We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Reviewed March 10, 2014

As soon as we walked through the door for our short weekend break in the Cotswolds we received a warm and friendly welcome at the characterful Gateway. The room was clean , well appointed and of a very good size. Despite the A40 traffic passing close by , traffic noise was minimal and no problem due to the efficient double glazing and thick walls . Food was very good and service was friendly and efficient . The hotel had a really good atmosphere . One of few remaining family run hotels of this size it really showed in the no fuss, friendly service provided by management and staff at all levels. Criticism? Maybe the wifi could be a little better outside public area but we were aware of this when booking and wouldn't complain. Would definitely recommend and hope to return . Well done management and staff and long may you keep your independence !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 587 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband arranged a week away at this hotel as part of my 50th birthday present.
I was not disappointed, this hotel is a real Gem.
The staff are amazing, they are polite and courteous and the level of service is far superior to many of the 5* hotels we have stayed in.
Dinner on both nights was to an extremely high standard, excellent and varied menu and reasonably priced.
Breakfast is buffet style and again has an excellence choice and all cooked to perfection.
Our room was on the second floor and was very spacious and beautifully decorated.
The cleanliness of this hotel was second to none. not a speck of dust anywhere.
A very relaxing break, in excellent surroundings. The perfect getaway.
We will definitely be returning to this hotel.
Any one looking for a short weekend break this hotel is a must.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Situated at the top end of Burford this hotel has lots of character. The staff are helpful and friendly. Food was good, we had both an evening meal and buffet style breakfast (with plenty of choice).
We were upgraded to room 14 on the second (top) floor which was spacious, quiet and with a four poster bed - perfect.

Room Tip: Room 14 has a four poster bed and is spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda-2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had to be in nearby Carterton for Dads 82nd and horribly late due to traffic... Checked in to the hotel and requested a Taxi... Told 15 minutes to come to hotel.. Oh dear.. then guy working there (and it was busy), checked with 'boss' said I'll drive you to Carterton (4 miles or so away).. so made party in time for meal.. exceptional service and didn't charge - I did offer and beer later order of day.... Didn't get a chance to eat at hotel later in evening as late on after party but all staff were wonderful, friendly and attentive, plus room was warm and cosy... Will be returning to the Gateway again for sure.........

Room Tip: Stairs are safe and wide, but slightly steep and so use a first floor room if climbing a slight issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigBadBobbieBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have stayed at this excellent hotel many times now and they never fail to please. The management are so very helpful and friendly and can't do enough to help and make your stay the best. The cleanliness of the rooms is excellent, very up to date and modern, lovely crisp bedding. Dinner and breakfast excellent. My only tiny comment is that the bar area is a little dark when eating I like to see the food I am eating but otherwise first class. We will return!

Room Tip: Speak to Management always the best advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallystar_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stumbled upon this charming hotel by chance, not having booked anything. They went out of their way to welcome and accommodate us. Spacious beautifully furnished rooms en suite, lovely bathrooms and the best food in the Cotswolds. My son and I intended to spend each of our nights in different places but so loved The Cotswold Gateway that we used this as our base to explore the Cotswolds and returned here for our evening gourmet meals. Free wifi through out that works.
Friendly, well managed, well run, Highly Recommended and we stayed here during November and it was busy.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and all charming so you won't be disappointed what ever room you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

, service was excellent. The food was fine, (could have been slightly warmer). Lovely surroundings.. . First class place, first class service. I will recommend this place to my friends and family. I will be going again.

Room Tip: I would expect the rooms to be as good as the place itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Gateway Hotel

Address: Cheltenham Road, Burford OX18 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Price Range: $88 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Gateway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cotswold Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing