We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money but a little small” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Priory Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Priory Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value for money but a little small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here overnight whilst in the villiage for a wedding. Room compact but had evrything we needed. Weren't really there other than to change and sleep and was great value for money. Breakfast was served in restaurant itself and was nice, although choice limited

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    45
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
56
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed in this small but very comfortable B&B for one night 28 Sept during a brief visit to the Cotswolds. Found it on an Internet search for places to stay in the Cotswolds and took a punt to stay there, mainly because the price was right. Sure the room was small, (takes little to heat) but the bed was very comfortable, the shower accessible and hot and the Priory staff welcoming, polite and helpful. Cooked breakfast was easy and adequate, but note they do not serve early and cereals are not really available. Would be great sitting in the rear garden during warm weather. (Pity Trip Advisor I don't seem to be able to add a photo.). Best to grab a carpark opposite. WiFi would have been helpful. The Cotswold Arms just across the road provided very nice and reasonably priced 'pub grub' - it's claims about its steaks were
accurate on this occasion. Burford, like most of the Cotswolds villages, beautiful and historic. Would have liked more time to explore.
Dick P

Room Tip: Best to get a room here that is accessible directly off the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

we stayed here on the 14th and 15th of september,found i parking space just outside on the high street.we really enjoyed our stay,we went to a wedding on the sat afternoon,and most of my mates at the wedding had paid alot more for there b and b s..burford was a lovley place to stay with loads of pubs and gift shops.i recomend the green goblin cider in the costwold pub just across the road from the priory its great,anyway back to the priory the staff where very welcoming and the brekie was lovely thanks to all the staff for a great hassle free stay will be back soon i hope regards lisa and lee edwards

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boorbear0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I arrived in Burford at a busy time and had nowhere to stay. Luckily, the information office pointed me in the direction of the Priory next door. The Priory is a restaurant with rooms lining the back courtyard. It was a little quirky and different from what I'm used to, but I remember it with affection. The rooms are not luxurious but perfectly adequate and are reasonably priced, especially for Burford. After one night I switched to a larger ensuite room for the next three nights.There was something fun about staying here - maybe due to the restaurant activity and the friendly staff. One of the waitresses loaned me her hair dryer for the duration of my stay! The only downfall was that there was no internet service. This might not be an issue for travellers with set itineraries but my plans at this stage were being made as I went along. Computers are available at the library but times are very limited. I enjoyed my stay in beautiful Burford and the Priory B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as we were attending a wedding nearby. Justin and his staff were so helpful. The room was small but adequate. There was a courtyard garden which was busy with restaurant customers during the day but wonderfully peaceful for breakfast in the sun. The restaurant closed about 6 so we had the garden to ourselves in the evening.
Thank you Justin and staff,
Mo and David

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Really good value, clean friendly conveniant place.

Room Tip: Indian restuarant great food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
136 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We arrived early and managed to park in the free car park a few minutes around the back of the High Street. The sign states free parking for up to 12 hours but we took a chance and left it there overnight nearly 24 hours. There is free parking after 6pm in front of The Priory if you can be bothered to move the car.

We were checked in quick and shown to our room which was at the back of the premises. Our room was in a chalet type building. The lady turned the heater on and the room warmed up real quick. Comfortable clean room no complaints. There was no external or internal noise. The floors are cool but there are enough rugs around. Toilet and shower ok. Strange when you open the door, which is stable style and can be opened in two sections, to be in a pub style courtyard with benches and parasols. It was raining heavy when we stopped over night so not sure if there would be noise if the sun were out and the pub style courtyard was full?

Nice breakfast in the cafe, bacon mushrooms beans eggs tomatoes hash brown local sausage and a good pot of English tea.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimQueenofQuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Restaurant

Property: The Priory Restaurant
Address: 35 High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Priory Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 5 Bedrooms situated in the garden. The Garden can be used by the residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Priory Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Priory Restaurant Hotel Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing