We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really lovely hotel in beautiful cotswolds”
Review of The Bay Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bay Tree Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the bay tree hotel last night and had a wonderful time. The hotel itself is full of character and very welcoming. As soon as you walk in the door you can smell the log fires, is lovely.. We had a large room, huge bed, very clean, spacious and comfortable. We stayed for dinner, the service and food were very good. Not a huge menu but quality food. The only criticism, my niece is vegetarian and the options for her were very limited. What appeared to be a vegetarian starter contained gelatin etc. Breakfast was excellent. A wonderful choice of cooked breakfasts, smoked salmon and scrambled egg, full english, kippers. I would recommend this hotel as a base to explore the lovely cotswolds area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaqphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 657 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Thank you for a lovely stay at the Bay Tree Hotel.Fantastically old and interesting building.Very happy with our room,comfortable beds, very clean and lovely full size luxury toiletries.
Fab evening meal beautifully presented and served.Staff were very helpful and friendly we would stay there again.Burford is lovely with very beautiful buildings and small individual shops.

The only down side was that the ceiling needed painting in our bathroom and even though the damp marks had been cleaned off a quick coat of paint would not go amiss.

Room Tip: Some people have commented about a noisey kitchen air vent...we did hear it and did not bother us an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great hotel, very atmospheric. We had a Bed breakfast and evening meal deal with half a bottle of champagne on arrival. Really nice big room very clean. Bathroom was great, really powerful shower.

However there was an annoying constant hum from a fridge downstairs which was switched off overnight at about 10.30. We only stayed one night so it wasn't too much of a problem but if we were staying longer it would be.

We had dinner in the main restaurant. Food was really very good. Everything was perfect. Lots of nice touches with extra small dishes. Staff were very professional service excellent.

So a great hotel perfect for a weekend away but avoid the room in the annex with the loud hum!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in annex with hum from fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shane058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel is very picturesque and is full of character. The rooms I saw were very good with large comfortable beds. There is a cosy bar with log fires and a nice atmosphere.

We ate in the restaurant in the hotel each night and the food was excellent, with lots of little extra touches like canapés served to you in the bar while you peruse the menu, amuse bouche etc. etc.

We stayed here for 4 nights with our 9 month old son and the staff were very accommodating and made us feel very welcome. We had the misfortune of our car breaking down on our last night and we were allowed to check out at 12:30pm even though they had a conference arriving that day, in order to allow us some extra time to get our car fixed. They allowed us to do this very willingly, which was much appreciated!

They also put us in a room as close to the restaurant as possible to allow us to check up on him during the evening - these small touches make a really big difference.

Room Tip: Superior Garden Room - handy if you have a baby, lots of room for a cot and close to restaraunt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony1882_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Went to a wedding at this hotel and stayed overnight. The rooms were superb and the bed was the best we have slept on in an hotel. The staff were good and the wedding well organised by the hotel. The parking is very adequate and the gardens nicely looked after.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtyOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband for one night and had a deal that included cream tea, pimms and dinner.
The garden view room we had was lovely, we had been upgraded to a slightly bigger room which was a nice surprise. The bed was MASSIVE!
Cream tea was great, warm delicious scones and a large jug of Pimms. The included dinner was fantastic. 3 course plus canapé small soup starter and sorbet. We felt very fancy indeed! All we paid for during our visit was our wine with dinner and the rose we had during the meal was very nice and I had a glass of red also which was very pleasant.
Breakfast the next morning was one of the best I have had at a hotel, the sausages in particular my husband loved.
All in all a great experience, we will certainly be recommending this place to a friend.
Tiny downside - the room was very chilly and we had to turn the radiators up although maybe if we hadnt they may have been turned up during the "turning down" service. (lamps put on and radio on as soft background noise including the usual bed turn down, we loved it!!)
Do visit here if you can!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Attended a wedding here it wonderful, the setting outside was charming, food was delicious,polite and helpful staff and comfortable bedrooms ..would come back to stay again.. A lovely location especially for Christmas.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
737 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
572 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Tree Hotel

Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#3 Family Hotel in Burford
#5 Business Hotel in Burford
Price Range: $157 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bay Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled away on a quaint side street in Burford is the Bay Tree Hotel, part of the Cotswold Inns and Hotels collection. The hotel has 21 stylish bedrooms and endless character with flagstoned floors, roaring log fires and a secret walled garden. This dog-friendly property is perfectly located for exploring Burford and its surrounding Cotswold villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bay Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree Burford
Hotel Bay Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing