We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely fresh fish and seafood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Fyne - Nottingham

Loch Fyne - Nottingham
Ranked #92 of 1,395 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $79
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“lovely fresh fish and seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great choice of food and some fabulous fish dishes. You can also buy the fresh fish (caught that day) from the restaurant. There is a set menu for £12.95 for three courses, which is excellent value as this food is very high quality, alongside a further a la carte menu and specials board.
Service is efficient and waiting staff friendly are very helpful.
Toilets are down long stairs and not accessible for disabled people.
Overall a great experience thanks to Louis our waiter in particular.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NottsVacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    237
    102
    72
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NOTTINGHAMSHIRE
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Tried to book on line for a theatre dinner, only 3 available times left.felt very disappointed.
Gave them a call, they said they had space, they only put minimum seatings on line, advice call them . The food was excellent , had to ask for water 3times. Staff very efficient , very friendly and helpful. Sadly the restaurant gets so busy, whilst sitting before,whilst and after eating they had to turn so many people away as full. They really do need larger place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KIMCO_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Just excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We want there because we wanted something different than steak or burgers. It was fantastic! The seafood selection and the starters were delicious! I had a lobster and my girlfriend had one of the special dishes with smoked salmon, mussels and something like mash potato but it was cooked to perfection!! Fantastic food great selection of wines, friendly and welcoming staff! A bit pricey but it doesn't really matter as the quality that you get justifies what you pay!

Helpful?
Thank PanaDataMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Lunch is a treat at Loch Fyne. I had salmon cooks to perfection with a nice crisp glass of white. One of my favourite Nottingham restaurants.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Some concerning observations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Firstly I have to start by saying this average rating has nothing to do with the quality of the food, I always find that to be excellent, whether dining from the bargain 3 course menu (£12.95 an absolute steal) or a la carte. The service is generally very good and attentive, though my last experience was less so. We arrived and were initially left standing by the door and ignored for a couple of minutes whilst a pink shirted man studiously looked at his list of bookings - not once looking up to acknowledge us. Eventually he did and we were seated, though not with a smile or any friendliness at all. We were seated by the door, an awful table as it is draughty when the door opens. We moved, but were then sat at a table peering into the kitchen. Not nice. We drew the conclusion that tables for 2 here are mostly bad, aside from a couple by the wall. We eventually settled on a table near the fish counter. We had been sat for a good 15 minutes before anyone came to take a drinks order (we were ignored for the rest of the evening by pink shirted man) though the young guy who did evetunally look after us was incredibly friendly, polite and helpful. Drinks and food came very quickly once we had ordered. Food quality was excellent as always and we had a lovely evening. I do have to point out one thing though that really horrified me - a large gentleman emerged from the kitchen to take some fish from the counter, as he did so, he coughed into his hand, then picked up the fish with the same hand and returned to the kitchen. Surely the kitchen staff are trained to better hygiene standards than that?! I saw the same man in his kitchen whites stood in the doorway next to the restaurant smoking as we left. This has really put me off eating at this particular Loch Fyne restaurant again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank superwrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne - Nottingham also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Loch Fyne - Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing