We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage with delightful quirky features.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John R
Nefyn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage with delightful quirky features.”
Reviewed August 24, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Stayed for three nights with five year old granddaughter who loved the mousehole on the stairs (it wasn't real!) Cottage situated in pretty village convenient for exploring the area. We'll be back.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydia B
1 review
“Quirky retreat”
Reviewed November 8, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The house is finished to a really high standard and has lots of beautifully unique touches which transformed our short break into a real treat. Location is great too with wonderful farm shops and good pubs around for delicious food. Host was really helpful especially in providing cots etc for the children. Recommended without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2018
Thank you Lydia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenML...
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed our two week stay at Purple Poppy Cottage in Burton Joyce. The house was beautifully clean and had everything we needed. Angela and Sven are very nice and extremely helpful. The welcome package was very welcome containing all the necessary items plus a bottle of red and white wine. Cheers.

Should we need to stay in the Nottingham area again, we know where to go.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2018
Thank you Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison G
1 review
“Amazing cottage. Attention to detail was fabulous.”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed here for a weekend with the family, all adults. The cottage is decorated and equipped to a very high standard. Nothing seems to have been overlooked. Loved the mouse hole! Beds were comfy, loved the bath robes and toiletries that were provided. Everything was thought about and provided. It made for a lovely weekend. Thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2018
Thank you Allison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
man_down2...
man_down2010
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed March 27, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Everything about this booking exceeded expectations. Communication from booking through to departure was very good. The host went out of the way to make us feel at home and provided everything we needed.

The location was central with good amenities in the village also. The cottage itself is full of fabulous surprises. The pictures do not do the place justice. We forgot some cooking ingredients and Sven provided us with home grown produce from his allotment. We left something behind when leaving and Angela promptly posted it out to us at home.

Nottinghamshire best kept secret. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey A
County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Quirky Accommodation”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband, sister and and bother in law spent a lovely 3 nights in the cottage whilst visiting family in Nottingham. The cottage was amazing, even better than the pictures. We loved the quirky little touches like the mouse hole on the stairs and the illuminated bench tops and stair rail.
The beds were very comfortable and the outside space was much needed as it was 30c the weekend we were there.
The location for walking or going into the city centre was ideal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing