We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Clarence Hotel Nottingham
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hi well me my wife and two kids stayed in the famille room with my 3 year old and my 15 year old dawnsindrum son the room was right at the top flood do not get me rong the lad dean who works ther help us take are stuf up but any ways we gets to are room to find no safety on windows p.s this is famlie room wer they no kids stop windows leges came off the sinke came off wall dubbel bed was broke so me and my gf hade to stay in singel beds the carpit was ment to be red it was black so room was crap the good points are bar was nice staff wer plecent and not far from tawn centa taxies wer cheap room cost 180 for weekend from Friday till Monday p.s only 125 at premier in only found that out on the sunday but kids hade fun if you have kids recommend not to go only go if your going for a drinking weekend hope it helps

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snoopy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 79 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have never been to such a disgraceful hotel! There were holes in the ceiling, damp marks, broken bed springs, holes in the door where someone has punched it. We had two rooms and both were just as bad! Dirty hotel and needed a good clean out!

Only plus side of hotel, close to town centre by bus/taxi.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geary87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

i stayed here last night with 2 of my girly mates and from the reviews i was a bit anxious b ut when i got here i instantly relaxed the staff were warm and welcoming and directed me to my room it was large with a double bed and 2 single and honestly the most comfortable beds iv ever slept in :) there was a bar downstairs in there morning we were offered a continental breakfast where fresh toast was made the shower facilities were clean the room was clean the hotel secure really if your looking for somewhere to stay if you going on a night out or stag hen do this is your place near to town only 4 quid in taxi which was rang for us really fantastic thanks graham your a star we will definitely come again :)

Room Tip: stay in room 20 its fab :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Booked on recommendation of a freind. Shame last time they stayed was 3 years before. Floor in fron of shower missing floorboards. Dirty substance in drawers, broken electrical sockets and shower held up by cable ties. Went for my stag weekend lukily others who came still talk to me. Gives best man speech just on state of hotel.

Please do not stay here you'll feel unclean afterwards and wash all items you have taken to hotel if not bin them instead.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Came to join my friends hendo and it happened to be the same weekend as the graduations. This was the only hotel left we could get in party hotels. It is in a bad area, but you get bad areas wherever you go. It's not the best hotel but the bed sheets are clean and breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badlydrawnkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Well having payed £30 per night i never expected much, when i arrived it was in a run down area even the taxi driver said not to leave the hotel at night, I tryed to enter but the door was locked had to ring a bell to get in didnt feel safe at all. The rooms are very basic and old looking not been decorated in awhile! but the bed sheets were clean. Place is more like a hostel than a hotel only good point about my visit was the female on reception who was lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ross d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

dirty place dodgy area stay away.filthy catrpet dirty sheets,horrible staff rip off stay at ttavel lodge

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,505 reviews
2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
1.3 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
1.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 41 in Nottingham
1,227 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel Nottingham

Address: 284 Alfreton Road, Nottingham NG7 5LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarence Hotel Nottingham 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing