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Burford House(Burford)
$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Bull at Burford(Burford)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamb Inn(Burford)
$134
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cotswold Gateway Hotel(Burford)(Great Value!)
$104
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds(Burford)(Great Value!)
$65
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Lamb Inn(Shipton under Wychwood)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Swan & Minster Mill(Minster Lovell)
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Witney Hotel(Witney)(Great Value!)
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveler rating
457
141
55
33
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
457
141
55
33
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomwedding coordinatorwedding breakfastamazing weddingwedding venuemolton brown toiletriesduty managerlovely hotelexclusive usebridal suitecotswold hotelenglish hotelpublic roomsmain buildingsister hotelwould highly recommend this hotelbar food
Filter
Updating list...
681 - 686 of 707 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2007

Took my girlfriend as a surprise for her birthday, glad i can enjoy these little niceties myself.

Super Cotswolds base, the classic cosy country hotel.

Great restaurant with stunning food for a very reasonable price. If you are looking for a romantic night away this place will push the right buttons (!)

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank atco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2007

We enjoyed staying in this pleasant hotel within the interesting town of Burford. The family sized garden room was great and we took room service both nights as we had our young boy (3 months old) with us!

Overall a memorable trip and worth the money, booked through Classic British Hotels website - we love the Cotswolds!

Stayed: December 2006
3  Thank vivacioussarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2007

Have just returned from a two night break at this lovely hotel. We stayed in Cedar room which was a twin room overlooking the garden. The hotel is very old and historic with a lovely bar area and library that have roaring open log fires which adds to the charm. Our room was spacious but a little cold when we arrived but one phonecall to the receptionist and the heating was sorted out. The staff were very friendly and the service in the restaurant was excellent. We ate at the hotel both nights and the food was extremely good with a wide choice available on the table de hote menu. We were served canapes in the bar we looked at the menu which was a nice touch. There were several people eating in the bar and the food looked very good too. There is ample car parking at the back of the hotel. We got an excellent deal on the hotel website for £25.00 per room per night (you had to have dinner at the hotel on both nights but got a reduced rate on that too!). This is a hotel we will definately return to. Burford and the surrounding Cotswold towns were charming and it all made for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CFCGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2006

Stayed at The Bay Tree hotel for a weekend in a garden room. Lovely and spacious, it was rather like staying in a country cottage. The room was attractively decorated and clean enough. Molton Brown luxury products were provided in the bathroom. The lounge has romantic log fires and comfortable armchairs. The restaurant's tapestries, flagstone floor and candle-lit tables all make for an intimate dinner (although it is a bit chilly, so wear you tights!). The food was excellent and portions generous. Staff were polite and attentive, but not to the point of intrusiveness. Had a wonderful break here and would recommend it.

Stayed: November 2006
4  Thank stoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2006

This is a very belated review! I got married in a civil ceremony at The Bay Tree Hotel in January 2005 so my review will differ from the normal type of review I post as it comments on event organisation as well as our stay in general. I hope you find it useful.

First of all, the hotel is beautiful. The first two times we visited the hotel whilst deciding on a wedding venue the weather was grim – raining, dark grey skies….and the hotel still sparkled. It is made up of 3 very old buildings. The main building is where the bar and restaurant, reception and several bedrooms are located. Additionally there is a cottage building where more rooms are located and finally four garden rooms. I am bemused by earlier reviews bemoaning the lack of lifts and creaky floors – this building dates from 1565 (or maybe that was when it first opened as a hotel?! Anyway it is old!) so yes some floors will creak and it isn’t soundproofed the way you would want an airport hotel to be! There are no lifts as it is a listed building, so yes it is difficult for people with mobility issues to get to certain rooms but the restaurant and garden rooms are easily accessible – if you have any concerns about this it is probably best to ask the reception for advice. We fell in love with the fire places that are scattered around the communal areas although ironically despite the winter wedding they weren’t turned on as the venue was pleasantly warm with all our guests there!

The bedrooms are gorgeous and all the guests loved the miniature Molton Brown products. Those in the suites had full sized bottles …complete with note that they were for use in the room and could be bought ha ha. All of the bedrooms have character and if you cannot splurge on a junior or master suite then I would recommend having a garden room (hey we looked at them all!).

The venue were very accommodating with our food requests. They allowed us to offer guests a choice of 2 starters, 3 mains and 2 desserts on the condition that we inform them of the guest choices 2 weeks ahead of the wedding. This was great as my husband and I both wanted our own choice of wedding breakfast! The food was delicious and very plentiful – maybe it was the tightness of my bridal dress but I couldn’t eat all the food! Several guests commented on how nice the food was including someone who said they hadn’t realised mass catering could taste this good. I will say that breakfast the next day was ok but not exceptional. On the day of the wedding I had room service breakfast with the bridesmaids – I have no idea if it tasted good as I was too nervous to eat, but it did look nice!

For anyone interested in the wedding side of things, the ceremony was fantastic. The Oxfordshire Registrars were very friendly and made the ceremony personalised and romantic. There was a lovely bit after the signing of the register when they allowed guests to come to the front of the room and photograph us. This was great as it allowed us to say a quick hi to family and friends and for them to congratulate us. Matthew from The Bay Tree was in charge of organising/facilitating the day and he did a great job. It was a bit weird that the wedding coordinator does not work at the hotel on Saturdays – it would have been easier to liaise with Matthew directly as he was professional and competent. The hotel were really good at meeting our requests – being a typical pre wedding bridezilla I asked if they would remove all blue glasses from the restaurant and only use the clear ones which they did. The room they use for civil ceremonies looks very different normally to how it looks when all of the seats are arranged – it was very nice indeed. The venue actually provide a flower arrangement for the registrar’s table (they asked in advance what colour our flowers were so that their arrangement would match). The room is quite small with rows of 3 seats on either side of the aisle and standing space at the back – this really isn’t as bad as it sounds. It allowed us to invite more guests to the whole day and had an intimate feel. Originally the venue only laid out a few rows of seats but my husband noticed this and helped set more rows out before the guests arrived en masse.

There were a few things the hotel could improve – the hotel managed to double book a bedroom which could have been a nightmare but we managed to sort it out; we were told that after midnight guests would have to charge drinks to their room but that you can only do this with your room card – however on check out the hotel tried to charge us for drinks that were served long after we had retired to our room, they removed the charge but the receptionist was quite rude about it. Also there were no follow up calls or letters after the wedding to check if we enjoyed the day, or any ‘discounted anniversary stay’ packages which many hotels offer.

Overall though it was a perfect day, we could not have asked for a better wedding setting and we have visited the hotel since for afternoon tea and will definitely return for an anniversary soon – ‘discounted anniversary stay’ package or not!!

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NixKitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews