We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nottingham Lodge
Ranked #3 of 26 Nottingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Booked at the last minute we found this super guest house. I have stayed in various hotels in Nottingham over the last four years but after finding Greenwood Lodge and it's homely environment and fab service I will now look no further. Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luciestephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 159 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

Having links with Scotland and Nottingham, it was like staying in an hunting lodge in Scotland but on the outskirts of Nottingam. My wife and I went up for the Football, Forest lost again!
The room and en-suite was surperb as previously I have found it difficult to find a hotel room and en-suite which matched my height being 6.3....The room and en-suite were spacious and very clean as well as well presented. The Four poster bed was noisy, but what the hell we are 56.....
The breakfast was one of the best we have had for a long time. Not a hotel for the boys who I travel with each year for the Forest Golf day, but ideal for a couples or family visit. Also there is parking included which is a bonus as I have stayed in Nottingham and paid more for my car than the room. The Gate is locked overnight so as secure as it can be.

Room Tip: Remember the Gate code if you come back late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ralphbosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed in this gem of a guest house during a return visit to Nottingham after a long absence. The room was extremely clean and pleasant with a fantastic four poster bed. Nothing was too much trouble and we finished off with a delicious breakfast. I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDaveWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I have just returned home from visiting my daughter in Nottingham. I chose Greenwood Lodge after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor.

I must say Sue and Doug made me most welcome and I loved their home and felt privileged to be able to enjoy such a beautiful property. The service offered by my hosts was faultless and I hope to be able to return soon.

Sue and Doug - thank you for a great stay.

PS the breakfast of porrige followed by smoked haddock with poached egg was fantastic. So nice to see some low fat choices on the menu. I must say though the full english being enjoyed by the guy on the next table was very tempting !!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SargeLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Just come back from a night in this lovely guest house - beautifully furnished and with lovely little touches and good quality toiletries, teas and coffee plus the milk in a flask that others have mentioned. All these things go to make a very comfortable night. The breakfast was wonderful - best bacon and sausage that we have had for ages and beautifully cooked. It was a pity to stay for just the one night! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noggie1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed here after taking our daughter to university. Really comfortable well appointed rooms, particularly liked the fresh milk provided in a thermos flask for tea and coffee. As others have said wonderful breakfasts in the lovely conservatory.

And last but not least the owners were really understanding when we had to change the date of our stay twice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Had to wait outside for some 5 minutes before I got someone's attention on check-in. On the other hand, at times when they should respect guests' privacy, the owners were intrusive, rude and absolutely unprofessional. Would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Service
7  Thank ustrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.5 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#30 of 41 in Nottingham
157 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
687 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
4.7 mi away
Nelson and Railway Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nottingham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottingham Lodge

Address: 5 Third Avenue | Sherwood Rise, Nottingham NG7 6JH, England (Formerly Greenwood Lodge City Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Nottingham
Hotel Class:5 star — Nottingham Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True to its Edwardian spirit, Nottingham Lodge is situated less than a mile from the city centre. With its elegant victorian furnishings and a contemporary decor offering a home from home environment the 4 Star Bed and Breakfast is perfectly positoned in a quiet cul-de-sac away from all the hustle and bustle. Built in 1834, Nottingham Lodge is a fine late regency property offering most rooms with four poster beds or canopy beds. With a family room provided on request, all rooms come with Hungarian goose-down quilts/400 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, curved flat screen TVs, safe deposit boxes, Nespresso coffee makers with delicious coffee pods! And to make your stay even better, you can enjoy the views of our glorious courtyard whilst you dine in our Glass House. Your stay is our top priority! Honeymoon suite available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Nottingham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing