We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hillborough House

Hillborough House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillborough House
Ranked #9 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Spotlessly clean, superb comfy bed, great breakfast and a welcoming place. Will definitely go back. Very homely and the three cats made sure I did not miss my own. Lovely!
Thank you for a brilliant stay in the Cotswolds

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at Hillborough House, we found it to be an excellent base for exploring the Costwolds. The family room we stayed in was very spacious, and we were happy with all the facilities. The owner and her daughter were very friendly, and were more than happy to advise us on places to see and things to do. Breakfast was excellent and extremely plentiful, and we would definitely stay again if we were in the area

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDav15566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This family run B&B is beautiful, clean and wonderfully decorated. We hade a very comfortable stay during our two nights here (the bed was amazing) and Anna and her aunt and uncle were very welcoming and full of useful information which helped us get about.

Breakfast was delicious, not to mention huge. We felt really well looked after, and locals were very friendly to us. Some of the other reviews say that the village is slightly off the beaten track - which is true - but we found it easy to get about from there. We were driving mostly, but we also ventured into Burford by bus one day too which only took about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaidey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wootton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

lovely welcome,....... couldn't have been more accommodating,...... close to all the main Cotswold towns,...... ideal base for a short trip..........very comfortable beds, and a great breakfast - what more do you need.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gib104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Good things:

- Friendly reception and service throughout from the owner's daughter.

- Light, airy, spacious room (there are 3 rooms, we stayed in the Jade Room).

- Comfortable bed, crisp, fresh linen, quiet, great sleep quality.

- Tea, coffee, biscuits and kettle in the room.

- Lots of clean towels. Room made up daily.

- Lovely breakfast, ranging from cereal, fruit and yoghurt to a full English or veggie equivalent. All ingredients high quality local produce.

- Free parking available on-site

- Location is great if, as we were, you are visiting friends in Milton Under Wychwood. If you are not, and you are simply visiting the Cotswolds, then there is nothing really in Milton under Wychwood itself but provided that you have a car, then that is no problem as Burford is less than 10 minutes drive away.

Less good things:

- Only one gripe really, and that is that none of the 3 rooms have a proper shower, which I guess if ok if you like baths, but not so good if like me you prefer to shower.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC2008London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We chose this B&B for a Bank Holiday trip to the Cotswolds and had absolutely no regrets. Our host, Jane, welcomed us on arrival shortly after 4pm on the Saturday and throughout gave us helpful tips for dining and directions.

Our room, a double on the first floor with en-suite bathroom was spacious and comfortable with views across the Green to the front. Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room and Jane was on hand to offer us fresh milk in case we wanted a drink on arrival. Parking is no problem and located on site. A final word is saved for the breakfast which was substantial and cooked to order along with toast and croissants and a selection of cereals and yoghurt should you desire. With all the walking, we were glad to have eaten as well as we did.

The location, Milton-under-Wychwood is a little off the beaten track but, only 4 miles north of beautiful Burford, it's well located for getting to all the local attractions and beautiful Cotswold scenery. Though there are many wonderful little towns and villages to visit the area is really quite compact. We visited Bourton-on-the-Water, Stow-on-the-Wold, Moreton-in-Marsh, Broadway, Burford, Blenheim Palace (Woodstock) and the beautiful Hidcote Gardens during the course of our visit.

We will definitely return to the area and highly recommend this B&B to all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed overnight for a 40th party nearby. The room was clean well maintained and very comfortable. Breakfast was superb - well cooked and not greasy. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burford hotels
2.5 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#3 of 8 in Burford
522 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
520 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
2.3 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
372 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burford
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillborough House

Property: Hillborough House
Address: The House on the Hill Shipton Road | Shipton Road, Burford OX18 4BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillborough House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillborough House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing