We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing food ”
Review of Ginza

Ginza
Ranked #160 of 1,455 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely love Ginza. The service is always great and the food is on another level. It’s so good that you get to watch them cook everything fresh in front of you and the chefs always do a cool egg trick!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 301maddyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 265 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2018 via mobile

Well where do I start...booked for 32 off us for my husband's 50th birthday and they didn't disappoint, if you haven't been here you really should because out of all the restaurant we could have chosen Ginza didn't let us down x amazing staff mouth watering food and even on our 4th visit we were still blown away by the magical chefs and the culinary magic but what keeps people coming back is the staff honeslty they are amazing nothing is to much trouble and 100% can't wait to get back x

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank salliewallbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

We went to Ginza off the back of great reviews from our friends. When we got there we were sat on a tiny round table next to the servers desk and told we would be moved when our food came. It was absolutely freezing and myself and my partner were both forced to wear our coats for the duration of the meal. We each ordered starters, which came about 15 mins apart from each other. At this point they laid our table which made it clear that we would stay sat right next to where the servers were congregating despite most other tables in the restaurant being free. Our mains came after about 45 mins, at which point I asked to be moved table. They were reluctant but begrudgingly agreed to move us.

We had both ordered chicken Katsu curry and when it arrived it was essentially just a huge bowl of rice with barely any sauce, so if you want to finish it be prepared to eat lots of dry plain rice. The chicken was a really poor quality and was brown and pink in places and completely inedible. The server tried to claim it was that colour because it was marinated, but this was laughable as the colouring was so inconsistent and genuinely tasted rotten. Eventually they agreed to wipe the curry off our bill but to be honest, I think we still overpaid. We went to the coop across the road straight after to buy ourselves some food to cook at home instead. Overall it was just a really unpleasant and disappointing experience, we’ll never go back. This place has clearly gone downhill.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

I have been coming to this restaurant with my family for years and never had a bad experience .

Last night was no different the staff were lovely and smiley all evening nothing was to much of a problem or a chore . The food was fab ! The chef created us all kindly with a big smile and great showmanship. He told us what we had all ordered and began . We had the ginza deluxe so scallops, chicken teriyaki cooking away for most of the meal but what an amazing flavour, fillet steak with dried garlic ( beyond tasty ), egg fried rice , bean sprouts , half a lobster ( always the favourite of mine ) . The chef juggled eggs ... caught in his hat something that has been done for years and is still so entertaining !

Can’t recommend this place enough . Yes it’s decor is the same and always has been but it’s the character of the place and something that brings memories back from years before !

Thank you for a great evening shall return again and again ! Xx

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Mickyroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Recommended by a friend and not disappointed at all. Loved the whole experience! Must come back and eat here again.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginza also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing