We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Day Out...”

Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Closer to Wildlife! Stroll around the Park discovering over 260 different animal species in 160 acres of beautiful parkland and stunning gardens. Get eye-to-eye with Giraffe, walk with Lemurs in our Madagascar exhibit and watch Zebras and Rhinos graze in front of the Gothic listed Manor House, with only a ha-ha in between you. Take a ride on Bella the Train around the Park or let the kids explore the adventure playground. Have lunch in our restaurant or picnic on our spacious lawns. Pet the goats in the Farmyard or watch the Penguins being fed (daily at 11am & 3pm). If your're brave take a peek in our Reptile house with Crocodiles, venomous snakes and lizards or watch the bats flying around in the Bat house or see the creepy crawlies in the Insect House. Stroll around our Walled Garden with Meerkats, Otters, Prairie Dogs, Penguins and Tropical House with free-roaming Sloths, bats and birds. Along with beautiful exotic plants, cactus beds (in the warmer months) and spectacular bedding, all of which make a beautiful backdrop to the animals.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Family Day Out...”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a lovely park with lots of animals, plenty of space and very clean. They have a nice outdoor play area, reasonably priced gift shop and the staff are very friendly and able to answer any questions about the animals or park. Our only mistake on our first visit was eating in the café there. The food Is poor, really overpriced and in general unclean. We learnt from this and took a picnic on our second visit, there are plenty of picnic benches and areas all around the park so it is a much better option.

Worth a visit, something for children of all ages...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank samantha63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,775
    626
    84
    17
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for all the family”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We have been to the wildlife park many times over the years as we are local; having young children it was a great visit in April, and they enjoyed the giraffes and monkeys in particular. The train is also a big hit with our 3 year old! It could be a whole day to see everything so is better value for money than some attractions. It is nicely maintained with pretty gardens too. The only thing to note is the food is pretty pricy so I'd recommend taking a picnic as there is lots of space to enjoy it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hannah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor little donkey :(”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I've been going to Cotswold Wildlife Park since I was a child and it has hardly changed. The giftshop is reasonably priced and the staff on the tills were friendly. The staff around the park didn't smile or make eye contact, never mind conversation! My 1 year old loved the children's farm area and all of the animals were very tame. The camels, zebras and rhinos were also fantastic to see! The lions enclosure has always been the same (I'm talking 20 odd years!) and it seems so small that they sit around all day. We really enjoyed the walled garden with the penguins and meercats but were a little disappointed that we couldn't take the pushchair into the Madagascar experience.

The donkey is the animal that has stuck in my mind since our visit, he was alone in a paddock away from the other animals and visitors and was calling out, cantering up and down and round and round. Understandably he could have been hungry but it was sad to see him looking so miserable.

We didn't eat or go on the train (after the £14.50 admission, I wanted to keep the cost down) but the cafe looked very clean.

Overall, it seemed much more exciting as a child, but it was still an enjoyable day out with lots of fun to be had!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
154 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“An enjoyable day out”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

A very enjoyable day spent in lovely surroundings, very well laid out. Even on a busy day there is didn't get crowded. Loved the baby rhino, so sweet.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lyndacanning1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I've recently been twice and both times I found it to be a lovely experience, there is lots to do for all ages and all types of animals for all types of people, there is great food and it isn't at an over the top price, I personally fell it was very reasonable.
The price you pay to get in and for everything that you get in the park is such good value, its not expensive at all and you get alot more than what you pay for. Its truly uplifting, great exercise (huge place). it is a great place to be and a definite must for a family/ couple day out it is a definite must and I will be going again. We loved it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens also viewed

Stourton, Shipston on Stour
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Guiting Power, Cheltenham
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 

Been to Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing