We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A dream of a place”
Review of The Bay Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bay Tree Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A dream of a place”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We recently used the Bay Tree for our wedding - with the ceremony taking place in the Conservatory and our reception in the Summer House set in the hotels beautiful terraced gardens. Such a beautiful setting and wonderful service from the staff. We stayed two nights and experienced not only their wedding service but also the restaurant service. The food was amazing and the staff were extremely professional and alert to our every need, not only that but they were all really friendly too, not pretentious like some staff can be at good class hotels.
We stayed in the Oak Suit which was full of olde worlde character with an extremely comfy four poster bed, the only criticism we had was that the hot water flow to the shower and hand basin was very poor.
If you are looking for somewhere 'typically English' to relax, experience excellent food in wonderful surroundings look no further. Personally I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmacworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baytreemanager, General Manager at The Bay Tree Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so very much for this lovely review of The Bay Tree Hotel.

I am so pleased you had such a wonderful wedding and enjoyed the service you received from our staff. I get so many great comments about the friendliness and efficiency of my team and I never grow weary of them - it makes me so proud! It is a delight to read on every occasion and I thank you for taking the time to make such lovely comments – I will be passing them on to my team.

Sincerest apologies if the hot water flow was not up to standard – I will certainly have this looked into by our Maintenance Team – and I do hope it did not mar your special day and stay.

My team and I hope you will return so we can welcome you back and look after you again.

Kindest Regards

Jules Simms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    129
    47
    30
    18
See reviews for
112
343
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kingwood
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Prior to attending a conference in Oxford, I wanted to spend a couple of days in the Cotswolds. After an all-night trip from the US, I took a bus to Oxford, rented a car, and drove to Burford. The Bay Tree was a wonderful opportunity to recover from the airline, and a great base for two days of touring. The historic property is updated with all modern conveniences. The staff is welcoming and very competent. Breakfast (included in the rate) is better and more hearty than one could reasonably ask. The smoked salmon was some of the best I've ever had; and the other options were wonderful, and more than enough to qualify as a "full English breakfast." Dinner is very good. Service was simply outstanding. Free parking onsite was great. Location was a special plus, because it was located only two blocks off the main street, a highway that was very busy and noisy. There are inns on that main street, but I would be concerned that one might be awakened at night by large trucks and a lot of traffic. Bay Tree was simply a historic property, thoroughly updated, with a terrific staff.

Room Tip: The premium garden rooms had names; mine was "Wisdom". I would highly recommend the upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baytreemanager, General Manager at The Bay Tree Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your great review of The Bay Tree Hotel.

I am thrilled that you found the breakfast so good, the location peaceful and the staff and service efficient. I will be sure to pass you comments on to my team, who will be delighted that you were so impressed.

I hope that upon your return to the Cotswolds in the future, you will stay with us again and my team and I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Jules Simms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My now wife and I got married at the Bay Tree in Burford on 29th June this year, and it was a superb experience shared by our family and friends too. The food and service was excellent on the day and in the year-long lead up to the event, and while we were blessed with a stunning, sunny day, the hotel is easily excellent whatever the weather.

The staff are friendly, approachable and have a great eye for detail. They were brilliant with all our guests. The food - both during the event and in the morning - was consistently excellent, of a good size and very well presented. They also catered to a range of needs without falling back on old staples.

The rooms are varied and very good, with newer, more modern rooms available to off-set the older traditional Cotswold rooms (which are great). Parking is also good - pretty important given the lack of space in Burford.

On the whole, it was an incredible day that owed a great deal to the care and attention put in by the hotel staff - thanks very much indeed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baytreemanager, General Manager at The Bay Tree Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review of the Bay Tree Hotel. It was a pleasure to be part of your special day.

I am delighted that you had such an excellent wedding day and that everything exceeded your expectations.

I hope you will return to the Bay Tree soon so we can look after you again. Maybe for your anniversary??!! Whenever it is, I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Jules Simms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhosneigr
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at this hotel with a couple of friends. We were lucky enough to receive a complimentary upgrade to a suite and the rooms were of a very high standard: immaculate, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Dinner was a delight as the menu was varied and the food delicious. The service could also not be faulted. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anglesey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baytreemanager, General Manager at The Bay Tree Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your glowing review of The Bay Tree Hotel.

It is always so pleasing for me to know that our guests are receiving the service we endeavour to provide and are happy with the surroundings we so carefully implement and maintain.

I do hope you will return and we will be able to look after you again.

Kindest Regards

Jules Simms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Great room. Quiet even though it was near reception. Friendly staff. Great food - breakfast and especially dinner. Lots of parking. Close to Burford high street. Everything worked. Comfortable bed. Easy to black-out the room. Great bathroom. Would go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danglefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baytreemanager, General Manager at The Bay Tree Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Many thanks for your report of The Bay Tree Hotel.

I am glad to read that we delivered what we promised and that all the factors you mention were to you liking.

It’s great to know you would return and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards
Jules Simms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Our first trip to the Cotswolds and we stayed for two nights to attend a friend's wedding nearby. The service was excellent, we were made very welcome and had a very pleasant meal in the restaurant along with some of the Groom's family and friends the night before the wedding. The bedroom was decorated beautifully and the four poster bed was really comfortable. The food was of excellent quality, both at dinner and breakfast and we really enjoyed relaxing in the beautiful gardens with a drink. Many thanks for a lovely, relaxing break, we'll be back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsOyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baytreemanager, General Manager at The Bay Tree Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely account of The Bay Tree Hotel.

I am delighted you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed both our accommodation and cuisine.

My team and I look forward to your return and looking after you again

Kindest Regards

Jules Simms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight for a wedding. We had the sycamore room. It was surprisingly spacious and comfortable in a quaint way. We were very happy with the complimentary Molton Brown products and the quality and standard of biscuits, tea's and coffee in the room. Overall, a lovely stay. Only negative was that the bar was quite expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XxMr_and_Mrs_Hxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baytreemanager, General Manager at The Bay Tree Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Bay Tree Hotel.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found your room so comfortable with all the amenities we provide. However, I am sorry to read you found the bar to be expensive - although hotel bars are naturally more expensive than regular bars or pubs, we do ensure we price ourselves in line with our competitors in the Burford area.

I do hope this will not deter you from returning to The Bay Tree and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Jules Simms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Tree Hotel

Property: The Bay Tree Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#3 Family Hotel in Burford
#5 Business Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bay Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled away on a quaint side street in Burford is the Bay Tree Hotel, part of the Cotswold Inns and Hotels collection. The hotel has 21 stylish bedrooms and endless character with flagstoned floors, roaring log fires and a secret walled garden. This dog-friendly property is perfectly located for exploring Burford and its surrounding Cotswold villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bay Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree Burford
Hotel Bay Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing