We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food but not much of it!”

Loch Fyne - Nottingham
Ranked #78 of 1,414 Restaurants in Nottingham
Price range: $38 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice food but not much of it!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We visit Nottingham a lot and wanted to book a table at Loch Fyne as a celebration meal. Firstly, even though I booked a week before for 6pm, we ended up what I can only refer to as the worst table in the restaurant. After complaining, we were told it was the only table left and even though they don't normally use that table, there had been a problem with their on line booking facility. Any closer to the kitchen and we could have cooked our own meal!!. Food was nice but in very short supply. In fact we both came out hungry, which is not what you want after paying a hefty bill. Not over impressed!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank superbabe381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    251
    109
    74
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nottingham Loch Fyne”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

An average style restaurant the service of which varies with whichever person serves you. The tables are squeezed into a small area with the kitchen being partitioned off at the back of the restaurant. When full the noise can be overbearing and the closeness of other diners is off putting. During cold periods every time customers enter or leave the restaurant a blast of cold air engulfs those sitting near the main door, which can be very annoying and detract from what you hoped was going to be a good experience.
Don't expect to reserve a particular table. I have now four times reserves a table of my choice only to find on arrival it has been given to someone else. Twice I have had stomach problems after eating at Loch Fyne in Nottingham. If you choose from the main menu it can be expensive. I see Loch Fyne are now advertiseing nationwide "Sea Food & Grill." However, there is no grill menu in Nottingham. The wine list is limited.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hollypompom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Had a nice meal there last week. good choice. Ate off main menu which can be a little expensive but you pay for what you get. mussels were a little small but nice.
Overall good food.
felt the waiter made small talk at the end when paying bill. Maybe he was after a tip.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevonCheekyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
315 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great Food in a great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This restaurant lives up to the Loch Fyne standard. The atmosphere and decor really add to the ocassion. The staff were friendly and efficient and the prices reasonable. Our group had a variety of dishes - bream, salmon, hake, mussels and all were excellent. I hope to be back soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beahive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My new favourite restaurant!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I honestly cannot go on enough how amazing this place was! I had a 25% off voucher which made the already reasonably priced menu even better value. The service and atmosphere were both faultless, but the best thing about Loch Fyne by miles was the food. I had mussels and the portion size was very generous and beautifully presented. The bread and french fries that accompanied the main were the perfect complements. My boyfriend's salmon looked (and apparently tasted) just as good and the sticky toffee pudding that we shared afterwards just topped the whole meal off perfectly. This is genuinely my new favourite restaurant and I am so excited to return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne - Nottingham also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Loch Fyne - Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing