We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't do better..”
Review of Star Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star Cottage
Ranked #6 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This B&B really lives up to the reviews - beautiful, spotless, excellent food and charming hosts. We stayed in the barn which is great value for money when traveling as a family and gives you more privacy than most B&Bs - its equipped with all mod cons including lovely biscuits and tea, coffee and milk - so lovely in a self - catering environment. The owners are so friendly and accommodating, you feel genuinely welcome. What a delight !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thulefule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 133 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a 1 night, midweek get away from the (lovely!) kids. What a beautiful B&B and such wonderful, friendly hosts. The large room was decorated impeccably. Everywhere was spotless, the soft furnishings sumptuous and bathroom huge! Breakfast was a delight, fresh and filling. Wish we'd stayed longer. Next time we will.....

Room Tip: We stayed in the large room but had the pick of either. Both rooms lovely. One large with extra sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This B&B rates high not only because it is comfortable but also tastefully designed. As a mature couple we appreciated the thoughtful attention to detail in the re-furbished Barn on the back of the property where privacy was ours. This story and a half building features contemporary, high quality kitchen appliances, underfloor heating on stone tiles and down duvets. As an historic property, its renewed character was explained by our gracious hosts, Peter and Sally. Their morning breakfast choices appear on a menu set out each evening for our requests: salmon, haddock or thyme in your eggs? Warmed croissants appeared at our simple request. Star Cottage's location is on a quiet lane within walking distance of the Carpenter's Arms, a pub with a good restaurant for evening meals. Finally, Star Cottage's handy location set up our day trips within easy reach of Oxford and Stratford.

Room Tip: "The Barn" is unique on this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and our three children (7,8,9) stayed for two nights at you cottage.
Peter and Sallly set up int the Barn, wich was in the garden. An old barn conversed into a smaal apartment which gave us plenty time to relax and enjoy the vieuw.Easy for us as a family to be able to enjoy some degree of independance and still enjoy the Bed & Breakfast idea! It gave also the possiblity of using the kitchen at night which we did on the first night.
Breakfast was just as we all imagined it to be and we were being spoiled as Sally brought it up to the Barn!
Children enjoyed the english breakfast. High standart and good quality of food.
Decor and styling are done with high precision but still with a cosy feel. Children loved playing in the Barn.
Local village Buford is a lovely cotswold cillage with friendly pubs.
We took a lovely walk (took us 5 hours in the end, but still lovely) from Star Cottage through the fields.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathalie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My Husband and I stayed for four nights whilst looking to relocate to the Cotswolds area. Peter,Sally and Digby their lovely Spaniel were perfect hosts. Star Cottage is beautifully and thoughtfully decorated. Breakfast (lots of choices!) was always perfect and served in a lovely tranquil setting. The local pub is a a nice friendly "village" pub serving excellent food. As it was December Burford looked extra stunning with its Christmas decorations. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights at Star Cottage in early November. We stayed in the Barn which was in the garden and perfect for us as it gave us plenty of room to relax and also the option of using the kitchen which we did one night. I felt terribly spoilt having the delicious hot breakfast bought to our table in the Barn - it was a treat and I could stay in my pyjamas! Sally and Peter were friendly and helpful hosts and the furnishings are cosy and unique and the cleanliness was of the highest standard. Star cottage is located in a lovely village, we did a very pleasant walk from the cottage, through fields, along the river and into Burford which has a huge selection of eateries. We had lunch at the Angel in Burford - absolutely delicious. You won't regret your stay at Star Cottage.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAusterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The B&B is an easy reach from London if you'd like a little weekend getaway. Peter and Sally are very friendly and welcoming to their lovely cottage, with homely decor and cozy rooms. Breakfast menu is varied and more interesting than the norm, with quality food locally sourced.
Local pub lively and friendly, other good pubs local for food within walking distance. Local village Burford is absolutely beautiful. Nice country walks right from the doorstep, with their spaniel Digby if you are up for it! Peter also very kindly collected us from the station and dropped us back at the end of our stay - amazing!
I would recommend this place to anyone, and have already!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellybelle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burford hotels
2.1 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
408 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
769 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#1 of 15 in Burford
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Inn for All Seasons
Inn for All Seasons
#5 of 15 in Burford
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotland House
Cotland House
#8 of 15 in Burford
98 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Highway Inn
The Highway Inn
#2 of 15 in Burford
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Cottage

Address: Star Cottage Meadow Lane | Fulbrook, Burford OX18 4BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range: $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bed & breakfast with two rooms in the main house and a converted barn in the garden. The barn can be used for self catering. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Star Cottage Hotel Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing