We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best French restaurant”
Review of Petit Paris

Petit Paris
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 10/14
8:00 PM
Ranked #64 of 1,536 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $38
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Situated in the heart of Nottingham City Centre, Petit Paris is the perfect daytime or evening venue for good food, good wine and good company. A friendly and informal atmosphere compliments the authentic French cuisine. It is also within close walking distance of the Theatre Royal, Royal Concert Centre, Corner House Cinema and Trinity Square Car Park.We look forward to seeing you very soon!Restaurant Caters for:-A La Carte Dining - Lunch & Evening, Business Lunches, Home Cooked Food, House Wines & Licensed BarTraditional Food:-There is a daily specials board which compliments the fantastic variety of French and Italian dishes available. Including Pasta, Fish and the French Classics - Brioche, Coq Au Vin, Filet Mignon, Fruits De Mer and Moules Marineres. Mouth watering hand crafted desserts such as Creme Brulee, Tart Tatin, Caramel & Pear Bararois are a must! To view our latest menu - click here
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

in Nottingham.

Another fantastic meal at this lovely restaurant. Despite a busy pre-theatre service, the food was excellent and service was very good, although one of the waiters was a little surly, although we all have our off days!

My duck and pomegranate starter was delicious as was my beef main course. The beef was extremely tender and tasty. The cheese board was light and perfect to end the meal. Coffee and wine were excellent as always.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank theDiceThrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,076)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a fabulous find. Had vouchers for our 30 th wedding Anniversary ... this place is wonderful .... food excellent ambience perfect ( beautiful music) staff just lovely. Will come shin for pre Theatre meal next time I come to a show.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank joanna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate at the restaurant on a Groupon. The food and drink were wonderful and the waitress was very helpful. We ordered a bottle of sauvignon blanc at £15.95. The wine on the bill was £21.00 and when we queried this we were told that we were shown the bottle and should have noticed it was a more expensive wine. We feel that we should have been advised that the wine had been substituted so that we could make a decision as to whether to buy the more expensive bottle. We trust the restaurant to serve us with what we ordered and would not think of checking the label. The waitress confirmed that we had ordered the £15.95 wine. We feel this is a dishonest way of increasing profits from the Groupon system. The person on the desk was very unhelpful and said it was our fault for not checking. We have been to the restaurant many times before and this has disappointed us. We have tried to discuss with the restaurant but have had no response

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anon89754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Never dined. Ended up getting a refund from groupon, due to them not answering the phone. Therefore, Zero stars

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Food
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I visited for lunch, using a 'Wowcher' booking. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the menu for a discounted lunch was the same as the normal fixed price lunch, as per their website.

A little surprised upon arrival to not be shown to our table by the male server, he just pointed to one in the corner and asked if it was ok, but that wasn't a huge issue.

However, a couple nearby were then served by an American lad and he was so polite, showing them to their seats, explaining the menu, informing them of the soup of the day etc - we had none of that. (They were also Wowcher or Groupon customers so it's not price related manners!)

Anyway, we ordered a bottle of Pinot Grigio (£19, so a decent price for a restaurant) and it came served by a lovely young lady with what appeared to be a French accent. She was polite and friendly. She also took our food order and explained various options.

The table wasn't overly clean - there was salt spillage which must have been from the previous customers, so it clearly wasn't wiped. Again, though that's just a minor point.

The food arrived promptly - I ordered the French tart and my partner the chicken and bacon salad. Both were delicious and well presented.
For main course we ordered the vegetarian tagliatelle and the chicken supreme.
The tagliatelle was absolutely amazing! So creamy and cheesy, and the portion was huge! It came with a small garlic baguette. I couldn't finish it all sadly, but it was fantastic!
The chicken came with petits pois and Lyonnaise potatoes. The chicken was a bit dry at the edges, but otherwise nice, and the potatoes and peas were great too.

As our voucher was for 3 courses we had to squeeze dessert in ;) A decent wait was allowed in between the 3 courses. Again, food was absolutely divine and beautifully presented. We had the mousse, and the salted caramel parfait.

If I had to make any more negative comments it would be that the male server with the dark curly hair wasn't overly friendly when we paid our bill, and then when we came to leave and hand a tip over, he was leaning on the reception desk yawning and looking very fed up! He did thank me for the tip, but I did feel reluctant to leave it considering his attitude.

A friendly word of advice - please get a feather duster on the top of the shelving in the main restaurant area, where all the individual wine bottles are displayed - the layer is very thick, and there are a few cobwebs around the windows as well. As a fellow business owner, any negative comments are mentioned by way of helping you improve :)

But overall a 9/10 and we will happily return!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petit Paris also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Petit Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing