We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of The Bay Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bay Tree Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Rhosneigr
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at this hotel with a couple of friends. We were lucky enough to receive a complimentary upgrade to a suite and the rooms were of a very high standard: immaculate, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Dinner was a delight as the menu was varied and the food delicious. The service could also not be faulted. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anglesey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baytreemanager, General Manager at The Bay Tree Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your glowing review of The Bay Tree Hotel.

It is always so pleasing for me to know that our guests are receiving the service we endeavour to provide and are happy with the surroundings we so carefully implement and maintain.

I do hope you will return and we will be able to look after you again.

Kindest Regards

Jules Simms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    132
    48
    30
    18
See reviews for
119
354
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Great room. Quiet even though it was near reception. Friendly staff. Great food - breakfast and especially dinner. Lots of parking. Close to Burford high street. Everything worked. Comfortable bed. Easy to black-out the room. Great bathroom. Would go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danglefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baytreemanager, General Manager at The Bay Tree Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Many thanks for your report of The Bay Tree Hotel.

I am glad to read that we delivered what we promised and that all the factors you mention were to you liking.

It’s great to know you would return and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards
Jules Simms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Our first trip to the Cotswolds and we stayed for two nights to attend a friend's wedding nearby. The service was excellent, we were made very welcome and had a very pleasant meal in the restaurant along with some of the Groom's family and friends the night before the wedding. The bedroom was decorated beautifully and the four poster bed was really comfortable. The food was of excellent quality, both at dinner and breakfast and we really enjoyed relaxing in the beautiful gardens with a drink. Many thanks for a lovely, relaxing break, we'll be back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsOyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baytreemanager, General Manager at The Bay Tree Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely account of The Bay Tree Hotel.

I am delighted you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed both our accommodation and cuisine.

My team and I look forward to your return and looking after you again

Kindest Regards

Jules Simms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight for a wedding. We had the sycamore room. It was surprisingly spacious and comfortable in a quaint way. We were very happy with the complimentary Molton Brown products and the quality and standard of biscuits, tea's and coffee in the room. Overall, a lovely stay. Only negative was that the bar was quite expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XxMr_and_Mrs_Hxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baytreemanager, General Manager at The Bay Tree Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Bay Tree Hotel.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found your room so comfortable with all the amenities we provide. However, I am sorry to read you found the bar to be expensive - although hotel bars are naturally more expensive than regular bars or pubs, we do ensure we price ourselves in line with our competitors in the Burford area.

I do hope this will not deter you from returning to The Bay Tree and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Jules Simms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on a 2 for 1 offer commencing Sunday 4th August for two nights. (We paid £275).
My partner and myself have very stressful jobs/lives and needed to have complete relaxation for a couple of days.
We were booked into the Kempster Suite. It is a lovely garden room and very beautifully decorated. The downside for us was that we didnt feel very private. Other guests were enjoying the garden and wandering around it, just outside our balcony. This meant we had keep the curtains closed.

In addition the staff/cleaners working in adjoining rooms and entering leaving the building were very noisy - shouting to each other and laughing and joking.

The Kempster Suite unfortunately is facing the building where deliveries come and go from. Staying in bed for a while in the mornings was not an option here due to noise levels. Really disappointing.

We were asked on check in if we would like a bed turn down. We thought how lovely. But on Monday we went out then came back mid afternoon. The maids had been in and the bed was made. Lovely. We went to bed to sleep and locked the door. But we were disturbed by knocking on the door several times. We couldn't answer it as we were not dressed. We tried to sleep on. But reception then rang the room asking if the maids could come in. We weren't sure what for as the bed had already been made and we weren't expecting to be disturbed at all. We gave up in the end and went out.

The romantic chill out two day stay was not to be. So pleased we didn't pay full price.

Room Tip: Room on the back, tho gardens were beautiful you dont feel private.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank valente50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baytreemanager, General Manager at The Bay Tree Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Bay Tree Hotel. I am sorry that your stay was not as tranquil and peaceful as you had hoped.

Being a Superior Garden Room, Kempster is a highly sought after room - it is decorated and furnished to a high standard and looks out over our pretty and well-kept garden. As the Garden Rooms are not at the garden ground level, we have always found that this elevation gives the privacy most guests desire when there are others outside, enjoying it. However, I am sorry that you felt it was not private enough for you. In addition, I am sorry and surprised to hear you were disturbed by vehicles using the lane outside and our Housekeeping Team in next-door rooms, especially because all the Garden Rooms are double glazed and have sound proofing in the walls and roof. Please also be aware that if you request turndown, this means your room will be serviced twice - once in the day and then again in the evening, which is why a Housekeeping Team Member was knocking on your door and trying to gain access to your room. It is unfortunate that this was ultimately not convenient to you.

I do hope these issues will not deter you from staying with us again and hope your next stay will be more to your liking.

Kindest Regards
Jules Simms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

For many years I've wanted to stay overnight at the Bay Tree having been in the bar only on a couple of previous occasions and the opportunity arose on the hottest and most humid day/night of the year!! We received a warm welcome from the lady who worked in reception and she showed us to our room and also showed us where everything was and if we needed anything to just 'phone down to reception. Top marks for our firstimpressions. The room was gorgeously decorated and in keeping with the age and character of the hotel. Great little touches - complimentary mineral waters, Molton Brown toiletries and a good supply of different teas/coffees stocked.The staff tried their best to keep the room as cool as possible on such a hot day but the air conditioner units worked hard but unfortunately struggled to cool the temperature of the room making it unbearable when it came to trying to sleep - but that of course wasn't the fault of the hotel.The gardens were superb - tranquil and just beautifully landscaped.
We had dinner in the Restaurant. The décor, atmosphere and service was five star/ 10 out of ten. Then the food arrived. This was quite honestly one of the best meals we've ever experienced and we do have lots of experience of dining-out.The Chef and his brigade are very,very talented and the breakfast the morning after - WOW! That's all I'm going to say.
The reason why I've not given this review top marks, and believe me I wanted to, is for three reasons and I hope this will be seen as positive feedback rather than just a complaint.
1.The Hotel makes a charge for paying by Credit Card. I do think this undermines the quality of this classy establishment - instead they should increase the cost of the room or food if they need that amount . It's a principle really and in my opinion makes them appear a bit tacky. 2.On the receipt for the meal it clearly states a gratuity has been added which is fine by me but there is also a section on the receipt for an an additional gratuity which I think is cheeky, and 3.The room we stayed in (Oak) was gorgeous and spacious. The bed, a four poster, while it looked good was so uncomfortable and small.(possibly the most uncomfortable, cramped bed I've ever slept in). There is so much space in that room that a Queen size bed would've easily fitted and would've been a better option.I normally can sleep anywhere at anytime ( and do !!) but the bed was not good, it really wasn't and the put up bed in the adjoining room for my son was also not comfortable. That room would also easily accommodate a double- sized bed. The temperature didn't help but if the bed had been more comfortable and spacious then that could have helped.
Finally - the Staff - All very nice, friendly and helpful. One person in particular, whose name I didn't note (blonde hair), was particularly an excellent ambassador for the Hotel - I believe she was only five weeks in training but in my view she was naturally calm and genuinely gave great service even when under pressure.Well done to her she will or should go far in the hotel collection The others too helped make our stay, apart from the beds, enjoyable and we will return and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baytreemanager, General Manager at The Bay Tree Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give this very honest review of the Bay Tree Hotel.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us for the most part, and will certainly pass on your lovely comments to the staff and especially to the Receptionist that impressed you so much. I will also pass on your compliments to the Chef.

I am so sorry you had an uncomfortable night’s sleep – as you say, it was on the hottest day of the year, but I am sorry to read that you found the bed lacking in comfort and space. As you know, the bed itself is a beautiful ornate four-poster double bed, which is just short of the ceiling. You may have noticed a wooden beam running the length of the room – this beam is just off centre and the bed sits just the other side of it because it cannot fit under it. It is the main reason we do not have a larger four-poster in there, because there would not be the room to accommodate it on either side of the beam – either a doorway would be blocked or the bed would be right up against the wall and window. The Oak Suite is also our bridal suite and newly weds love the romantic atmosphere a four-poster adds to the suite, which would be lost with a typical, larger bed. However, I apologise for any discomfort this brought you on the night in question.

Please note we do not charge for payments made with credit cards – we used to, but we stopped doing so last year. It may be that you saw this in some old literature of ours? With regard to the gratuities, although we add the standard service charge of 10% when dining in our restaurant, this is discretionary, and we like to offer guests the opportunity to either increase/decrease this charge as they see fit, depending on the level of service they receive. It is not meant to be “cheeky”, but if you feel it is then I apologise, because this is not the desired intention of it.

I do hope these factors do not deter you from returning to the hotel and I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Jules Simms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in the Kempster garden room at the beautiful Bay Tree and could not fault it. The bed was supremely comfortable, the room spotless and stylish. The greeting from reception was warm and helpful and in fact all the staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great. When we go back to the area for a longer stay it will certainly be our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Kempster was a lovely garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baytreemanager, General Manager at The Bay Tree Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so very much for this lovely review of the Bay Tree Hotel.

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your kind comments about the team on to them,

My team and I all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Burford.

Kindest Regards

Jules Simms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
532 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Tree Hotel

Property: The Bay Tree Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#3 Family Hotel in Burford
#5 Business Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bay Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled away on a quaint side street in Burford is the Bay Tree Hotel, part of the Cotswold Inns and Hotels collection. The hotel has 21 stylish bedrooms and endless character with flagstoned floors, roaring log fires and a secret walled garden. This dog-friendly property is perfectly located for exploring Burford and its surrounding Cotswold villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bay Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree Burford
Hotel Bay Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing