We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly & good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hylands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hylands Hotel
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly & good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Staff couldn't have been nicer, the room was great value for money. Not the most luxurious hotel in the world, but clean and tidy. Car park is a bit tight though! We would definatley stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KFurlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    75
    32
    11
    13
See reviews for
37
36
32
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, England
Level Contributor
140 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Having been working in Nottingham on and off for the past two weeks and have stayed here in a single room. Very comfortable and a fairly sizeable room ( though some I saw were tiny). Everywhere very clean but whole building needs a good paint. This does not put me off returning especially as the breakfasts are brilliany. You can ask for most combinations of food and they produce them freshly cooked on a hot plate. This is all done very efficiently and if you are in a hurry to eat and go, the norm is to get you everything very quickly.
Pricewise it is very reasonable. Plenty of places to eat locally and easy access to Nottingham.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or the side of the building as there is a busy main road at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenSolihull_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Ive been looking for B & Bs via Laterooms and got a good rate for this place. The room was clean enough, and check in was easy. Parking can be problematic with lots of vans in the car park. Large cockroach in the bathroom didnt help - but I have heard that they only like clean places! Breakfast was adequate and check out straightforward, but there are better value B & Bs to be found in the area. Check out the British Geological Survey website for more choices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have now stayed twice at this hotel and, although it is not the most luxurious hotel in the world, it is clean and very welcoming. Nice public areas ( including a small bar and bar snacks are offered). Wifi is quite good in the lounges though a bit patchy in other areas. Staff very friendly and helpful - parking spaces and bus stop just round the corner for easy access to Nottingham centre.

Room Tip: Never had any noise problems, if Wifi in your room is important you should enquire about this before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyhamster58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

On arrival at the hotel the staff were very helpful, we arrived early for check in but were shown to our room without having to wait. We could not find fault with any member of staff all were helpful and polite. The room was clean and comfortable, and we had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was plentyful and enjoyable,and when we go back to Nottingham we will be using this Hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed 3 nights, will be staying there again over the next couple of weeks.
Outside Nottingham but not too far. I travelled in by car every day taking about 15 minutes. Excellent real ale pub within 5 minutes walk also does good food! Car parking on site.

Room Tip: Friendly, clean, warm, good breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Group of us going to Nottingahm for the night out decided to stay here. Had read some poor reviews sauing is was "old" and "dirty". Our experience is yes the decor isn't brand new, however it was not at all dirty and we had 5 rooms. The hotel was full with a variety of people (they have 45 rooms).The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very good value. At an average cost of £35 a head you have to be realistic on what you expect. Wifi was available, the beds comfortable, it was clean, staff very good and the food very good. Overall this exceeded our expectations and we all considered it good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beeston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.5 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#35 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
5.2 mi away
National Water Sports Centre Hotel & Campsite
National Water Sports Centre Hot...
#1 of 1 in Holme Pierrepont
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#7 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
3.2 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#17 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#8 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hylands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hylands Hotel

Property: Hylands Hotel
Address: 307 Queens Road | Beeston, Nottingham NG9 1JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hylands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hylands offers clean, comfortable accommodation ideally situated for business or pleasure. On the outskirts of Nottingham, Hylands is close to Nottingham University, Queens Medical Centre, Highfields Hockey Club, the City of Nottingham Tennis Centre, Wollaton Deer Park and Attenborough Nature Reserve. An award-winning pub and several excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance.There are good rail and bus links into the city centre with the new tram system commencing in early 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hylands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hylands Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing