We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of Saltwater

Saltwater
Reserve with OpenTable
Saltwater is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #281 of 1,268 Restaurants in Nottingham
Price range: $0 - $69
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Rocket at Saltwater Bar and Restaurant is a unique eating and drinking environment in a truly stunning space over looking the roof tops of Nottingham. Rocket Restaurants and Bars, renowned in London for its quirky, individual style as demonstrated in its’ top quality fusion food and interior design, has launched an exciting new venture at the original Saltwater Bar and Terrace in the Cornerhouse, Foreman Street. Rocket at Saltwater blends the fabulous Rocket food and drinks range, the individual interior design style, with the existing and much loved late night bar element of Saltwater. This new concept will offer outstanding food at great value prices, a top quality bar featuring cocktail, wide range of wines by the glass and bottle, alongside carefully selected beers and spirits. The Terrace has been totally refurbished and restored to its former glory, destined to be one of the hottest al fresco dinning and drinking venues in Nottingham this summer.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

we went as a family, wonderful food, fab restaurant, excellent service. the down side is, that it is a bit pricey, but perfect for that special treat.

Thank carol g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRidgway, Guest Relations Manager at Saltwater, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback from our customers and are pleased you enjoyed your visit, we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 167 of 232 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The lads making the roast here on a Sunday know what there doing! Best I've had at any restaurant up and down the country! Exactly how a roast should be! :-D nice to know there a place to go on a Sunday when you cannot be botherd to cool at home!

Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRidgway, Guest Relations Manager at Saltwater, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased you enjoy your visits and look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I've eaten here. 1st time was pretty poor but I thought I'd give them second chance.
Mistake.

The starter of deep friend baby squid got sent back as utterly inedible. It tasted of old fat fried to a crisp.
Main course was better with a decent streak but pork belly was so salty that it got unpleasant towards the end.
But the veg! !! About £4 for a ring individual serving of 4 potatoes and 4 (yes 4) Green beans. Rip off.

Total bill £88 for 2 and that's with wine and starter taken off the bill.
Value for money. Very poor!

Nice staff but got the feeling they were embarrassed serving pour food from an incredibly slow kitchen.

Will not be returning. With so much competition locally they really need to do better! !

1  Thank Greg1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRidgway, Guest Relations Manager at Saltwater, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Many thanks for your honest and frank review and we're sorry to read about your dining experience with us. Rocket Restaurants prides itself on great food and great customer service and it seems that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, I would be be grateful if you could please forward your contact details to saltwater@rocketrestaurants.co.uk to enable our General Manager to contact you to discuss your visit. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We visited Saltwater for a special occasion after hearing much praise from others. We had a drink in the bar area beforehand and the ambiance was great. The bar has a very polished look, great little rooftop terrance, lovely booths and decor.

Even the restaurant area is slightly smaller but again very chic. We were happy with our table and the setting seemed like a great start to a special night. Our waiter was very good, very knowledgeable about the menu and gave us a great wine recommendation. The service was the perfect balance between being attentive without being intrusive. That's unfortunately where the good points ended.

The food was pretty shocking. We ordered the prawns & squid to start. The squid was nice, a good helping on a bed of salad. The prawn dish consisted of around 8 small batter coated prawns with a seafood sauce. These again we found tasty, until my friend cut a few up to reveal there was nothing but zucchini inside not prawn as we thought! We felt a bit deceived but thought maybe we had misread the menu and the prawn element was in the seafood sauce. On looking up the menu again online, it seems we were correct the first time. There were 2-3 'prawns' we ate without cutting up so there are a possibility the few if any could have been in these bite fulls, but if so the portion size of the key element of the dish was stingy at best if any.

Next the mains, we ordered steak and chicken milanese based on the waiter's recommendations. The steak we asked for blue as possible but came out rare. Although the meat was tender the plate again was garnished pretty miserable with just steak, 3-4 small potatoes and a little greenery, My friend is quite particular about his steak and if we had been told in advance it couldn't be served blue we probably would not have chosen that dish. I ordered the Chicken Milanese which although presented nicely, was essentially a chicken kiev and spaghetti. This would have been fine if the taste surpassed the content but the pasta sauce tasted like something out of a bargain bin ready meal. The filling part was tasty but the chicken dry and not tender as I was expecting.

We were both very hungry and agreed we would try to eat it anyway. We both work in the restaurant industry and it is very very rare we ever complain about food having experienced complaints from the other side of the coin. We continued eating, and although unhappy felt we'd eaten too much to send the dishes back at that point and for our complaint to be taken seriously. In the end we just asked for the bill and left the remaining food on our plates.

The bill was around £100 including our drinks at the bar. This is pretty extortionate for me personally for the quality of food we received and the experience we had. The bill automatically included a 10% service charge which I found unusual for a table of 2, still we liked the service so paid this also.

Overall however, the meal itself was a massive letdown. In hindsight I wish we'd complained on the day and asked for the mains to be taken off or replaced, this would probably have helped my experience exponentially. Sadly instead a very expensive mistake.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vitryolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRidgway, Guest Relations Manager at Saltwater, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Many thanks for your honest and frank review and we're sorry to read about your dining experience with us. Rocket Restaurants prides itself on great food and great customer service and it seems that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, I would be be grateful if you could please forward your contact details to saltwater@rocketrestaurants.co.uk to enable our General Manager to contact you to discuss your visit. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Love coming here for jazzy cocktails. Brambles are probably still my favourite but the Aviation No 1 is a close second!

Staff will mix up whatever you like if you can't find what you fancy. On to a winner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marie-Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRidgway, Guest Relations Manager at Saltwater, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we love hearing from all our customers and are so pleased you continue to enjoy your visits, we look forward to seeing you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltwater also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Saltwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing