We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Clarence Hotel Nottingham
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed July 7, 2014

i dont know what people are moaning about great hotel if youve had a skinfull when i pulled back the sheets there was a cracking stain it looked like someone had died and they had just made the bed again apart from that it was fine

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank craigee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 79 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

Only stayed because we were late for a evening meet up. To advertise itself as a hotel is a misrepresentation. The Clarence is poorly maintained hostel.

Reception was grim and unreceptive. The room smelled of urine; the carpet was sticky and bald; no wardrobe; lovely view over semi-demolished buildings and rubbish; TV not working.

Sheets and towels were clean but did not dare look at the mattress as it was so soft and dipped - I dread to think ...

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Where to start we stayed hear as a last resort for a weekend away with the girls due to everywhere else being booked up! It's awful I wouldn't even let my dog sleep hear! The people in reception barley spoke English there was a very strong smell of weed coming out of the reception it didn't even look open the room and everything in it was damp we wouldn't even walk on the floor without shoes. Definitely not worth the price at all intact u should b paid to spend a night there! Overall it's just shocking that somewhere like this can still be open!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gemalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I'll keep this simple because I could write pages on how awful this place was. If I had to give it a star rating it wouldn't get a pimple on the point of one.
The first room we were given wasn't finished, the builders stuff was still in it, the shower was in a box and there were no beds!
The room I eventually stayed in did have a tele with free view but the box wasn't connected to an ariel and the tele had a big hole in it.
The four light switches didn't actually switch anything and the sink in the bathroom had a huge crack in it so I couldn't use it.
The beds were ex MOD with plastic covered mattresses and I don't think the carpet had seen a Hoover this side of Christmas.
There were signs up saying what time breakfast would be served but when I asked where I should go for the morning grub the chap on reception told me they'd stopped serving, a month ago!
To be fair the shower was new and worked well.
I'd describe this as a hotel of last resort. Maybe in a few months when the ongoing renovations are finished it might be worth a look but only if everywhere else is full.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Yes its cheap.....if you want drugs or a hooker it will cost you more,but not much! Booked over phone without checking it out as in a hurry for a room.After parking on main road was asked twice if i needed any drugs in 200 yrd walk to hotel.Checked in for about 5 mins then walked out.Room was dirty and very unsafe with punch holes in door.Told them to keep money(card) and left,then rang bank and cancelled my card.Better safe than sore.Say hello to the cricket for me.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Rooms are filthy mould in the bathroom, toilet never been cleaned properly in years, carpets are so dirty you cannot stand on them, found a cricket of all things eating crumbs off the floor, drug use with owners consent in smoke area and in rooms, had to have tv changed over and noticed the wiring is a health hazard and illegal no wonder its hidden above the fake ceiling, full area is full if immigrants cant walk down the street and hear an english accent although they have no problem approaching you for money the area is in radford one of the worst areas in nottingham so be aware of this when booking

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thecontractor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

There were a couple of issues with the room, mainly that we had requested a four bed room so that we could all stay together, however upon arrival was told that there was an issue and that the booking was never confirmed, we were then it seems put into two rooms that were completely unfinished. i had explained this to the man in the front office that night (saturday 15th march 2014) and shown him the photos of the room that i refused to stay in due to it being fit for nobody.

i understood that the rooms were still being renovated but the toilet being unclean and bathroom being moldy, coupled with the carpet having more marks on then anything id ever seen and our window being cable tied to a chair to enable it to actually be closed was just a disgrace.

Even the front office said he was unaware of the state of the rooms and seemed horrified that we had been put in these rooms at all once shown the photos. had the rooms been clean and tidy, i would not have had a problem with them, even the mishap with the booking would not have bothered me. what cant be overlooked is the actual state of the rooms, including taps missing and taps not working, its just unacceptable.
Youll love the real time photos of this place, please do flick through and then laugh, and choose somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,519 reviews
2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
1.3 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
1.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#18 of 41 in Nottingham
1,232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel Nottingham

Address: 284 Alfreton Road, Nottingham NG7 5LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarence Hotel Nottingham 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing