We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does exactly what it says on the tin!”
Review of Hylands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hylands
Ranked #8 of 26 Nottingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

A friendly run, helpful B&B. Clean and tidy, if a little weird with its decor!

Excellent breakfasts, just what we wanted for a quick stop over in Nottingham.

Good location with several nice restaurants near by, and not noisy at all.

Off street parking a bonus, if a little tight to get in.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TrevN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Hylands staff were friendly and made every effort to make my stay pleasant and comfortable.
The single bedroom was okay - nothing special; good enough for a night - but the communal areas were far more pleasant. Well decorated [shame that water penetration had damaged the ceiling and architrave in the sitting room] the Hotel has some interesting pieces of furniture and art - prints; paintings, sketches and photos - on the walls and worth inspecting and enjoying.

The communal areas suggested an effort had been made to make the hotel stand apart from other similar establishments.Sufficient to make me select it again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkPlodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This hotel's main selling point is the friendliness of its staff; I was greeted warmly at reception in the evening and at breakfast in the morning. The location also is convenient to Beeston rail station (one halt away from East Midlands Parkway or Nottingham for trains to the South and the East) and to the west side of the University of Nottingham, as well as to the local shops of Beeston. (If you're after Nottingham city centre, though, you'll have to take the bus, or the nearby tram line which will begin service later this year (2014)).

The decor is a bit tired and threadbare, as one finds in an old house, but perfectly functional and at least as clean as I keep my own house, given the dust-collecting nooks that are inevitable in any period property.

The rooms - at least those that I passed by - do not seem accessible to the mobility-impaired: doorways are too narrow for a wheelchair and in any case there is no lift. So if you have any mobility or accessibility issues, do ring ahead to ask before booking.

Sounds do come through the door to such an extent that conversations in the corridor sound as though they were inside the room, so if you plan on sleeping early then bring earplugs.

The shared bathroom is down a winding corridor but as the room itself contains a washbasin this distance isn't a problem. Although I myself shower early, I did notice that there could be some contention for the bathroom at peak hours in the morning.

I found the mattress perhaps a bit more roly-poly than ideal for me, but still had no trouble falling asleep.

The wireless Internet works straightforwardly; I encountered no issues at all with connectivity and transmission speed.

The breakfast room is large and comfortable, and a full English breakfast (or a Continental option for those who prefer) is served with a smile.

The car park would benefit from some covered racks for cycles, or actually any designated cycle park at all; in the absence of any such dedicated space the standard (as advised by night reception) is to lock cycles to the fire escape in back. When I arrived around 10.15pm the bottom of the fire escape already was covered in cycles, and after a few minutes of manouevring I managed to fasten my lock through my front wheel only, rather than round the frame. Especially as the cycles do narrow the space available for emergency egress via the fire escape, I encourage management to deploy some more appropriate solution for cycle parking.

All in all I had a comfortable stay with a warm welcome and all the amenities that I needed, at a good value appropriate to the age and quirks of the accommodation. I certainly would stay at Hylands again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

All the staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The hotel was spotless and the breakfast was great and plentiful. Our room was in a separate building which made it very quiet so we got a good night's sleep.

The only negatives I would say was that the en suite was very small and the radiator in the bathroom was stuck on red hot but we just opened the bathroom window!

I would say that this hotel is good value for the money and would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the separate building are further from the main road and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and had a very good experience. The bedroom had an ensuite that even included a jaqcusi bath as well as a shower which was a good size.
Rooms are rather dated but are clean and very comfortable
English breakfast was good although why tinned tomatoes rather than fresh ones is a bit of a mystery. The waitress was lovely, friendly and really made the breakfast experience quite enjoyable.
Would certainly stay again

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Last minute booking and I only stopped for 1 night. I stayed in the building next to the main building. Room was a little dated and could do with a bit of tlc but adequate. Comfy bed so had a good night sleep. Breakfast freshly cooked in the morning. All in all Ok for a stopover.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank awayalottoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

this hotel did its purpose as stopover. had room with shared bathroom and it was all spotlessly clean warm and had everything needed. staff were lovely and friendly and breakfast was very good. all in all excellent value for money. i would recommend and will use again. thanks john

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackie452016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
3.5 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 41 in Nottingham
1,215 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 41 in Nottingham
2,464 reviews
2.5 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#29 of 41 in Nottingham
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
3.2 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#20 of 41 in Nottingham
1,993 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hylands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hylands

Address: 307 Queens Road | Beeston, Nottingham NG9 1JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Nottingham
Price Range: $45 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hylands 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hylands offers clean, comfortable accommodation ideally situated for business or pleasure. On the outskirts of Nottingham, Hylands is close to Nottingham University, Queens Medical Centre, Highfields Hockey Club, the City of Nottingham Tennis Centre, Wollaton Deer Park and Attenborough Nature Reserve. An award-winning pub and several excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance.There are good rail and bus links into the city centre with the new tram system commencing in early 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hylands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hylands Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing