We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxed and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Priory Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as we were attending a wedding nearby. Justin and his staff were so helpful. The room was small but adequate. There was a courtyard garden which was busy with restaurant customers during the day but wonderfully peaceful for breakfast in the sun. The restaurant closed about 6 so we had the garden to ourselves in the evening.
Thank you Justin and staff,
Mo and David

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 137 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

Really good value, clean friendly conveniant place.

Room Tip: Indian restuarant great food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We arrived early and managed to park in the free car park a few minutes around the back of the High Street. The sign states free parking for up to 12 hours but we took a chance and left it there overnight nearly 24 hours. There is free parking after 6pm in front of The Priory if you can be bothered to move the car.

We were checked in quick and shown to our room which was at the back of the premises. Our room was in a chalet type building. The lady turned the heater on and the room warmed up real quick. Comfortable clean room no complaints. There was no external or internal noise. The floors are cool but there are enough rugs around. Toilet and shower ok. Strange when you open the door, which is stable style and can be opened in two sections, to be in a pub style courtyard with benches and parasols. It was raining heavy when we stopped over night so not sure if there would be noise if the sun were out and the pub style courtyard was full?

Nice breakfast in the cafe, bacon mushrooms beans eggs tomatoes hash brown local sausage and a good pot of English tea.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimQueenofQuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The Priory serves an excellent breakfast. Service isn't always the quickest but the breakfast is well cooked so worth the wait. Service is excellent.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank LACBStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

my wife and i had breakfast here my wife had the scrambled eggs which were eggcellant , my special was very average toast was served on my plate when removed my breakfast looked very small, one small egg, one pitifully small sausage 2 small rashers of bacon and a teaspoon of chopped mushrooms and half a grilled tomato !!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biburybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The shared bathroom & shower were the biggest drawbacks of this place, but location very good, free parking overnight and breakfast at the restaurant was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jobeth2714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here to go to a wedding elsewhere in the village. The room was fine, but felt a bit cramped, and the tiled floor wasn't very inviting. The shower room was very small - you got your feet wet when using the basin! Also the windows and door opened directly onto the back patio of the restaurant, which meant privacy suffered, and it must have been odd for those dining there to be just outside our bathroom window! We made the mistake of leaving the windows closed one night, which led to a lot of condensation in the room.

On the plus side, breakfast was good and generous, and the location was ideal for us, being right in the middle of Burford. We also found there was plenty of parking just outside, though it seemed to fill up during the day on Saturday.

I think if you're after something basic, the Priory would be absolutely fine, but we were left wishing we'd spent a little more on somewhere a bit nicer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richvdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.4 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
751 reviews
3 mi away
Inn for All Seasons
Inn for All Seasons
#5 of 15 in Burford
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Restaurant

Address: 35 High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range: $72 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Priory Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 5 Bedrooms situated in the garden. The Garden can be used by the residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Priory Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Priory Restaurant Hotel Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing