We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Travelodge instead. Cheaper, cleaner and more modern.”
Review of P and J Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
P and J Hotel
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed February 13, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here on Saturday 11th Feb. We paid £69 for a double room with ensuite and breakfast the following morning. Personally I think around £50-55 would have reflected the hotel more accurately.
The onsite parking is a bonus but be prepared to wait for a space or get there early.
The entrance to the hotel is probably the most modern and nicest part of the hotel, and that's saying something.
On arrival we received our room key, wireless passcode and receipt for the room. The room key has a key ring on it with your room number and the hotel address which is a very silly idea to do. You should know what room you're in when the receptionist tells you, the only benefit of having the room number on the key ring is to a thief. If I lost the key while I was out then anyone who found it would know exactly which room to walk into and steal from.
The room; comfy bed and good tv. Everything else in the room looks like it's been came from a loft from the 1970s.
Bathroom was tiny, oh sorry. Not bathroom because it has no bath. Shower room is the correct term. The toilet sanitation pipework doesn't go to the drains. Once the toilet was flushed it sounded like a cement mixer churning up your nasties and then they remain in a box behind the toilet. The plug doesn't work, doesn't fit the waste correctly.
The furniture in our room,(room 6), was so dated and dirty. Just throw it out!!! Why keep a flowery stained single seat dirty chair? All it does is make u not want to be in the room.
We had to hide the rug under the bed as it was filthy and so tatty.
The only plus was the 11am checkout and the breakfast. Although the aldi orange juice they use doesn't need to be watered down! Seriously, it's only 60p a litre!
The lounge area has everything someone who'd be cryogenically frozen in 1974 and defrosted today would love. Ruined felt on the pool table, fuzzy tv, old tatty chairs, commemorative plates all over the building, and not forgetting, the smell of must.
Im sorry but this hotel doesn't deserve any more than a 2*, at best.
Travelodge rooms are 10times nicer.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamtaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 157 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2012

Expensive for a very basic B&B. Rooms noisy, The en-suite drizzle (I refuse to call it a shower) was useless. Better off at Premier or Travelodge. Very disappointing, tired and poor value for money

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This hotel is great value for money and in an excellent location for Nottingham city centre. The staff were lovely and polite and the rooms had a nice, olde world kinda charm with a bit of glam in the form of sequened cushions. They were clean, warm and the bed was amazingly comfortable and HUGE!

The on suit was a little small but clean and with a powerful and the breakfast was more than adequate.

We will be staying there again when we go to visit a friend at Nottingham uni and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matilda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The good: The hotel is well located, near the centre of Nottingham and near major roads. The staff were friendly. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The free off-street parking is convenient. The breakfast is DELICIOUS! The hotel itself is quirky, but very charming with a nice lounge and bar. Wifi available in the room itself.

The bad: The room was a little small, especially with two large suitcases and nowhere to put them; the size itself wasn't that bad but the room is awkwardly arranged. Be aware that if you have a shared bathroom you might have to wait in the morning for the shower.

Overall: It was a very pleasant stay and I would stay again - this time with a bathroom in our room though!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reuben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Me and my fellow student stayed at the hotel for three months. We rented the serviced apartment for most of the time, but had circa three weeks in hotel rooms.

The hotel is very reasonable prized. The staff was very kind and very helpful with giving information about the city. This hotel is perfectly located, its a 20 minutes walk from the city center, 10 minutes from Queens Medical Center and 15 minutes to the university of Nottingham. There is bus stops right outside the hotel.
The breakfast was good, you can choose from a variety of different plates which they prepare for you, I did usually have the standard English Breakfast.

The hotel rooms were nicely decorated and the beds were good. The water flow in the showers was a bit weak so if you have long hair it may take a couple of minutes to get out the shampoo.
I had friends and family over and they were also pleased about the hotel.

The serviced apartment was just brilliant with a nice big kitchen, washing machine/dryer, big bathroom, two big good beds, two television, a nice big dining table and a laid back coach. The apartment is also as the hotel nicely decorated.The only thing I wasn't happy about was the fact that their were a window in the roof on one of the bedrooms which made it a little to bright, but the staff was planing to cover it up.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Had a lovely stay here and enjoyed the quirky decor in some areas! Our room was lovely, light and spacious with 3 really comfy beds. Tasty breakfast with extra tea and toast offered and friendly staff who were happy to help. It was great to have a bar and some board games available but would appreciate it if they fixed the pool table! Conveniently located - a cheap taxi ride from town or plenty of buses on the main road. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDrysdales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This was a good value hotel which we found by accident- it was clean and the breakfast pleasant -hotel quirky and a little old fashioned but overall friendly and parking available which is not easy in Nottingham.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#17 of 41 in Nottingham
713 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 41 in Nottingham
2,464 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#18 of 41 in Nottingham
1,215 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Vere Jubilee Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to P and J Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about P and J Hotel

Address: 277 Derby Road | Lenton, Nottingham NG7 2DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: $55 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — P and J Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your P and J Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing