We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The wow factor.J.S. wolverhampton”
Review of The Bay Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bay Tree Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The wow factor.J.S. wolverhampton”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just returned from this amazing hotel.from the moment we entered we hit the warmth of the log fires.our room was better than expected.the evening gave us the crem de la crem with a wonderfull menu with service to match .we only booked for two nights our mistake as our next visit will be longer .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    129
    47
    30
    18
See reviews for
112
343
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you ever fancy winding down for a couple of days then here it is.
The Bay Tree Hotel is just off the main high Street of a typical Cotswold village of Burford.
A beautiful village in stunning surroundings. The hotel is close on par to my favourite English Hotel to date - Rudding Park.
We stayed in Tandridge Room on 4/3/2013 - 6/3/2013 the service was fantastic from the girls on reception through to the waitresses and bar staff. It just oozed of professionalism.
Thank you to all for making our stay an enjoyable one. Great service with a beaming smile.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed with my family at The Bay Tree Hotel for a family wedding.The quaint and Olde Worlde ground floor cottage we stayed in, was impressive with a four poster, apart from the camp beds for the children,and the draught from under the door in the part of the room that they were supposed to sleep in.Consequently we did a bit of rearranging and put the heater on all night to keep the chill out. Wedding reception three course meal was very good, and the evening buffet was welcome serving hot and cold finger food.Was very impressed by the professional and friendly staff.Must add,the breakfast seemed expensive however the quality and choice were superb.A wonderful weekend stay at a beautiful hotel with excellent cuisine.I would love to return in the Summer.

Room Tip: Ours was a ground floor cottage near to reception door,however I expect upstairs would have been per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyholidayer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehouse,Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were well acquainted with The Bay Tree Hotel as my eldest son was married there in 2008, we were very impressed with the wonderful service we received there then so as it was my sons birthday and we had not been back to the Bay Tree since the wedding my Daughter-in- law thought that it would be nice for us all to have Sunday lunch there.
When we arrived the Hotel staff were very welcoming and it was so nice to see the log fires burning which made it even more cosy and welcoming, the restaurant was very nicely laid out and we were shown to our table straight away the menu was very good with an excellent choice and besides roast beef on the menu there was also The Roast of the Day which for me was a bonus as it is not everyone who likes roast beef also it was nice to see that they catered well for children, the food was of excellent quality and quite delicious and extremely good value.
As the hotel catered well for children I did feel that there was lack of changing facilities for small children and babies and elderly people need to be aware that there are a number of small steps in the hotel to negotiate but saying that the Bay Tree is a very old and very attractive building set in a very pretty town we shall definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Well what can we say other than a huge thank you to all the staff at the Bay tree for making our wedding reception such a special event, not just for my husband and I but for all of our guests too. We booked the hotel for exclusive use, we were at capacity yet the day progressed with such ease and proficiency. Many of our guests who are getting married this year are now saying they wished they had found this venue before booking their own. We can not give the place more than a 5 star rating, if we could we would. The quality of the food was superb, with many guests commenting on how it was the best wedding food they have had, with the quality not wavering from the top table to the last served. We were accommodated and helped from the first day we went for a drink and to look around and even this morning some 4 days later, where following a quick phone call some items left have been bagged and offered to be sent to us. Truly the service was superb, the setting is beautiful and we have the very best of memories to take with us. Thank you to you all

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_mrs_sewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Bay Tree was the perfect venue for our Winter Wedding. We choose this particular venue for it's intimate feel, whilst still being able to cater for the large number of guests we had. This venue boasts an intimate bar area, which was perfect for our pre dinner drinks. The roaring log fires in nearly every public room were also a huge bonus for the setting we wanted for our Big Day! The staff are extremley helpful and nothing was too much trouble, the food was a really good standard and the service on the day was exceptional. We stayed in the Bridal Suite which was lovely and it was the prefect room for me and my bridesmaids to get ready the morning of the wedding. All the rooms are beautifully decorated and all have there individual touches. Our family & friends filled the hotel and they couldn't fault the rooms, food or service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorpe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Old Justice room,which was lovely,full of character,and very comfortable.
The staff here are very good at their jobs.
The duty manager couldn't have been more accommodating, and on hearing that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary,brought us champagne!
The food here is excellent. We will very definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiepoo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Tree Hotel

Property: The Bay Tree Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#3 Family Hotel in Burford
#5 Business Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bay Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled away on a quaint side street in Burford is the Bay Tree Hotel, part of the Cotswold Inns and Hotels collection. The hotel has 21 stylish bedrooms and endless character with flagstoned floors, roaring log fires and a secret walled garden. This dog-friendly property is perfectly located for exploring Burford and its surrounding Cotswold villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bay Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree Burford
Hotel Bay Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing