We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bar service and meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,254 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 635 helpful votes
“Good bar service and meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Had drinks and dinner here this evening with a new colleague who was staying here.

Nice lobby bar and pleasant service.

Dinner was fine - standard business hotel fayre. Reasonably priced.

As a business I'd never thought to use this hotel but will recommend to colleagues as it was good, well priced and handily located for the office, nottingham and the motorway

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MJH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelfryManager, General Manager at The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear MJH1

Thanks for taking the time to post a review following your dining experience with us. We do try and cater for the needs of all of our guests and to this end are always keen to hear any feedback.

We have recently updated our lounge menu so we hope you will have the opportunity to try some of our new dishes on your next visit.

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager

csteven@qhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    468
    168
    71
    54
See reviews for
177
514
52
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed here twice now, with my daughter, for spa weekends the first time was in July 2012 for my daughters birthday, and I loved it so much that my daughter paid for a weekend for us as my Christmas present. The rooms are lovely, warm, comfortable and spacious, the spa is amazing and we spent almost the whole time there! The food is gorgeous and as both my daughter and I are vegetarians that is saying a lot! we are also both following Slimming World and as we couldn't have a dessert they made us a fantastic fruit salad each! Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who are always friendly and happy. We will definitely be going again!! I read a review which said the staff are miserable - not so, they also said the spa was small and staff there unhelpful, again not so, no it isn't an Olympic size pool, but neither is it tiny, the jacuzzi seats about eight or ten people at a time and and the sauna and steam room are amply big enough, maybe if you just want a spa with endless treatments and large pool you should try somewhere that specializes in just being a spa, but for me The Nottingham Belfry is amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelfryManager, General Manager at The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Lynne E

Thanks for your lovely comments following your recent spa break with us, I was delighted to read that you had such a great return visit, we hope to see and your daughter again soon.

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager

csteven@qhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Belfry for their New Years Eve family gala. There were 20 of us in our group staying in 9 rooms. Ages ranged from 4 to 52, this including teenagers and 3 under 5’s. I can confidently say that every single one of us had a brilliant night.
We arrived at the hotel at 11:30am (plenty of free parking) to have lunch and use the spa facilities before we checked in. Our check in time was officially 3pm but as our rooms were ready reception was happy to check us all in early. Everyone was pleased with their rooms which were all spacious, clean and modern; our room even had a balcony. Most importantly a really comfortable bed. Our only criticisms would be the lack of a fridge and A/C which was surprising for a hotel of this calibre; they do however provide a tower fan for cooling. This is a personal thing but I confess without A/C I would not wish to stay here in the summer as any roadside room would be too noisy to have the windows open at night.
Before the spa we ate lunch in the bar and the food was good but the length of time between order and service was very poor. Despite 3 orders being place within in minutes of each other there was almost 20 minutes between the 3 orders being served with the final order taking almost an hour. Given that we also encountered this problem on our last visit I would say that this area could use some attention. At the spa you are provided with towels on entry but need £1 for your lockers (refundable). Facilities include pool, large Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room all of which were modern and well maintained. It is not a huge area and was very busy but this was to be expected, it had to be said we were rent a crowd. A few of us had used the facilities before on a Groupon spa day and it was much quieter when you go during a normal week. We did not have any treatments but they were available and when we used them previously we found them to be of a good standard and reasonably priced. The changing rooms were very pleasant with an open changing area as well as a few individual booths for private changing. There is also a convenient spin dryer and plastic bags so you don’t have to worry about packing a dripping wet costume.
There were two events being held for New Years Eve, the family gala and the over 18’s black tie event. The black tie event was beautifully decorated and lit and looked fabulous. The family event had very little by way decoration or special lighting, not even balloons for the children. There were party poppers on the table and a few crackers but that’s it, first impressions were not that good. I think that the hotel should look at making a little more effort in this area. That is the only gripe everything else was brilliant. The food was excellent, choice of starter and dessert brought to the table the main was buffet style. Throughout the meal the waitress was very attentive we were extremely well looked after and the drinks service was quick and efficient. We thought the price of the drinks were reasonable for hotel prices with a bottle of a basic house white wine starting at just £15 and a glass of coke £1.95. The music was varied lots of current stuff with plenty of ‘classics’ thrown in. Any requests were listened to and played. The DJ was really good and ensured that when midnight arrived it was a special moment. Everyone was up and dancing you could not have wished for a better atmosphere. There was also a separate room adjoining the main room which had various games to keep the kids happy for when they were bored of dancing. We found this a really great idea for a family event and the kids loved it. The night finished at 1am the black tie event finished at 1:30. A lot of people were still dancing in our room at this point so 1:30 for both events would have been better.
All the staff were super friendly and couldn’t do enough for us. A special thanks to one member of staff Yvonne Ward who we had met previously on our spa day. Yvonne remembered that we had had a bad experience at a different hotel the previous year and her enthusiasm had been pivotal in our choosing this hotel. On the night Yvonne was always around checking that everyone was happy and spreading her infectious laugh. I don’t think she ever sleeps because her smiling face was there to greet us at breakfast too. For those staying over the bars were still open at 3am but stopped taking cash and you could only charge drinks to your room at this point. Check out and breakfast times had been extended on New Years Day with breakfast being served until 12:30 and checkout by 13:00. This was a great touch, so nice not to have to rush and a very responsible decision by the hotel given the amount of people driving.

The breakfast was great with plenty of choice from full English to cereals, fruit, yoghurts and delicious pastries. Service was fast and friendly; my husband had several pots of coffee and each time it took just a minute or two to reach the table.

We have attended several New Years Eve events at hotels and this was not only one of the least expensive residential packages but also the most enjoyable by a long long way. Every member of our group had such a great time that we are all looking to book again next year it was that good.

Room Tip: If travelling in summer ask for a room away from the road so that you can have your windows open as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnydazeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelfryManager, General Manager at The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear sunnydazeuk

Thank you for your lovely feedback following your stay with us for New Year; we were all delighted to read that you had such a great stay.

Our family party is a very popular event and we are looking to make it even more special for 2013.

Thank you as well for your constructive comments regarding the food service in the bar, I have addressed this with our team so I trust you will see a marked improvement on your next visit; we look forward to seeing you again this year.

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
csteven@qhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the 27th December and I have to say it was one of those instances where the website promised more than it delivered. We had booked a spa package which included lunch. The room was great aside from the fact it hadn't been cleaned properly even to the extent the bin hadn't been emptied and there were crumbs and wrapping paper around the room. This was a consistant theme around the hotel in the public areas. The 'free nibbles' consisted of two biscuits. The room was quiet, large and well equipped. We were pointed in the direction of the spa which actually takes you to the leisure side of the property. We were given a couple of towels, I had to ask for the robes and slippers as promised in the package, slippers still didn't appear and you will need a £1 for a locker. We were then told we needed to complete a pre-order form for lunch and shown upto the 'spa' which consisted of treatment rooms. We were also shown to the swimming pool which also has a small jacuzzi and a very basic steam room and sauna. The staffing was minimal and as such when we went for lunch we had to wait for a full 10 minutes to get served and order a drink as there was only one miserable member of staff serving. Our food arrived some time later, if you order the hummus don't expect it to taste of anything and the foccacia is basically like a piece of cheese and tomato pizza. We had pre-ordered desert but they had to be reminded. We ordered room service instead of going down to the informal bar area for dinner. The food was very well presented but the lack of hot tray meant the main was luke warm by the time you had finished your starter. (If you want ketchup or mayonnaise with your fries then ask at the time of ordering as this isn't provided.) All in all not value for money and I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flyti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelfryManager, General Manager at The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Flyti

Further to our recent conversation, my apologies once again that we fell short of our usual high standards on your visit to us over the festive period. I have discussed your feedback at length with our team to ensure the issues you experienced are addressed.

I am very sorry that you had a less than perfect stay with us and I do hope we shall be able to prove to you that this was an isolated incident and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
csteven@qhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel Christmas 2009, and it is still a super place to stay.
The excellent standards have been retained as we stayed again this Christmas of 2012.
One cannot speak highly enough of the staff.
What a lovely touch to have the Santa stocking hanging on the door, with some goodies in.
The breakfast is a must, with such a variety of excellent food.
Thank you staff you are a credit to Q hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelfryManager, General Manager at The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Ronald W

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor following your stay with us over Christmas.

We were delighted to hear that you had such a good time at the hotel and thank you for your comment regarding the room gifts on Christmas eve, we thought we would try and do something a little special for our guests that were away from home at this time and bring Christmas to you!

We hope to see you again next year.

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
csteven@qhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The location is convenient for our stay but I wouldn't normally go out of my way to stay here with it's drab sombre dark brown colour scheme and uninspiring American-style architecture. Having said that the rooms are perfectly acceptable in terms of facilities and size (don't expect a fridge!) Everything works fine bathroom wise. On the plus side the reception staff seem pleasant and friendly, the pool area is well designed.
Food variable in restaurant. Breakfast food improved on re cooked English but coffee and fresh fruit lacking in taste. Bar food average. The advertised 'fired' chips were fatty and burnt and the fish a bit tasteless.

Room Tip: Probably need to ask which rooms give better mobile reception. Our room (221) inward facing first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelfryManager, General Manager at The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear David C

Thanks for your constructive feedback of your visit to our hotel. I was disappointed to read that you were unsatisfied with the food available during your visit. We do pride ourselves on our very high standard of cuisine but please be assured that we have discussed this at length as a team to rectify this.

I am sorry that you were unimpressed with the architecture of the building; at Q hotels we have a wide selection of types of hotel and if you are looking for a short break in the UK, I am sure that we could accommodate you at one of our more traditional hotels which might be more appealing to your taste.

Thanks one again for taking the time to feed back to us as this helps us continually improve our service here at the Nottingham Belfry Hotel.

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
csteven@qhotelsco.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The reception and restaurant staff were very obliging, polite and all service done with a smile. Our family evening meal on Boxing night was superb followed by a delicious breakfast the following morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip201112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelfryManager, General Manager at The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Trip201112

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel, we were delighted to read that you had such a wonderful meal with us on Boxing Day and that the team looked after you so well.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
csteven@qhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
3.8 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#7 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
3.9 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#15 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel

Property: The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Address: Nottingham Business Park, Nottingham NG8 6PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nottingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#3 Business Hotel in Nottingham
#4 Family Hotel in Nottingham
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nottingham Belfry is ideally located just one mile from the M1 and 5 miles from Nottingham city centre. The contemporary four-star hotel has 120 spacious bedrooms, a superb leisure club and tranquil spa. The Nottingham Belfry is the region's largest conference venue as the hotel can hold up to 700 delegates in the Admiralty Suite or across 13 flexible conference and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nottingham Belfry - a q Hotel Nottingham
Belfry Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing