We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for a conference”
Review of The Bay Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bay Tree Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great venue for a conference”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We held a two day Conference/meeting at The Bay Tree and could not fault it. I am really surprised to hear criticism of the reception staff on other reviews. They were so very helpful I am absolutely amazed that anyone can complain about them.
We had 15 employees staying overnight.
Great Conference facilities, we were situated just off the dining room, so close to all facilities.there were also small rooms available for small splinter groups as required.
Mid morning and afternoon refreshments were good, home made biscuits, scones and good quality coffee and tea,
Breakfast was good. They ran out of porridge when several of our delegates asked for it (probably more in one day han you would expect) and they sent some-one to the local shop to buy more! Virtually no delay in service - we all got our porridge within 10 minutes! Lunch was good, a hot buffet, with lots of choice.
They coped wonderfully with a large group for dinner, again great service and very good food.
The rooms were lovely, Molten Brown toiletries and nice soft towels. Very comfortable beds, the best nights sleep in ages.
We have used other hotels in the Cotswold Inns Group but have found this the best for our needs. We will be holding our 2013 Conference here too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    131
    48
    30
    18
See reviews for
114
348
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Totnes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We had wanted to return to The Lamb (a sister hotel, just along the street) but it was full. We had peeped intoThe Bay Tree before so booked there. Our stay was virtually faultless and we would definitely return. There is ample parking behind the hotel (you just need to know it's there). Unlike one of the other reviewers, we were impressed by the reception staff: we found them friendly and very helpful. Our twin-bedded room, up a tiny flight of stairs, was a good size and very quiet. Our only minor quibbles were the somewhat inadequate shower pressure and the poor lighting in the bedroom (despite the number of lamps). But the beds were supremely comfortable; heavy, dark curtains for good sleep; spotlessly clean bathroom (lovely Molton Brown!) and good furnishings. We ate in the hotel both nights and thought it was excellent on each occasion. (I think the ambiance of the restaurant is slightly less formal than at The Lamb.) Breakfasts were also excellent with a wide choice of items, especially fruit and cooked items. I recommend the porridge with cream and brown sugar! This is an absolutely lovely hotel and deserved to win its 'Small hotel of the year' award in 2011.

Room Tip: The rooms are spread about the hotel, not necessarily all in the one building. If this matters to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roscommon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Have stayed in Burford for the last 20 years, but has never stayed at the Baytree Hotel. Parking and the location of the hotel was relatively easy. It is very attracive from the outside and has a warm Cotswoldy feel when you enter. The staff on reception at quite brusk and did not come across as 4 star staff complimenting the rating of the hotel. One morning, I passed reception and said good morning to one of the staff and she replied 'morning' and didn't even bother to look up! What came across is that the staff on reception are not as polished and professional as they could be for such an environment.
The bedroom was as expected and the bed was very comfortable.
The breakfast was vast in choice and well set out and the staff were extremely professional and helpful.
The evening atmosphere was a little lacking when we were there, so we tended to go elsewhere each evening.
All in all and ok stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I wanted to give a review on the dining experience at The Bay Tree, Burford even though I didn't actually stay at the hotel (I stayed at their "sister" hotel, The Lamb Inn more or less next door).
The dining room was very well set out with excellent service from the staff and music piped through, which is always a nice touch. There is a piano but the pianist wasn't in residence that evening. The food was absolutely wonderful. I'm a vegetarian and the menu more than catered for my needs. The portion sizes were just right and the standard of cuisine was superb. I couldn't fault the food, service, surroundings etc., Can't wait to dine there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmm_122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high wycombe
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2012

stayed 1n december 2010 for a wedding returned reluctantly last week for another wedding . Remains poor, greasy and bad food dirty chairs and unhelpful staaf

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boyd547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was a fabulous choice by close friends.We stayed and had a super room and the staff were very polite and efficient! The wedding took place in the hotel summer house it was brilliant and felt so intimate an occasion thanks to the staff and the attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Quick review to say we stayed with two friends on one of the weekend offers and were so impressed. Hotel is not swish or fancy just full of character and quirks. Often on offers they don't live up to expectations but this place did. Apart from anything its looks much nicer than photos, the food was really good breakfast exceptional and Molton Brown products everywhere you looked. Fab.
We and our friends are buying vouchers for family as a result of stay. Keep doing the offers please!!

Room Tip: We stayed in standard rooms and they were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CloudBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
515 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
288 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Tree Hotel

Property: The Bay Tree Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#3 Family Hotel in Burford
#5 Business Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bay Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled away on a quaint side street in Burford is the Bay Tree Hotel, part of the Cotswold Inns and Hotels collection. The hotel has 21 stylish bedrooms and endless character with flagstoned floors, roaring log fires and a secret walled garden. This dog-friendly property is perfectly located for exploring Burford and its surrounding Cotswold villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bay Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree Burford
Hotel Bay Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing