We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why are all these negative reviews. Staff are great and the food is lovely.”
Review of Pappas Restaurent - CLOSED

Pappas Restaurent
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Why are all these negative reviews. Staff are great and the food is lovely.”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have been going to pappas for the last 10 years . I recently decided to give the new management a go, if I had listened to all the recent reviews I would of not been blesses with a fantastic and warm night for my mothers birthday party. We were given entertainment with a great belly dancer who even got my mother up to dance and join in with the zorba dance.
The food was on mark, great attention to details by the manager who gifted a surprise cake and also a drink on the house for the birthday girl!
Yes they may not be the same as the old pappas but they have their unique way of which most importantly the food was warm and on time and good portions. I have already booked my daughters 18th birthday . Most certainly go and experience on weekends . Thanks

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    4
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Possibly the worst restaurant in Nottingham”
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Visited last week with 4 friends. When I confirmed the booking I commented on their reviews saying I was looking forward to the food as the reports were good and could they make sure the service was not as slow as the reviews imply.
The restaurant was about half full. The food was only average and one course had to be sent back to be microwaved as it was cold. That's the best bit. Service was terrible, so slow, and didn't improve when we complained. In the end we asked for the bill before all the food had arrived. Needless to say we won't be returning. Unfortunatly Trip adviser doesn't have a zero rating so it will have to be one.

Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Traditional? You Must Be Joking ... Don't Bother Eating Here”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

So very pleased that we didn't pay full price here. Its even put us off future Groupon vouchers for "traditional" restaurants. The deal was meat mezze with a glass of ouzo & we got hummous out of a packet, cucumber raita masquerading as tsadziki and a couple of spicey but indeterminate samosas. The feta salad was ok, but then its hard to mess that up. Then came a would-be beef stifado that tasted of nothing whatsoever, a chicken & watery rice kebab thing and another plate of chicken lumps in what was supposed to be fenugreek (!) That also tasted of nothing at all and was possibly the closest thing to Greek about the whole experience. Herbs of some description would have been most welcome for sure, especially if they were those actually used in greek cuisine (like flat-leaf parsley, or coriander leaf). There was a woman in a floaty outfit who wiggled a bit to some bhangra type music in the background and we had to ask for the ouzo to finish off. Guess what, no ouzo. Had Metaxa instead out of a bottle that was probably left over from the days when this WAS a Greek restaurant. Appalling!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not Greek at all...”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

went with a groupon voucher £38 for a Mezze and Ouzo for two

first they bought out the usual dips with warm pitta, a fetta salad, fried halloumi and mini samosas! The houmous was awful and no olives!


we then got a plate of fried battered calamari..strange as we had asked for the meat Mezze. we couldn't eat it.


lastly we got a very small portion of rice with kebab which was nice and two other dishes. Beef stifado which tasted mainly of coconut..strange as not an ingredient of Greek food and another which was a mild chicken curry.


lastly no Ouzo and a very disappointing trip to this restaurant..

in comparison to other Greek restaurants this is just terrible and not authentic at all


I liked the decor tho

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank missnef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Be Warned Under New Management”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife booked a living social deal to Papas restaurant, previously we had enjoyed special family gatherings there, we even ordered a meze take away for 20 people for a party at home. good quality food cooked by a traditional Cypriot family.

So we were very surprised when we arrived, to find it had changed hands and was Under
New Management
Nothing on the Papas website mentions this,
The new owners want you to believe its still Greek Cypriot run by a traditional family providing the same dishes they have a good reputation for in west Bridgeford .

We asked for retsina and was told they had none cold, so we said we would wait for some to be chilled. One hour later a bottle arrived on our table in a bucket of ice.(I think it had just been brought in from sainsburys) .
When the meze starter arrived Greek salad pitta breads without dips and dried up halloumi, dried dolmades and a vegetable Samosa (Very hot & spicy & and not Greek cuisine) the service was so slow, we had to ask for our dips, otherwise our party of 7 would not have received any.
We were starting to feel that the Traditional Greek food and service we had enjoyed many times here before had ended.
When the mains arrived we were all disappointed. No meatballs, some chicken kebab with basic rice potatoes and Chicken Curry, and some kind of Beef stifado. Again service was poor no spoons for serving out the mains ( staff were always in the kitchen )
And drinks requested were made and never arrived until requested again.

As part of our deal with Living Social we were to wash down our evenings greek adventure with a glass of ouzo.
Only to be told they had had a busy week and had ran out. Nothing was offered as a replacement for the ouzo. The barman told us the delivery would be later in the week.

My wife is Greek, and vented her frustration at the new owner, a Pakistani man and told him what we all thought about the NEW papas experience.
All he could do was offer us a free drink on the house, and said he was planning to change the taverna to a more Mediterranean themed restaurant. He told us he was the new owner in March 2012.
We feel he tricks customers by making out its still a traditionally Greek cypriot Taverna when the cooking is defiantly not.
Curry samosas Asian chef?
ill leave to you to decide!
WE WILL NOT BE GOING BACK.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cpl219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappas Restaurent also viewed

Car Colston, Nottingham
Arnold, Nottingham
 
Gunthorpe, Nottingham
West Bridgford, Nottingham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing