We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
marco island
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Picture perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this charming old pub and inn. Rooms were clean and efficient , staff friendly and dinner and breakfast were superb! Without our GPS we would not have found you!!
Great atmosphere for our quick trip to the beautiful area!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isbister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    50
    27
    14
    1
See reviews for
41
121
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Swan Inn is a delightful pub, full of character. We stayed in the Piggery End, a spacious very comfortable large room and ensuite. Dinner was excellent, breakfast a little less perfect. The pub is owned by e Dowager Duchess of Devonshire - the last surviving Mitford sister, Deborah, and is filled with their photos and history.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice place. Good pub, more than good food, tidy decor and pretty location. There is a but though. Quite a big but too. The communication and management is just poor. Booked online, no confirmation received, called and couldn't find booking, rebooked, then got called about duplicate booking. Not great. Arrived and room had no toiletries at all. Called, spoke to bar, staff turn up to clean the bathroom?? We had dinner - good steak - and we're given some complimentary drinks which was a nice touch for the room being incomplete. But, everyone of the four members of staff who served our table told us the drinks were complimentary. It just showed the service wasn't joined up. Staff weren't talking to each other and it made the experience really disjointed and laughable. When I checked out the bill wasn't clear and items were missed off. It couldn't be rectified and I had to return later to pay it fully.

This could be a really great place, but it needs more leadership and management because standards aren't consistent and the team aren't working together. The food is good though!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Savemybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went for dinner after reading some of the reviews. The building and setting are beautiful. The food was good (if a bit pricey), of a high quality and very fresh. Service also very good.

Only thing letting it down was the lack of atmosphere, we ate at seven thirty and it was quiet, but the place didn't feel very special/unique. Having said that I would say give it a go, even just to take in the beautiful setting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonkeentraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We fell upon this wonderful country Inn whilst taking the meandering back-roads from Witney to Burford on a hot summers day in July 2013, and looking for lunch to placate our grumbling bellies!. The inn is situated on a narrow country road next to an old watermill on the lovely river Windrush which meanders past only yards away, and the mill-race actually flows right under the floor of the adjacent mill house.
The Swan has historical associations with Lord Redesdale and his beautiful daughters the famous (and infamous) Mitford Sisters of the 1930s, who lived nearby. Debo, the dowager Duchess of Devonshire of Chatsworth, is the last surviving Mitford sister!!
The inn is tastefully decorated in true country style, and our lunch, chosen from a wide choice menu, was delicious and presented with excellent, friendly service and a cool locally brewed lager beer (Cotswold Gold).....excellent!
Further after-lunch drinks were taken on the riverside garden area across the road from the inn and just near to the ancient stone bridge, and it was wonderful to spend a lazy hour relaxing and listening to the burbling Windrush flowing by on such a warm, sunny afternoon!.....bliss!

Room Tip: We have not yet experienced the all too obvious delights of staying here....but we will!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RangeRover29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

A family get-together at a place that we have eaten many times before, but our experience today was not so good. Simple errors right from the start: my brother listed on the reservation as 'Mrs'; overcooked plaice; odd-tasting potatoes; patchy service; lemon in the water that we has specifically asked for without lemon. This happened twice! Second time the waitress (eventually) brought my water with lemon in one hand and tongs in the other, ready to remove it! Of course I sent it back, but no ice which had been requested. Twice we had to look for someone to ask for bread to go with soup. Desserts (just 1 panna cotta and 1 cheese) took a long time to arrive and the panna cotta was more like a thick custard, though the flavour was OK. £35/head for 3 courses though we shared desserts and only had Pimms (no mint!) and cider on arrival - no wine! On the plus side, fishcakes, crab and cheese were very good. Maybe the chef was having a day off but the waiting staff were clearly stretched with too many people to serve. I won't be returning any time soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessaPeake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Only ate here for dinner and made a point of coming here as we had lunch here about 3 years ago and loved it. We were shocked at how pricey it was - and we live much nearer to London in a town known for expensive prices. I do not mind paying if the food matches the quality but it was too variable. The starter was good and flavourful but the steaks were expensive for the small amount that was delivered and not well served. Drinks were very expensive too. Service was friendly mostly but haphazard and we had to try and get attention. I do not think the pub style of dining and service matches the high prices that are charged and the expectations that these high prices set up about food quality. I think if the food and drinks had been cheaper we would have not had such high expectations of quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.5 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn

Property: The Swan Inn
Address: Swinbrook, Burford OX18 4DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing