We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas”
Review of The Bay Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bay Tree Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful Christmas and looked after very well. We had a suite I think it was the Oak Room with a four poster bed which we had a set of steps each so we could get into bed.
In all public rooms they had log fires. The food was good. Nothing was not to much trouble.
This was the first time we had been away at Christmas on our own, we will do again. This was December 2012.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 657 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Bay Tree is in the picturesque village of Burford. The buildings are really spectacular and the hotel is covered in flowering wisteria. The hotel is quaint with flag stone floors and a fire in the snug. Our room Kempster was large with comfortable bed, sitting area and bathroom
With molton brown toiletries. We loved our room which looked out to the garden. We went to the Lamb next door for a drink which was equally as lovely. The bar at the bay tree had limited drink options.
Location is just off the main road and ideal walking distance. I would recommend the hotel as a place to stay but not to eat. The down side was we had 2 day meeting and the lunch food was disappointing - we had chips which were ok, sandwiches limited selection and bread slightly dry and soup which was cauliflower and was tasteless no one ate it. We did raise this and asked for day 2 to have salad and selection - the service was slow and for example we did not have plates had to ask for these - sandwiches were again limited and dry, the salad was limp. Breakfast had a buffet which was fine with good selection, ordered poached egg and toast, the egg was cold and the toast was cold and more bread than toasted. Overall lovely venue and would use the hotel but choose to eat elsewhere as a selection of good pubs close by.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soliver1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Funny having just read the last review posted about this hotel- as I am really not surprised that this actually happened to that poor couple with the baby! The staff are just plain rude and look like they just don't want to be there. Why bother doing the job then? Go offer that sour face to someone else. Breakfast in the morning was luke warm with the hardest bacon ever. Must have sat around for awhile getting air dried. The rudeness didn't just exude from the staff but seemed to spread to some of the other guests staying at the hotel! I held a door open for a couple to walk through first, to be greeted with........absolutely nothing. A smile would have been nice, but even that was too much for some cotswold folk. Though this is no fault of the hotel, it just left an all round bad taste in the mouth. Never again. Snobby hotel for snobby people. Avoid unless you are one of them.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We returned to the Bay Tree to celebrate our First Wedding anniversary with our baby Daughter.
Included in the price was a three course meal in the restaurant.
We highlighted on check-in that we required early supper and we were told the earliest was 7o'clock.
We went straight in and were shortly joined by another couple who were very friendly towards us and were cooing over our Daughter.
After ordering our food and wine ,we were offered bread with our 'muse Bouchée'.
Our Daughter started stirring and cried for at most, ten seconds ,then returned to rest.
Within a moment we were asked to leave the restaurant as we were ' ruining the enjoyment of other Guests' ,we were both stunned ,then given the option to eat in the main bar or in the Library but we had to leave,we were not welcome to stay!!!
I asked about our enjoyment, this wasn't a consideration!
Our Daughter was not upset or causing any discomfort to anyone,including the other couple present,had she been crying continuously ,one of us would have left the restaurant to console her.
However this was not the case.
The evening was spoilt ,
We returned to our room,which unfortunately was located above the main bar.
The raucous laughter and loud chat WAS ruining our enjoyment and resulted in our inability to sleep or relax,having been banished to quarters by Restaurant Staff!!
We paid to have a junior Suite ,as it was a special occasion and although the room was adequate,the location was not!
Due to the circumstances,my Husband refused to use the Restaurant for breakfast or spend anymore money in the bar/ Hotel.
We will not be returning to The Bay Tree and as Patrons to other establishments in Cotswolds Inns & Hotels group,The Lamb,Burford. The Manor House,Moreton-in -the-Marsh,in particular( which we return to twice a year) we will scrutinise your Children/Family policy and expect that when you are clearly advised that a baby is a potential Guest,you have a duty of a provision of service for that Family if you confirm the booking.
Their enjoyment is your responsibility, as much as others.
We are all paying Guests.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bethan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Asked for a double room with a garden view and a twin room elsewhere.

Instead, got a twin room with a garden view and a double room very much elsewhere.

Spiders may be able to create their webs quickly but I defy even the deftest arachnid to spin something the depth and width of which I discovered hanging over the inadequate shower in one of our rooms.

Also asked for a cooked breakfast.

Instead, after about an hour (and that is no exaggeration), got cold eggs, cold toast that was more bread than toast, and what may as well have been plastic toy bacon.

Never bothered with breakfast the second morning and, when complaints were made, never got an apology for the hotel's shortcomings either.

It was more of a Putin-style response to diplomatic relations, begging the question: why even work in hospitality when the purpose of your job is to be hospitable?

The shame of it all is that with a bit of thought and a bit of work, this place could be lovely.

But the benefits of a beautiful location, a lovely old building and some of the staff are lost when the standards are motorway-service station despite a Cotswolds price tag.

Room Tip: My tip for a good room is to book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil in the Bla... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at The Bay Tree hotel on the Thursday night before Easter as a prelude to a family weekend in the Cotswolds to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We wanted a quiet romantic evening before the mob arrived the following day so I booked one of their Master Suites with breakfast included.

First impressions were very good... plenty of parking at the back, the receptionist was very polite and helpful at check in and walked us to our room which was The Windrush. The Hotel is a little quirky with split levels, small rooms in the public areas and at least our bedroom and a few others were across the drive in another section but to us the whole ambiance worked very well. Everywhere was very clean, well kept and full of character.

Our room had a large bed, a very well equipped bathroom and a lounge area with a Nespresso machine and 2 televisions. Very nice.

After a wander around Burford we decided to have drinks and dinner in the bar (as opposed to the restaurant). The Bar had two discrete rooms both full of character and was one of those places where it was easy to chat to other guests if you wanted to. We sat next to a grand fireplace where it was easy to imagine a spit roast on the go with Cromwell's men sharpening their swords on the stone in days gone by. We loved it!

I had sea bass and my wife the vegetarian risotto and both were superb served by very friendly and attentive staff.

We had a lovely and un-rushed breakfast the following day where they have cereals/fruit juice set out and you could order cooked off the menu. All served to a high standard.

Our total bill for including the room, breakfast, dinner and drinks for two was less than £160.00.

So overall a very memorable stay, we were treated very well and both thoroughly enjoyed everything we experienced at The Bay Tree. I thought great value for money as well although that wasn't the prime consideration.

If you like somewhere a bit different in a historical town we'd thoroughly recommend The Bay Tree Hotel.

Room Tip: I noticed mixed reviews on the standard rooms, could be fussy people of course, but I don't thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julianh465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Visited the Bay Tree on a 2 for 1 offer staying in a master suite, £275 for 2 nights B&B which included dinner one evening. Check in is at 2pm but on arrival at 2.30pm our room wasn't ready. It would have been nice to have been offered complimentary coffee but this was not to be! On check in we were taken to the 'Oak' suite. This was extremely spacious with seating area and TV in the main bedroom and then a separate lounge area with TV. For the size of the room it is a real shame to see a standard double four poster inside - a king size or super kingsize would be so much better and the space would certainly allow for this. Good range of rea/coffee making facilities including Nespresso machine. Nice bathroom with whirlpool bath.

Our meal in the restaurant was very nice and staff attentive throughout. Although we have seen reviews reporting poor breakfast quality ours were very good with no complaints. Our second night we sampled food in the bar and again this was very good.

Sleep quality, or the distinct lack if it, is the reason we would definitely not return to this hotel. The bed, whilst quaint, creaks to high heaven. It is quite obvious that no one from the hotel has ever sat on or laid on this bed. Also, as a previous reviewer has mentioned the floorboards are appalling. We thought it may have been staff rooms above ours given the constant creaking of floorboards throughout the night and the sound of the TV from 6.30am but it was another guest room!

Overall a nice break in the Cotswolds but we certainly didn't leave The Bay Tree feeling rested. It could be so good with just a few tweaks. Sadly we left more than a little disappointed!!

Room Tip: Hopefully a top floor room will prevent creaking floorboards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kibongi1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
737 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
572 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Tree Hotel

Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#3 Family Hotel in Burford
#5 Business Hotel in Burford
Price Range: $150 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bay Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled away on a quaint side street in Burford is the Bay Tree Hotel, part of the Cotswold Inns and Hotels collection. The hotel has 21 stylish bedrooms and endless character with flagstoned floors, roaring log fires and a secret walled garden. This dog-friendly property is perfectly located for exploring Burford and its surrounding Cotswold villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bay Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree Burford
Hotel Bay Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing