We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect English country cottage”
Review of Star Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star Cottage
Ranked #5 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a wonderful weekend in Burford and stayed two nights in the barn conversion at Star Cottage. Peter and Sally were most welcoming and the cottage was beautiful. Both mornings Peter brought our breakfast up to the barn and we enjoyed fresh fruit, home made jams and cooked breakfasts. The interior of the barn was stunning and we were extremely disappointed to check out. We hope to go back again for another weekend soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFowler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 131 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

A wonderful Bed and Breakfast. Charming cottage with a stunning interior and faultlessly clean. The room (Number 1) was stylishly decorated, with wonderfully comfy bed and sizeable bathroom. There has been no compromise on quality here and it shows. Amongst the lovely touches that make this place special were the excellent coffee on arrival, the superb breakfast choice (and quality - glorious bacon and sausages!) and elegant decorations throughout the cottage. The location is ideal too, 5-10mins from Burford and there is ample parking outside too. Close to perfection and, for the price, excellent value.

It was an absolute pleasure to stay and we will certainly be recommending without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuFlinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed for two nights when we were at a wedding and loved the whole experience. Were welcomed by the owners and offered tea and lovely biscuits. The room was very comfortable and
peaceful. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice. Very convenient for Burford which is within easy walking distance. Will certainly return and recommend highly to all our friends. Spent an extremely peaceful hour in the garden reading my book with Digby and the cat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 nights. We were greeted with a cup of tea and cake on arrival which was a lovely touch. We had a lovely stay. The room was very nice, the breakfasts magnificent (would definitely recommend trying the trout), the atmosphere very relaxed and friendly. Our plan had been to walk a lot during our stay and not drive at all. We weren't disappointed as Star Cottage is very well positioned for walks of varying lengths. Burford is less than 15 mins away on foot with many pubs and restaurants. We visited many and enjoyed them all. There is also the Carpenters Arms much closer if you don’t fancy a walk. It has a lovely menu and delightful atmosphere. The B&B ticked every box for us and we would strongly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John554455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night on 23rd February. The room was lovely, really nicely decorated with a large bathroom. Breakfast was delicious with a good selection of options. The b&b is located just under 10 minutes walk from Burford and there is a lovely pub just around the corner. Thoroughly recommend this cottage for a relaxing break.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Definitely in the new mould of B&B and gone are the days when it's just a room in someone's house. This place is lovely. The rooms all quite individual with bags of character and nice touches. The owners extremley welcoming as well as Digby the dog!

Breakfast was lovely, nice fresh fruit and yoghurt followed by a big choice of cooked breakfast.

Can't recomment this place enough! Perfect Cotswold retreat. Will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night, to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. What a great choice! The accommodation itself is beautiful - homely, cosy, welcoming, and also immaculately clean. We arrived much earlier than the official check-in time, but everything was ready for us and we were warmly welcomed by Sally and the lovely dog. I loved the decor - beautiful soft furnishings, all made by Sally's own fair hands - very impressive! The room (no 1) was large, and bathroom huge! All the facilities were there, including homemade biscuits to accompany the (fair trade) tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Dinner was great at the local pub, the Carpenter's Arms, just a few minutes walk up the road. Breakfast was amazing - so much food! Fruit salad, Greek yoghurt, cereals, fruit juice, full English (with great-tasting local produce), plus toast (various types of bread) and croissants. We didn't really need any more food all day! And for those who don't like the full English, they had smoked haddock and trout on offer, amongst other things. You wouldn't get a better - or even equal - breakfast at most hotels.
We really had a lovely time - fantastic accommodation, friendly hosts, great food, lovely pets. Go - stay there!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burford hotels
2.1 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
399 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
750 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
567 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#1 of 15 in Burford
265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burford Lodge
Burford Lodge
#12 of 15 in Burford
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Cottage

Address: Star Cottage Meadow Lane | Fulbrook, Burford OX18 4BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range: $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Star Cottage Hotel Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing