We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room OK but food dismal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Room OK but food dismal”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed one night with a group of work colleagues. The room I had was basic but clean and quiet. Bathroom was surprisingly old fashioned and shabby for a modern hotel. Dinner was a fixed menu presumably on some sort of corporate rate. I have rarely eaten such a dismally awful meal. The leek and potato soup was apparently mushroom but was so tepid and nondescript tasting you could not have guessed what it was. Fish and chips main was disgusting with dried out fish served in a greasy batter and curled up chips. But the pièce de resistance was the bread and butter pudding. To say that it was still the talk of the group for most of the following day says it all. It consisted of 3 diagonally cut half slices of bread with what looked like bits of dried apricot in between, the whole being sprinkled with icing sugar. The bread was cold and still white and showed no acquaintance with custard. Breakfast was a slight improvement except that the coffee was from a machine and quite tasteless and the orange juice had run out. It's a shame that a hotel which has quite impressive public areas and OK rooms, is let down by shoddy catering. The staff were fine - friendly and smiling. Location is obviously pretty good.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    839
    364
    113
    69
See reviews for
335
633
142
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I recently stayed in here with a group of friends having organised a golf tour of Notts. There is little point in going over too much detail as its essentially a modern B&B with a bar and dining facilities.

Main points of note -

Location - Edge of central. About a 15 min walk into town for night life which was fine. Very handy for Hooters if you like that kind of thing. Which we did!

Parking - Secure parking was available across the railway bridge for £18 a weekend which considering the central location was pretty good.

Check in - Swift enough.

Rooms - Clean and appointed as expected.

Bar - Closed a bit early (1am) as we were shooed into the lobby to finish our drinks. Otherwise OK and has Sky Sports playing.

Breakfast - Pleasantly surprised. Decent quality sausages and burgers and staff who seemed to care about presentation. Just wish someone would come up with an alternative to the dreaded slow rolling toaster in such hotels!

Check out - No extras, paid for upfront so nothing of note.

Would I come back - Definitely on the short list but would consider other hotels which were a shorter walk into town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmokeyRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night, luckily we only used this hotel for somewhere to sleep after night out.
Unfortunately no onsite parking £11 for 24 hours. Bit of a walk so ideally dont carry too much luggage.
Check in took about 15 mins but staff at desk very friendly and efficient.
Stayed on 8th floor, lifts can take a while also.
Room was nice but standard. By looking downstairs you would think they would carry the grandness into the rooms. However the room was clean so no problems with that.
About a 15 min walk into the centre. As it was dark and late we opted to get a taxi back home to be told by many taxi drivers NO! Eventually we found one that would take us back for £10!! This i found shocking!
We had one drink in the hotel bar and only 1 for a reason!! The prices are throught the roof, £5 for a bottle of beer, ludacrious! Hotel has security downstairs throughout the night which is reassuring.
Once awake we decided we was going to try breakfast. As we had not paid for this we went to pay at the desk to be told it was £10.95 per person.
Wow obviously we got our things and found a cafe!!
All in all a nice hotel, clean rooms but very over priced.

Room Tip: Very Expensive...eat and drink out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

One of the friendliest hotels ever. Staff always going the extra mile to make you feel welcome (from reception to waitresses) and nothing too much trouble. Hotel spotless, great sitauation (near train station); great rates and breakfast beautifully cooked and presented-what more could anyone want?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLS41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of weeks in August, It is a big hotel just up the road from the railway station. The rooms are a good size, the first one I had on the 8th floor had commending views over the Nottinghamshire countryside. The second one faced in the other direction - so I could just see the flats across the square. We got a very good price for 'room only'. The tv and shower both worked and the bed was comfy. The check in and bar staff were courteous. I didn't try the restaurant. it is a bit of a hike in to the city centre from here, but if you don't fancy the walk, there is a tram stop not far away and regular buses.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmondCroissant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Good Points:

Location
Lovely buffet breakfast

Bad Points:

Shabby room decor
Bad smell in bathroom
Tiny window, letting in minimal natural light
Cheap, v basic furnishing in room
No wifi in room
Parking 400 yard walk
Unhelpful staff when i complained about room amenities - take it or leave it

Very disappointed with this hotel, hadn't stayed at a Jury's before & won't be back again in a hurry. Booked a 2 night stay & after i received no help from front desk staff after i complained, immediately looked for another hotel to move to. Unfortunately could only get a hotel for 1 night, so had to stay here for the Saturday.

My advice - stay at the Park Plaza - streets ahead

Room Tip: Apparently all rooms are the same, to chose a good room - stay at the Park Plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MACB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibworth Beauchamp, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very little effort made with the food, someone needs to tell them the batter on fish protects the fish from drying out when deep fried.

Average service but for a city centre Hotel they could have tred to lift the standards and to make it special.

I know it's cheap but cheap could also be fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisg0ufp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.8 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#20 of 49 in Nottingham
1,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Nottingham

Property: Jurys Inn Nottingham
Address: Station Street, Nottingham NG2 3BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Nottingham 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Nottingham is one of the best placed hotels in the city located less than 5 minutes' walk from the train station, tramway and car park. Whether visiting Nottingham for business or leisure, Jurys Inn Nottingham is the best place to stay allowing you easy access to Nottingham's many hidden gems. The Old Market Square, featuring a variety of shops, restaurants and bars, is a pleasant 15 minute walk away while Nottingham's Theatre Royal and Royal Concert Hall are only an 18 minute walk for those attending events there. The hotel is also a short 10 minute jaunt to Nottingham's Capital FM Arena where major events and concerts take place. The hotel's 264 bedrooms have recently been refurbished and now feature stylish, modern decor and an ultra-comfy DREAM bed by Jurys Inn to unwind in. Bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. The hotel also features an all-day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day exploring the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 7:00am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car, public parking is available nearby at the Park Centre car park located on Queens Road - only 3 minutes' walk from the hotel. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Nottingham with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Jurys Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing