We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Hotel for a great weekend”
Review of P and J Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
P and J Hotel
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spend 4 days in Notthingam to play a warhammer world tournament and of course visit the touristic places . The hotel is great, the staff was very kind, whenever we needs something like taxis, or indications, they always help us. Very close to the center (15 min by walk) and warhammer world (10 min by walk). The next time i will travel to Notthingam i will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmcarrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 157 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here 1 night last weekend while visiting friends. We were highly disappointed and felt ripped-off. The hotel looked really old-fashioned, just like Fawlty Towers. It was shabby and the mattress was lumpy. Also it seemed like they were really cutting down on costs as there was no toilet roll in the bathroom and one towel between us. When we asked about breakfast the next day we were told, they didn't do cooked breakfasts anymore. The continental breakfast was awful - a few very cheap-looking croissants. The icing on the cake was when the landlady told us not to go in the lounge after breakfast as there were people sleeping in it. Speechless!

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joandrickt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here a number of times so it's time to commend them at this hotel . This is a lovely homely hotel where the The staff - in particular the staff on reception are always very welcoming and friendly. We stayed in one of the apartments which was very spacious, clean and beautifully furnished Everything you could possible need, parking included. The location is excellent - close to all amenities .We often stay at more expensive hotels, but to be honest, if it's a comfortable stay and a great location you want, you can't go wrong with this hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to couples, single travellers or groups.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliceann44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel on two occasions earlier this year The first time we stayed in the upstairs apartment .this was very spacious and bright .It had all the amenities we needed and really enjoyed our break as the hotel is just a short stroll from the city centre .The second time we stayed in one of the hotel rooms and had the same experince.The room was spotless clean. We found the hotel staff always very helpful and polite . As the hotel is an old building it had a lot of character. Good value for money .Will definitley be recommending it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Service 3*
Room 3*
Facilities 2*

Very basic hotel.

Got there to find our booking was made but we had to pay again (?). Will be following that up.

The hotel is an old large house type hotel, a bit Faulty Towers to look at. In the world of modern hotels this is great if you are visiting 1974 but otherwise i would go to a Travelodge.

The room was basic and clean but the fire alarm seemed t have been sealed over which was not reassuring. Wash facilities were basic.

If you are used to cheap hotels this will be fine. If you are used to prison life... again this will be fine.

If you are used to modern hotels... go somewhere else.

Would I stay there again. No, not because it was awful, just because I can find better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dysonsphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Friendly clean and staff really helpful, 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel and would not hesitate on using it again!

Room was clean and like a home from home!

Added bonus of car park and close to all amenities, good bus route into city centre.

Breakfast was lovely and a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

After staying here for the second time at this hotel, i would definitley reccomend this again!

The hotel is situated in a perfect spot in Nottingham. As i lived in Nottingham for uni I wouldn't usualy be staying in a hotel, but i was back with my family for my graduation!

The hotel was very clean and my bedroom was perfect, was just what i needed for a 2 night stay. The Welcoming owners were great and were very helpful with everything that we needed.

Me and my family included breakfast which was lovely, would definitley reccomend as it was a great start to my morning before a very nervous graduation.

As i no longer live in Nottingham, i will definitley be coming again (many times i hope!) and i will definitley stay and reccomend this hotel!

Thankyou for the great stay, will see you again soon :) !!! x

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#19 of 41 in Nottingham
726 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
0.9 mi away
Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham
Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham
#29 of 41 in Nottingham
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#18 of 41 in Nottingham
1,243 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to P and J Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about P and J Hotel

Address: 277 Derby Road | Lenton, Nottingham NG7 2DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: $56 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — P and J Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your P and J Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing