We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I checked in on Christmas Eve and had a wonderful stay. Spa facilities were good, food was lovely, staff were great and there were some unexpected festive touches - a stocking containing a few goodies hung on our door on Christmas morning and bucks fizz at breakfast for example. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motty76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelfryManager, General Manager at The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Motty76

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel following your stay with us over Christmas, I was very happy to read that you had such a fabulous visit.

We are glad you enjoyed your Christmas stocking! this was a little something we put together to welcome all f our guests that stayed with us on Christmas eve.

We hope to see you again next year, or even before!

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
csteven@qhotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,066 - 1,072 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were looking for a overnight stop between London & York.......glad we stayed at the Belfry! Great location, service was excellent from start to finish, room was clean and up to date. Only regret is we only stayed one night.....would love to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallygator53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelfryManager, General Manager at The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear wallygator53

We very much appreciate you taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to our hotel and were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stopover.

Being just 1 mile from the M1 we are very conveniently located for anyone travelling through the East of England.

On your next visit we hope you might stay and relax with us for a bit longer!

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
csteven@qhotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed overnight as wedding guests. Our room was comfortable, clean and a very decent size. The reception was held in the Nelson Suite and was intimate enough for a small family gathering and disco afterwards. The food was excellent and arrived on the table hot which when mass catering in December is always a bonus. Breakfast was included in our room rate and consisted of cold meats, cereals, fruit and the option of a full cooked one. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It is ideally placed for the M1 motorway being about 2 roundabout junctions away and is set on the edge of a business park. We did not use the spa nor try the leisure facilities but the gym looked excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilmslow-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelfryManager, General Manager at The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Wilmslow-traveller

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay with us in December.

We do have a very flexible ballroom which can accommodate everything from an intimate gathering to a dinner for 500 guests and our efficient and friendly banqueting team do pride themselves on suffering an excellent level of service. Our Head Chef and Banqueting Manager were both delighted to hear that you had such a great experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
csteven@qhotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I went here in early December for a Christmas weekend away with my friends. We booked an overnight spa break, which included one 50 minute treatment,lunch, bed and breakfast. We also paid a bit extra for the Christmas party night,which included a 3 course meal and disco till 2am!!
Great value @£120 each approx. The lunch was a buffet ,served in the restaurant and was delicious,with a good selection of hot and cold dishes and a variety of tempting desserts. The spa treatments were good too, but we didn't get to use many of the spa facilities other than that as it was heaving!!!!! Didn't matter though. The bedrooms were very modern and spacious.
The Christmas party night (80's theme) was fantastic, with about 350 people.Great tables, service, food , disco,atmosphere!!!
A fab time was had by us all, and we will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minimaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelfryManager, General Manager at The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear minimaggs

Thanks for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor following your stay with us for your pre-Christmas break.

I was delighted that you had such a great time at our party night, we will be finalising the details of out 2013 Christmas season this month, so do let us know if you would like us to reserve a space for you this year!

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
csteven@qhotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We're planning our 2013 tour of the UK for 26 conferences!! We've had some interesting experiences this year and have made the decision that for major meetings we really do need to see the facilities before we sign the contract!! We arrived on the coldest day so far this winter to a very warm welcome from Clare at reception who was very friendly and very welcoming. Our rooms weren't ready so we went to the bar for some lunch, We'd arranged to meet the C&B team for a show-round and they arrived promptly at 2pm - accompanied by the General Manager! What a refreshing change to see senior management interested in potential new business. The conference facilities are superb and meet our needs for the 2-day meeting we're doing next year. We ate in the bar that evening and the meal we had was simple but very tasty. Clare, the General Manager, came and saw us over breakfast the next morning to say hi and goodbye. Now my little gripes - I don't think that at 5.30pm it is acceptable to have a series of plates, glasses and general debris outside the doors of rooms on our floor - can it be too difficult to collect these up at regular intervals so as to spare guests the sight of these?? The only other gripe was that next morning as we headed for reception to check out we had to negotiate the chamber maid trolleys complete with towels, sheets and all-and-sundry lying on the floor - hard to negotiate around with wheelie cases and several other bags. But hey all in all great hotel and we're looking forward to our meeting next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelfryManager, General Manager at The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Siobhan W

Thanks for your lovely comments following your site visit, it was great to meet you both and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the Autumn for your event.

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
csteven@qhotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Nottingham Belfry Hotel in 2011 and decided to return for a 'friday feeling' overnight stay in December 2012 to celebrate my husband's birthday. Again the hotel lived up to our expectations (and mine are high), we weren't disappointed.

All the staff were extremely friendly, professional, nothing was too much trouble and they took pride in their work.Our room was lovely & quiet (as requested - we heard no noise whatsoever from the christmas party elsewhere in the hotel), very clean, spacious, comfy and good value for money.

An absolute must is the Lawrence restaurant, the food flavours, presentation & quality are excellent (almost too good to eat!) and the dessert chef creates the most fantastic finale to your meal. This is such a nice hotel to treat yourself, relax & take you away from the hassel of everday life, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Away from lifts, at the end of the corridor and higher floors tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelfryManager, General Manager at The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear lovelywife

Thanks for your wonderful feedback, we were all very pleased to read that you had such an excellent stay with us here at the Nottingham Belfry Hotel.

Our team of chefs do pride themselves on the high level of cuisine that they offer and I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
csteven@qhotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

After our excellent stay at the Q hotel Stratford we hoped the Nottingham Belfry would be as good. We were not disappointed. What is most outstanding about this hotel is the people. The staff at reception, the bar and the restaurant (all local people) were extremely friendly and helpful and gave us lots of local information. We both thought it was the most friendly hotel we had ever stayed in.

The hotel is very close to J26 of the M1 and is about 3 minutes drive to Park and Ride at Phoenix Park. The tram from there goes to all parts of the centre of Nottingham. It takes about 25 minutes and costs £3.50 return. It is by far the best way to get into the city centre. The hotel has a large free car park.

The room we had was large with a king size bed. There were two heaters, lots of wardrobe space, mirrors everywhere (Great for putting on make-up – My wife) and lots of light including bedside reading lights.

The bathroom was large and modern, well equipped with a bath and walk-in shower.

The food throughout was excellent despite our first evening being a Christmas party night and the second night the hotel being full with a wedding. Breakfast was fresh and varied. Two points although small I noted. Firstly the manager asked by wife if everything was OK calling her by her name. Secondly the lady chef bought out a plate of fresh fried eggs and took away the plate which had a couple of old ones on. How unusual when they are normally just shovelled onto the new plate. This was done when no-one was at the counter.

The only minor criticism was that the restaurant ran out of some white wine on the Friday. They also ran out of the cod on Saturday and both the cod and chicken on Sunday. While I accept they had a full hotel on Saturday and could not re-stock on the Sunday this was slightly annoying. On the Sunday night the chef however cooked my wife a salmon dish which was not on the menu which she thought was excellent. (Note to Hotel put the salmon dish back on the menu!).

As a result of this stay we have joined their breakaway club and hope to try other Q hotels. On the evidence of the two hotels we have stayed in this is an excellent chain and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fgwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelfryManager, General Manager at The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear fgwilson

Thank you ever so much for your wonderful comments following your stay with us in December, we were all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

Our team were all pleased to read that you had such an excellent break and thank you for your tip regarding the salmon dish!

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Claire

Claire Steven
General Manager
csteven@qhotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
3.3 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 41 in Nottingham
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
4.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,519 reviews
3.8 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel

Address: Nottingham Business Park, Nottingham NG8 6PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#3 Business Hotel in Nottingham
#3 Family Hotel in Nottingham
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range: $104 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nottingham Belfry is ideally located just one mile from the M1 and 5 miles from Nottingham city centre. The contemporary four-star hotel has 120 spacious bedrooms, a superb leisure club and tranquil spa. The Nottingham Belfry is the region's largest conference venue as the hotel can hold up to 700 delegates in the Admiralty Suite or across 13 flexible conference and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nottingham Belfry - a q Hotel Nottingham
Belfry Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing