We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soiree Gastronomique”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Ranked #24 of 1,406 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bistrot Pierre's 'raison d'être' is great value French cooking and seasonal menus. We like to combine French bistrot classics such as steak-frites, boeuf bourguignon and tarte au citron with our own take on regional favourites like tarte flambée, Bouillabaisse and paté de campagne. Our relaxed and friendly bistrot is the place to go for any occasion. Our Nottingham bistrot was the first to open its doors in 1994 and is located on Milton Street, right in the heart of the city centre. Open seven days a week serving lunch and dinner we have something for everyone, from the two-course prix-fixe lunch for £10.95 and a two-course pre-theatre menu for £14.95 to the sumptuous a la carte menu, and for those with little time we now also offer a one-course lunch menu for just £9.50. Wander through our distinctive French wine list too, with over 20 French wines sold by the glass you will discover something exquisite to drink with your meal. For something a little special we also host a range of events at the bistrot. Join us on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month for our Soireé Gastronomique, a six-course set menu with hearty provincial cooking. This is outstanding value priced at £22.95 per person. In addition, we also offer a special Dine with Wine evening where each course comes with a glass of specially chosen wine. This takes place on the first and third Wednesday of every month, so join us for a delicious two or three course set dinner menu for £22.95/£27.95 per person. We want to make sure there is something for everyone on our menus, whatever your dietary requirements. That's why you'll find plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes as well as a child-friendly menu on offer to help make your experience in our restaurant as easy and enjoyable as possible. If you love what we do and are looking for the perfect present, give the gift of French dining and order our gift vouchers online.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Soiree Gastronomique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had been intending to go to one of these evenings for a long time. Finally got there with a large party of family and friends, who all expressed their feeling that it was excellent. Our party included vegetarians and children (and vegetarian children). There was a good selection of dishes, all delicious, and the service was excellent. It isn't something I could do regularly as it was definitely a case of overeating, but great for a special occasion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul w, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We are pleased you had a good time and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    950
    396
    126
    44
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good honest French food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate here on a Saturday night, the atmosphere was good, the menu is straight forward, the staff attentive! We had a bit of a shock when the sharing starter arrived there was mountains of it! But it turns out the waitress had brought us two, we thought it was quite funny, but the waiting team seemed genuinely apologetic and took one back quite swiftly! We had the bourguignon for main, with 2 sides, we couldn't finish it there was so much food!! And all of it was delicious! Especially the pepper roasted cauliflour! The waitress kindly offered to wrap the remaining beef so it wouldn't go to waste, very kind!
Finally we had the sharing dessert, which rounded it off nicely, I would have called it a small portion but I was already so full it was a nice note to finish the meal on!
The tables were quite tightly packed in, but not enough to spoil the visit (or our score)
If you can, get a table by the wall with the funky wallpaper!

Helpful?
1 Thank JonRunEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul w, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
My team and I are pleased you enjoyed your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham
2 reviews
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been using this restaurant regularly since it opened. We like the quality of the food, great service and value for money. The restaurant is lively with a good atmosphere in which to enjoy your meal. It is busy but that is what you expect of a good restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul w, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you ...we think so as well!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Soiree Gastonomique”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have visit several times and always been satisfied. We visited on the 8th October the food on the whole was good however the menu description are not as accurate as they should be. The Colloquies St Jacques consists of 2 nicely cooked scallops but NO sauce or mashed potato topping as is normal, the same goes for the so called Tarte Tatin this was just an apple tart without caramel sauce very average. Some what disappointing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rambling2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul w, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for the review,I will pass on your comments regarding the descriptions to the rest of the team.I hope it will not put you off returning .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

middle of the road eating experience. Pretty crowded, but good service; helpful staff with a reasonable wine list.
tendency to keep a quickish turnover.Good pre-theatre venue.Can't pre-book unless in a party or group. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terence b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul w, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback,just to let you know we do accept reservations in the evening ,just not at lunchtime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing