We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT AS PERFECT AS IT USUALLY IS -- AN ORDINARY VISIT”
Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Ranked #26 of 1,266 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bistrot Pierre’s ‘raison d’être’ is great value French cooking and seasonal menus. We like to combine French bistrot classics such as steak-frites, boeuf bourguignon and tarte au citron with our own take on regional favourites like tarte flambée, Bouillabaisse and paté de campagne. Our relaxed and friendly bistrot is the place to go for any occasion. Our Nottingham bistrot was the first to open its doors in 1994 and is located on Milton Street, right in the heart of the city centre. Open seven days a week serving lunch and dinner we have something for everyone, from the two-course prix-fixe lunch for £10.95 and a two-course pre-theatre menu for £14.95 to the sumptuous a la carte menu, and for those with little time we now also offer a one-course lunch menu for just £9.50. Wander through our distinctive French wine list too, with over 20 French wines sold by the glass you will discover something exquisite to drink with your meal. For something a little special we also host a range of events at the bistrot. Join us on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month for our Soireé Gastronomique, a six-course set menu with hearty provincial cooking. This is outstanding value priced at £22.95 per person. In addition, we also offer a special Dine with Wine evening where each course comes with a glass of specially chosen wine. This takes place on the first and third Wednesday of every month, so join us for a delicious two or three course set dinner menu for £22.95/£27.95 per person. We want to make sure there is something for everyone on our menus, whatever your dietary requirements. That’s why you’ll find plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes as well as a child-friendly menu on offer to help make your experience in our restaurant as easy and enjoyable as possible. If you love what we do and are looking for the perfect present, give the gift of French dining and order our gift vouchers online.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spend a fair amount of time in France and this is our favourite French restaurant in Nottingham. The food is always excellent and interesting.

This time we went with friends to the gourmet evening. It was excellent value at £22 for six courses and apart from running out of duck as a choice the food was of its usual high standard. However, one of our party wanted their beef 'well done' and was told by the young waiter that this couldn't be done. TBH his manner of superiority rather got up my nose and I suggested to him that what the customer wanted should be what the customer got; at this he did back down. He then explained about pork being cooked sous vide which would have been intimidating if I wasn't so familiar with French terms. He was keen which is good; but patronising which is not good.

I'm not sure if the restaurant have put more tables in recently; we certainly got the feeling that we were totally crammed together. We haven't noticed that before, obviously it is a very popular restaurant but the overcrowding was too much for us and we may hesitate to go again. I hope it was an unlucky visit because I would miss Bistrot Pierre if it was off my *favourites* list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leloroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant and I'm so sorry that you found your visit on this occasion only 'ordinary' and not the usual high standard you have come to expect from us. We are as interested in reading the critical ones as much as the good ones. I've asked our Manager Paul to contact you to discuss your visit in more detail. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,464 - 1,468 of 1,703 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Visited here today with my mum as a perfect location if you've been shopping in the Victoria Centre. Also visited about 3 weeks ago on a busy Saturday lunch time with my husband.

On both occassions i've almost expected the worst as the place is so busy, often with people waiting in line outside the doors, the lunch time meal offer is only £10.50 for 2 courses so again you sort of expect they will be skimping on portions etc. However on both occassions my expectations have been exceeded and i wouldnt worry in future. The staff seem to cope admirably with the constant demand for tables, its really non-stop but service at the table is extremely efficient. Our waitress Hannah today was brilliant !

The food is not only great value but also good portions, and on the 2 visits ive made the quality was excellent too. Sides of fries or potatoes/ veg / salad etc are included (unlike a lot of places now) also theres traditional french bread in a basket served while you are waiting (again something alot of places dont bother doing anymore).

Would definately recommend, probably not for an intimate romantic lunch as some of the tables are quite close together and its quite a busy atmosphere (at lunchtime) but certainly for an after shopping bite or catching up with friends.

** note ... i dont think you can book at lunchtime (might be just weekends) unless for a big party - hence why people line up

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andycat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Wow, what a lovely review to read. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visits to our Nottingham bistrot. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Lovely meal once again,staff all very attentive and good service even when very busy at night.Food was well cooked and beautyfully served. Lookforward to our next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank busylady261144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Recommended by a friend as being coeliac friendly, we went for an early evening meal (around 5.30pm) and were surprised to see people queueing outside. I had some concern that this would meant that the staff would not be able to cope with the number of customers coming through the door but they were excellent. They were quick, friendly and offered good advice re the gluten free menu. My husband had not had callamari since he was diagnosed coeliac and was really happy. My own food was also really good and we will definitely be going again when we are next in Nottingham.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Catfish_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for mentioning our gluten free menus. Hopefully we will see you again in Nottingham or at one of our other restaurants soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

From the minute i go through the doors with 20 other friends and family i was hugly dissapointed!!..... i had pre-ordered 4 days prior to us going, it was my aunties 50th Birthday.

The staff was extremly RUDE non of the staff smiled, 3 of the party didnt even receive there main courses, and 4 of the meals was undercooked or come out incorrectly........ i have been to biestro for the past 10 years this is why i recommended to family and friends but i was actually ashamed!!.

Then to top the night off, due to poor service and uncorrect orders we decided not to have deserts in which we all got charged for 3 courses instead 2.

A few days later i emailed biestro..... i got an extremely disspointing email in return and not even an appoligy....... i am still awaiting an reply and this was on the 20th March!! ........

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stevie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing