We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night's stay!”
Review of P and J Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
P and J Hotel
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great night's stay!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Very pleasant nights stay. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Room was spacious, clean and well stocked for our stay. Very reasonably priced and only 5-10 mins taxi ride to the city centre. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adampilk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniel g, Owner at P and J Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you personally for giving your opinion about our hotel which we hope will help future visitors choose to stay at our hotel.

Our staff and I are so happy when our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Hoping to welcome you again soon,

Kind regards,

Margaret & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    45
    24
    7
    11
See reviews for
40
29
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The welcome here is very warm, our room was very large with what must have been a super kingsize bed. It was very clean with everything you would need in a hotel room.
The staff were very helpful and the tearoom was lovely, using china teacup and saucer which I thought was a lovely touch.
Highly recommend P & J hotel and if we come back to Nottingham we will definately be returning here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EleanorW81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniel g, Owner at P and J Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you personally for giving your opinion about our hotel which we hope will help future visitors choose to stay at our hotel.

Our staff and I are so happy when our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Hoping to welcome you again soon,

Kind regards,

Margaret & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the P & J Hotel. Rooms very clean. Good value for money and finally a very warm welcome from the manager. I recommend this hotel. Very close to the Jubilee university campus if you have business there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniel g, Manager at P and J Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you personally for giving your opinion about our hotel which we hope will help future visitors choose to stay at our hotel.

Our staff and I are so happy when our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Hoping to welcome you again soon,

Kind regards,

Margaret & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights as I was attending a course in the University of Nottingham, which is just a short 20 minutes walk away. My room is very clean, with adequate size, and the bed comfortable. The bed sheets smell great and the pillows are nice and hard, not the collapsible types that one may occasionally encounter. The staff here is very friendly and approachable, especially the new owner Daniel. Walking to town from this hotel takes about 25 minutes to half an hour. There is a bus stop near by which adds to the convenience. Very pleased that I chose this place to stay for my trip to Nottingham.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victorngwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniel g, Manager at P and J Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you personally for giving your opinion about our hotel which we hope will help future visitors choose to stay at our hotel.

Our staff and I are so happy when our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Hoping to welcome you again soon,

Kind regards,

Margaret & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed here because i had an interview at the QMC. It was a 10minute walk to the hospital.

It is really hard to park near the hospital, so it was perfect for me to use the hotels free parking and walk. The hotel was very kind and let me leave my car there for the day, even after i had checked out.

I booked a standard room with shared bathroom but was upgraded upon arrival free of chrage as they had en suites available. I was then shown 2 rooms and allowed to choose which room i wanted.

The rooms are spacious and the bed was comfortable. Very clean and shower was lovely.

Staff are really friendly and helpful- smiling and polite.

The only down side was that there was a lot of noise from about 11-1am where i could hear people walking past my room and talking.

Over all a really good hotel. Ideal location and lovely people. Would definitly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LElastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniel g, Owner at P and J Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you personally for giving your opinion about our hotel which we hope will help future visitors choose to stay at our hotel.

Our staff and I are so happy when our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Hoping to welcome you again soon,

Kind regards,

Margaret & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I and 5 of my girlfriends stayed here as it was my sisters hen night! It was AMAZING! Upon arrival we found the free parking was a god send. we were then warmly welcomed and shown to our rooms, which were bright and clean and very comfortable. We were then informed our Tea party was set and ready when we were (we booked an additional cream tea for the six of us, which was delicious. The cakes were so pretty, we almost didn't want to eat them....Almost. We had a wonderful afternoon, and were looked after so well by the staff. after tea, we all went to get ready for our night out. The guy who was working that night Daniel ( I think) Was super helpful, Calling our taxi and even putting us on the guest list to a great night club!
We had such a good time that weekend and I think it was down to having great accommodation.
Thank you all so much, we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniel g, Owner at P and J Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you personally for giving your opinion about our hotel which we hope will help future visitors choose to stay at our hotel.

Our staff and I are so happy when our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Hoping to welcome you again soon,

Kind regards,

Margaret & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I went to The P & J Hotel on Derby Road Nottingham for afternoon cream tea and a chat. What a lovely time we had. The Hotel has recently changed hands and our experience was marvellous. We had several pots of tea, a lovely selection of sandwiches including smoked salmon and cucumber. We also had a lovely selection of cakes and scones. The bread was baked in the kitchen and was a delightful touch. The scones were wonderfully light and came with fresh cream and wonderful strawberry jam. We also had two beautifully baked cakes one raspberry the other lemon cake. Sadly we could not finish all the food provided. What a delightful way to spend an afternoon! There is free parking at the back of the hotel which saved us the very high cost of parking in Nottingham City Centre. My friend and I are going to make this a regular afternoon treat. With free parking the price of a cream tea was such a bargain! Save yourself city centre parking fees and get a wonderful strawberry cream tea in a great new venue!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MuchtraveledGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniel g, Owner at P and J Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you personally for giving your opinion about our hotel which we hope will help future visitors choose to stay at our hotel.

Our staff and I are so happy when our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Hoping to welcome you again soon,

Kind regards,

Margaret & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#16 of 49 in Nottingham
670 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Riverside Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 49 in Nottingham
1,467 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to P and J Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about P and J Hotel

Property: P and J Hotel
Address: 277 Derby Road | Lenton, Nottingham NG7 2DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — P and J Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your P and J Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing