We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Petit Paris

Petit Paris
Ranked #22 of 1,406 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $39
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Situated in the heart of Nottingham City Centre, Petit Paris is the perfect daytime or evening venue for good food, good wine and good company. A friendly and informal atmosphere compliments the authentic French cuisine. It is also within close walking distance of the Theatre Royal, Royal Concert Centre, Corner House Cinema and Trinity Square Car Park.We look forward to seeing you very soon!Restaurant Caters for:-A La Carte Dining - Lunch & Evening, Business Lunches, Home Cooked Food, House Wines & Licensed BarTraditional Food:-There is a daily specials board which compliments the fantastic variety of French and Italian dishes available. Including Pasta, Fish and the French Classics - Brioche, Coq Au Vin, Filet Mignon, Fruits De Mer and Moules Marineres. Mouth watering hand crafted desserts such as Creme Brulee, Tart Tatin, Caramel & Pear Bararois are a must! To view our latest menu - click here
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Lovely little find! My partner and I were looking for somewhere nice for a change. We stumbled upon this place and after seeing the menu outside and the prices we though we would give it a go!

Although it was busy, we were immediately seated and our orders were taken.

The food was tasty and good portions too! You can also chop and change the set menu if you don't fancy certain things, they have a substitute price list which is added to the overall bill.

There were an array of people there and the atmosphere was lovely! Sometimes in similar places with fine dining students can be sometimes treated differently to other customers, but we were made welcome!

Overall a great place, definately a new favourite!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HalTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    224
    64
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb, simple French food, relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Went there with a gorgeous girl on a date last night and I was very impressed with the food and the charming young waitress who served us. We had a seat by the window looking out on a rainy night which made us feel very cosy. The menu was well structured with a very reasonable two or three courses and an a la carte. Our waitress was polite, efficient and attentive. I had a salmon and prawn terrine which was superb! Followed the best pan fried Salmon I have tasted to date. Coffee to finish and away, very satisfied after paying an extremely reasonable bill. The only reason I didn't give five overall is that I have been Le Gavroche.:) sod it, have five anyway, it's all about context! And I am hopeful for a second date! ;)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blakusmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highcliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We've been eating at Petit Paris for many years and I can't recall either a bad meal or indifferent service.

The three course 'lunch/pre-theatre' menu is excellent value at £13.95 with a wide choice of standards and daily specials. Unusually, it is possible to upgrade to virtually any dish on the full menu for a very reasonable supplement.

Despite the name, Petit Paris is not very (Paris) French - it is more Franco-Italian (with shades of Provence). Reliable standards include mussels, minute steak frites, fish of the day, lasagne and tagliatelle. Starters often include really nice terrines. Sweets are like works-of-art..

It's very busy at lunchtime but it's a happy buzz and no matter how busy they are we always get the right dish, promptly and correctly cooked. It's best to book for both lunch and pre-theatre.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

For many years I booked Petit Paris for our Christmas staff party. It was always a great occasion. The staff were always attentive, the food excellent, even for Christmas Parties (sometimes venues get it all wrong for larger parties). I recently went here for a meal with my husband and two friends, and was delighted to find everything was still as good as ever. It was a busy evening, but the service was excellent, and the food delicious. Drinks reasonably priced for a restaurant. Also there was a "buzz" about the place which made for an enjoyable evening too. Definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roseananne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Reunion venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our school reunion has met here for at least 10 years. Food always value for money, excellent specials, very helpful and friendly staff

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petit Paris also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Petit Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing