We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Curry”
Review of MemSaab

MemSaab
Reserve with OpenTable
MemSaab is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 1,423 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $58
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Winners of the Nottingham Post Best Indian Restaurant 2013 Overall City and County Award, Best Restaurant Runner-up in the Observer Food Monthly Awards 2011, 2012 and 2013 and recommended in the Michelin and Hardens Guides 2014, MemSaab continues to raise the standard of Indian fine dining whilst remaining accessible, affordable and most importantly enjoyable. Comfortably and stylishly designed, seating up to 200 with two private rooms. With it's Award winning chefs, extensive menu and impeccable service, MemSaab is the perfect host for A La Carte, private and corporate dining. The interior design combining traditional Indian craftsmanship and modern Indian art captures the essence of India whilst placing MemSaab firmly in the 21st century! "Exceptional Food and Service puts MemSaab amongst the top five curries in the Country" - The Observer Great Food Guide "Hailed as a 'Hot Indian' - the Sunday Telegraph
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Curry”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Been here a few times now. Great food, good service, lovely atmosphere. One of the best curries in Nottingham. Worth a go.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katharine1296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    169
    69
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Memsaab”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I ate here as part of a large group (14). The restaurant is quite stylish and upmarket. The waiter was very keen that rather than receiving 14 different orders, we selected a 'banquet' consisting of a mixed starter, followed by a variety of three different curries to share amongst us, for £18 per head. We were brought poppadoms to start which were accompanied by some unusual pickles. Unfortunately, there was only about a tablespoon of each pickle per tray and they went very quickly meaning I ate most of my poppadom plain. The starters were very nice and well presented on a rectangular plate. However, the main courses were a disappointment. Once again the portions were very small and the curries were good but not great. I didn't think I got very good value for my £18.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrFun239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average and Stuffy”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was greeted with 'I just got an e-mail that your reservation had been cancelled' - although it had just been changed from 6:00 to 6:30 - through Top Table. My only answer to the rude welcome was 'should I stay or go' to which I was told 'we can find something'. A bad start - it may have been part of a trend that I have been observing in top-tier Indian restaurants -- a less-than-warm welcome to certain customers who may know the cuisine well. Hint enough!

Food was average, although the Zaiqa Lamb dish was a lake of sauce with some meat floating about. Most likely, the chef has been changed with the management change last year.

Service was slow and we had to skip the last course after 1.5 hours.- as we had to go to a show.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited on Saturday evening- it wasn't actually our 1st choice and wasn't recommended when we asked another restaurant, but I'm so pleased we came here!! Being a massive Indian fan, cooking and eating, and having experienced many restaurants, this is possibly the best. Even better than veeraswamy! The food was outstanding and the service was amazing- very efficient, thoughtful and not 'in your face'. Well worth every penny and we will definitely visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheNottsWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Upmarket Indian, never disappoints”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We must have been here about 10+ times since we've lived in Nottingham. It's not cheap but the food, service and atmosphere are always excellent.

We always start with the poppadoms which come with delicious chutneys. The 'Sabzi Selection' is also a must for sharing. The main menu consists of the standard rogan josh/ tikka masala type dishes but there are also some more unusual options available.

They email some excellent deals to regular customers. We took advantage of the 30% off deal in January, and that is where my only criticism of this place stems from - despite it being clearly marked on the booking sheet that we booked with this deal, the discount wasn't applied and we had to send the bill back. I'm sure it was an honest mistake but it did make us feel embarrased.

There are many Indian restaurants in Nottingham but this remains a safe choice for a delicious meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank Louc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MemSaab also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to MemSaab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing