We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday meal for grandson's 17th” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Iguanas - Nottingham

Las Iguanas - Nottingham
Ranked #127 of 1,395 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Brazilian, Latin, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Walk through the doors of Las Iguanas and find yourself transported to Latin America, full of rich, vibrant colours, quirky features and custom-made wooden mosaic tables made especially for the restaurant from sustainable woods in Brazil. Each restaurant is unique and the staff love bringing unusual things back from their travels, ranging from large lobster sculptures to giant drums. The philosophy of Las Iguanas is to serve delicious and authentic Latin American food and drink in an environment which evokes the very best of Latin life. With recipes dating back to the 16th century, the food successfully fuses native Latin American Indian, Spanish, Portuguese and African influences. Working hard to ensure that everything comes from the best possible source, Las Iguanas is proud of its fresh GM free food and top quality ingredients.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Birthday meal for grandson's 17th”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This was our second meal here and both times we have been more than satisfied with the quality of the food. The chicken I had this time was a large piece very well prepared and my vegetarian partner was very pleased with her tasty curry. Other members of the party seemed pleased with their meals and the desserts didn't disappoint either. We went at happy hour and so got two cocktails for the price of one, which was probably as well as the alcohol content didn't appear to be very significant. The staff were very pleasant but the waitress said she couldn't do anything about the major problem for us, the volume of the music. If you go out as a group for a meal you want to able to converse across the table. It proved impossible to do that because of the ridiculous volume of the sound system. We went on a Saturday night and lots of people were being turned away so you would be advised to make a reservation. I can see why it is popular but I would think hard before going back again with a party who I wanted to converse with.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spwells2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    166
    65
    38
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Ate here Sunday lunchtime before a concert at the arena. First impressions were good - the decor is nice and we were greeted very quickly. They had a 2 for 1 cocktail offer on so we ordered two Mango Collins which were very good. No starters were ordered as we had a late breakfast so just mains and a side of potato fries to share. The mains were delicious - I had a chimichanga and my partner had a lamb dish. Both were very flavoursome and we could have easily eaten more. I asked for churros for dessert but they were out! We ended up just ordering two coffees instead.

The only downside was the service which was on the slow side. There were only a handful of tables though so I can't imagine what they are like on a busy fri/sat night. An enjoyable meal none the less.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Went with a party of 12 early evening. Patatas bravas I started with were lovely. I had pollo caruru for main it tasted ok just bordering on not being too spicy. The sauce however looked a bit congealed and the rice a bit dried out. The service was a bit slow and it was not too busy. The staff were friendly though. My friends enjoyed the cocktails as we were there for happy hour.

Helpful?
Thank Dippydulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad Service. Bad Food. Overpriced.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I visited this place at 8.00pm on a quiet Monday evening. It took 10 minutes to be seated and even then I had to turn down one table because it was filthy. The table I was finally given had a sticky surface and was also dirty. I had to wait 10 minutes for someone to take my drinks order and a further 10 minutes for it to arrive when I could place my food order. My margarita cost £6.30 and was served in a champagne glass. I ordered beef fajitas at £15.50. When it arrived, the tortillas were stone cold and stale. The fajitas contained 90% fried onions and peppers - very little evidence of beef. Overall - rubbish. Worse yet, none of the staff seemed to care at all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasIguanasHQ, Owner at Las Iguanas - Nottingham, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We have a genuinely great team at Nottingham so I am surprised to hear of your experience and sorry that we seem to have had an off day. Please can you email me a contact phone number, your name and trip advisor ID to lucy@iguanas.co.uk so that our area manager can get in touch to find out a little more? Many thanks. Lucy- Las Iguanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great decor, service & cocktails!! Food falls well below par!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

"The ExtraOrdinary XinxiM - Exotic, creamy, satisfying. Lime chicken in a crayfish
& peanut sauce with spring onion, garlic & coriander rice & fine green beans. Toasted coconut farofa to sprinkle, sweet plantains for fun. Pele loves it".

Sounds delicious, well Pele must love boil in the bag baby food!! This dish is disgusting.

However my fellow diners ordered Fajitas which they enjoyed even though the guacamole could not have been fresh. But seriously how could you get Fajitas wrong any student can knock that up!

The decor, service and cocktails where amazing, so soak this up, however the food falls well below par!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lil-Mushy-Pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasIguanasHQ, Owner at Las Iguanas - Nottingham, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We're pleased to hear that you loved the cocktails, the service and the décor. Our menu has a whole range of different types of dish from across South America and our years of experience tell us that of course not everyone loves everything, and that’s why if you let us know at the time that you aren't enjoying a dish that you have chosen, we'll do our best to find something else more to your taste. If you do come back and see us again, please do let us know if there is a problem! Lucy- Las Iguanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Iguanas - Nottingham also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Las Iguanas - Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing