We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent evening - easily the best Indian restaurant in Nottingham.”
Review of MemSaab

MemSaab
Reserve with OpenTable
MemSaab is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 1,414 Restaurants in Nottingham
Price range: $17 - $58
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Winners of the Nottingham Post Best Indian Restaurant 2013 Overall City and County Award, Best Restaurant Runner-up in the Observer Food Monthly Awards 2011, 2012 and 2013 and recommended in the Michelin and Hardens Guides 2014, MemSaab continues to raise the standard of Indian fine dining whilst remaining accessible, affordable and most importantly enjoyable. Comfortably and stylishly designed, seating up to 200 with two private rooms. With it's Award winning chefs, extensive menu and impeccable service, MemSaab is the perfect host for A La Carte, private and corporate dining. The interior design combining traditional Indian craftsmanship and modern Indian art captures the essence of India whilst placing MemSaab firmly in the 21st century! "Exceptional Food and Service puts MemSaab amongst the top five curries in the Country" - The Observer Great Food Guide "Hailed as a 'Hot Indian' - the Sunday Telegraph
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent evening - easily the best Indian restaurant in Nottingham.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Friendly, classy, tasty. It's not the cheapest restaurant but it is definitely worth it. The food is superb and the service is always a great balance of efficiency and friendliness.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    163
    67
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food, classy interior, professional service”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great restaurant in Nottingham.

Service is quick, friendly and professional.

Food and ambiance are excellent. Great cocktails and wine list. Food is exotic and delicious. Would highly recommend it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mliccar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the best Indian restaurants I have visited”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Have eaten at Memsaab on many occasions, often taking with us friends and colleagues from around the world. Everyone has always been impressed.tonigth we ordered takeaway and due to a misunderstanding arrived home with something other than I thought I had ordered. Their response to this was above and beyond the call if duty.

Would recommend this restaurant to anyone

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequentholidayer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots of ambiance, but average food on the whole”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I visited Memsaab with my partner for News years. We really wanted to splurge on this occasion and we are fond of Indian, so we chose Memsaab because of its good reviews and cost-effective menu. We had the New years special menu for 3 courses(£20 per head) We had the mixed kebab grill for our starters and for the mains we had the Prawn Goan curry and the Chicken tikka masala. The desserts was a fixed selection of tiny(too tiny in fact!) desserts.

We were very impressed with the mixed kebab platter, especially the salmon kebab. It was wonderfully cooked and succulent, melting in the mouth and spiced with a rich selection of spices. Unfortunately, the mains did not live up to the standards of the starters, but nor was it bad. The Prawn Goan curry was too spicy, despite the fact that I asked the waiter to only make it mild. While the texture of the curry was very rich, it seemed to be a bit sweet, but this was the first time I had Goan curry, so perhaps it is suppose to be like this. My partner's Chicken tikka masala curry was better, but my partner complained that the chicken was slightly hard and undercooked. I personally found it to be alright, but it was nothing extraordinary. The desserts made us laugh, when we saw on the menu that it says they will serve a selection of 3 desserts, we were thinking "Wow, that's a lot of dessert" but what was actually served was micro portions of desserts, one Gulab jamun(sweet dumplings) one Kheer(ride pudding) and one Bread and butter pudding. It would have been far better if they just served one whole desert!

The ambiance and service was royal. It was a busy night with barely any tables empty, but fortunately I had pre-booked a table. The lady that owns the restaurant personally greeted us and bid us farewell with a namaste, wearing a majestic sari and a ever so wide, but somewhat put on smile. The waiter that took our order was talkative and friendly, that we will even forgive him for not hearing the order for my partners red wine! The watering staff in general was very professional and asked us several times for drinks and topped up our water. The decor was rich and extravagant.

Our overall impression was that it was a good restaurant, but even at the cost-effective price of the New years menu, we felt we were paying more for the ambiance than the food. While the mixed kebab platter was definitely worth the price, the mains, which obviously takes more precedence, did not justify the price tag. Perhaps we will revisit for a regular Indian dining experience, but next time if we want to splurge on Indian for a special occasion, we will go somewhere where the food is as delicious as the decor.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Is just alright”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Service was awesome but if about the food and worth, I prefer tastee and 4550 mile cuisine. Will recommend to someone that wanted a posh indian cuisine. If not sorry...... the food not really impressive but the service is awesome. =)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plannervampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MemSaab also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to MemSaab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing