We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day Out”

Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Closer to Wildlife! Stroll around the Park discovering over 260 different animal species in 160 acres of beautiful parkland and stunning gardens. Get eye-to-eye with Giraffe, walk with Lemurs in our Madagascar exhibit and watch Zebras and Rhinos graze in front of the Gothic listed Manor House, with only a ha-ha in between you. Take a ride on Bella the Train around the Park or let the kids explore the adventure playground. Have lunch in our restaurant or picnic on our spacious lawns. Pet the goats in the Farmyard or watch the Penguins being fed (daily at 11am & 3pm). If your're brave take a peek in our Reptile house with Crocodiles, venomous snakes and lizards or watch the bats flying around in the Bat house or see the creepy crawlies in the Insect House. Stroll around our Walled Garden with Meerkats, Otters, Prairie Dogs, Penguins and Tropical House with free-roaming Sloths, bats and birds. Along with beautiful exotic plants, cactus beds (in the warmer months) and spectacular bedding, all of which make a beautiful backdrop to the animals.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I've recently been twice and both times I found it to be a lovely experience, there is lots to do for all ages and all types of animals for all types of people, there is great food and it isn't at an over the top price, I personally fell it was very reasonable.
The price you pay to get in and for everything that you get in the park is such good value, its not expensive at all and you get alot more than what you pay for. Its truly uplifting, great exercise (huge place). it is a great place to be and a definite must for a family/ couple day out it is a definite must and I will be going again. We loved it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,829
    638
    86
    18
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandgate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Visited Easter Saturday this year 2014 ... I was initially concerned at the number of cars going in and thought it was going to be very crowded... How wrong was I .... The park is so spacious, clean, well maintained and well laid out I felt totally un hurried and relaxed. It is obvious the Park staff care very much for the animals ... I had a really fantastic day for less than £15 what a bargain

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-Jane-1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datchet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The Red Pandas are still the coolest inhabitants!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

A really good days walk around all exhibits and the animals look semi happy so that makes a trip to a wildlife park that much more pleasant!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PETER1348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic value and dog-friendly day out”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I visited with my mum and dog on a bank holiday Monday. It was quite busy but we arrived at around 10:30 so the queues to get in weren’t so bad. We noticed a little later on that the queues were much bigger, so the earlier you arrive the better.

The park is very big but there are maps everywhere to help you navigate your way around. There is loads to see and it is quite easy to miss things if you are not thorough. We think we saw pretty much everything although there were some areas we couldn’t go because they didn’t allow dogs, which was fair enough. My favourites were the meerkats and the otters.

We didn’t see the various talks the keepers were doing although they had a falconry display on at 1:30 so we went to watch this. The guy flew a barn owl, a common kestrel and a falcon (which he almost didn’t get back!). The show was okay but I have seen much better at Warwick Castle.

We brought our own lunch, and boy were we glad we did. By 12.30pm the queue for the café was humongous. There seemed to be plenty of picnic tables and grassy areas to sit and have a picnic, although we ate at the car to save the trip to and from with the picnic bag.

Although we were only here for 3 hours we could have easily have spent longer here had we attended all of the talks and for £14.50 each I felt that this is good value and cheaper than a number of other similar places, just please don’t go increasing your prices year on year like so many attractions do.

It’s great that they allow dogs in the park and there were quite a number of people who had brought dogs including us, but I didn’t see any ‘watering holes’ to allow dogs a drink of water. This would have been a nice touch.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deb_G6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldWildlife, Guest Relations Manager at Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Park. We do have a number of 'watering holes' for dogs. There is a tap and bowl by the restaurant, one by the Walled Garden and one by the reptile courtyard. Please ask a member of staff next time if you can't locate them. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great day out for the whole family”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Cotswold Wildlife Park is a great day out for the whole family, it has something for everyone, and the flower gardens were wonderful. The large animals seem to be very contented in there large enclosures. Parking was easy and very well organised; there are plenty of areas for picnicking as well as lots of park benches for just taking a rest and absorbing the whole soundings. Great value for money, especially if you book on-line.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens also viewed

Stourton, Shipston on Stour
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Guiting Power, Cheltenham
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 

Been to Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing