We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house with stunning owners”
Review of Nottingham Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nottingham Lodge
Ranked #3 of 26 Nottingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Lovely old house. Hospitality of owners stunning, couldn't do enough for you. Very friendly. Lovely breakfast, choice of cooked breakfast, asked to order this day before.
Beds very comfortable, especially in the single room. Excellent bathroom facilities. Lodge extremely clean, lovely fluffy towels changed daily.
I was using public transport, quite cheap using taxi from station. Lodge reasonably central, five. Minute walk to the Notts tram.
I felt very safe and well looked after, took sick, owners gave me every assistance.

Room Tip: All rooms very quiet. Single room very cosey if on own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aluycious, Owner at Nottingham Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your most generous review.

We greatly appreciate those who take the time to tell the world about their positive experience here at Greenwood Lodge in Nottingham.

We hope that you are still enjoying your holiday and that you have not experienced any more health problems. It was a very pleasurable experience to have you to stay with us.

Once again thank you and just to say the plant you kindly bought is still thriving in our garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 159 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a lovely hold house, tucked away in the suburbs, full of antiques but not grand. I B&B with character. The Garden is mature and well tended, the lounge is a lovely old room full of antiques, the dining area in the conservatory looked lovely although we didn't eat there. Our room was on the top floor and slightly small and over full of old furniture but charming and comfortable. It was cold but they turned on the heating for us and were generally friendly and helpful about what to see and where to go.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Since we are innkeepers of a B&B we're pretty attuned to the many aspects of hospitality involved in running a B&B and these folks do a wonderful job. The physical environment is lovely and the hosts are attentive, kind and informative. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the excellent service. Food was very good, dining room most delightful. We liked being able to walk to pubs and other service establishments.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a couple of nights here visiting our niece. Very welcoming and comfortable. Old fashioned, but nothing wrong with that. Couldn't believe how quiet it was so near to the centre of the city. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LymingtonSailorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights for the Nottingham Trent Uni open day. We had room 1 with the king size four poster, and my daughter room 3, a single room. A lovely B&B with all the home comforts that you could wish for, coffee and tea toiletries etc, and wifi, beautifully presented, clean and warm.
A full choice for breakfast, perfectly cooked. Along with the friendly welcome and helpful local advice. A far more friendly place to stay than one of the big national hotel groups.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsjburnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is such a lovely house and really stunning rooms but we did feel like we were staying at our parent's house. From being asked not to creek the floorboards as their room was below us, to asking us to congregate in a certain room if we were coming back late. And then even mentioning in the morning how late we had returned! I wouldn't say the owner was unfriendly quite the opposite, it all just felt a little intrusive (and I usually prefer B&Bs for the personal feel but this is the first time I have felt like this).

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank in2thewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Don't be put off by first impressions as you drive along Third Avenue - a little gem awaits you.
Once we left the car parking area, through the beautiful gardens to reception, we were met by Mr Doug Pearse (The Owner) whose quiet and unassuming manner we found most refreshing especially as we were used to the large corporate type hotels - we chose Greenwood as it is within easy reach of the FM Arena in the centre of Nottingham.
We had lovely comfortable rooms, particularly the beds, our rooms were nicely furnished as is the whole of the reception area, sitting room and conservatory. Tea and coffe available too.
Superb breakfast, served on time and exactly as ordered; this we had in the nice and bright conservatory overlooking the lovely gardens mentioned earlier.
We had a lovely stay at what we considered very low cost for what it provided.
A big "thank you" from John, Edward and Lucy Howard in Norwich.
Note to trip adviser: No silly spelling mistakes please - take your time when you re-write this review - (thank you).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 41 in Nottingham
2,464 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#29 of 41 in Nottingham
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
679 reviews
4.7 mi away
Nelson and Railway Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nottingham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottingham Lodge

Address: 5 Third Avenue | Sherwood Rise, Nottingham NG7 6JH, England (Formerly Greenwood Lodge City Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Nottingham
Hotel Class:5 star — Nottingham Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True to its Edwardian spirit, Nottingham Lodge is situated less than a mile from the city centre. With its elegant victorian furnishings and a contemporary decor offering a home from home environment the 4 Star Bed and Breakfast is perfectly positoned in a quiet cul-de-sac away from all the hustle and bustle. Built in 1834, Nottingham Lodge is a fine late regency property offering most rooms with four poster beds or canopy beds. With a family room provided on request, all rooms come with Hungarian goose-down quilts/400 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, curved flat screen TVs, safe deposit boxes, Nespresso coffee makers with delicious coffee pods! And to make your stay even better, you can enjoy the views of our glorious courtyard whilst you dine in our Glass House. Your stay is our top priority! Honeymoon suite available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Nottingham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing