We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic meal with excellent service”

Royal Thai Restaurant
Ranked #218 of 1,406 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $43
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nottingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked this restaurant for our wedding anniversary, we'd not been before but saw the good reviews and we were't disappointed. The meal was absolutely lovely, we had the shared platter to start which was beautifully presented and so tasty. For mains we had a red thai curry and a stir fried dish with rices, everything was beautifully cooked and full of flavour. The service was great and the wine very reasonably priced for a restaurant. The waiter was very pleasant and we had a nice chat at the end of the meal. We had a 15% off voucher but chose not to use it as we were so impressed and the bill was very reasonable. Have already recommended it to our friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMANottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    23
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Thai Green Curry I have tasted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Royal Thai is a friendly family run restaurant, with a good atmosphere and good food. There is cosy downstairs dining and upstairs is big enough to accommodate larger parties. The lunch time set meal at £6.50 for two courses is the best value in town and has a good range of choices, though you can have one course for less. The food is delicious and well presented. It is less frenetic and has more soul than the other Thai restaurants locally. Definitely worth a short walk up Mansfield Road, and parking is on North Sherwood Street behind. Enjoy your meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Thai you'll ever have”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I discovered this place through a friend, I didn't think much of it at first but I couldn't believe how good the food was!

Its a family run restaurant and the quality and flavours are just incredible.

I've been going back again and again and the service and quality is always good.

Particularly like the sweet and sour chicken and the duck.

I am a VERY fussy eater but I find the food there absolutely unbelievable!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Always enjoy it here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Can't remember when we first came here; it's decades ago. Never had a bad meal, either just with my husband or with friends. Lovely, subtle flavours, service with a smile, lovely floater coffees, all for a reasonable price. It's one of the best eateries, amidst the many, along Mansfield Road.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nephthys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Small, friendly, delightful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We dropped in at The Royal Thai for a "mates' meal and natter" on a Monday evening. It was quite quiet in there with only one other table having diners while we were there (8:30 -9:45 approx).

The exterior doesn't look amazing, the interior is far nicer decor, and there was a generally good atmosphere considering it was a quiet Monday night.

The guy I assume to be the owner waited our table. He was friendly and polite and the service was excellent. We had quite a nice chat as we were settling up the bill.

The food was very good. Well cooked, well presented and the menu offers plenty of choice. If you or a member of your party is a veggie there is still a lot to chose from there too.

Three of us ate 2 courses each with tea and the bill was £34.

I would recommend this as a great place to meet with friends, for works meals, for birthdays and the like. I would be less inclined to dine there for business or as a romantic date.

I will definitely eat there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akku_Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Thai Restaurant also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Royal Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing