We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motorpoint Arena Nottingham

Motorpoint Arena Nottingham
Ranked #6 of 119 things to do in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Motorpoint Arena Nottingham is one of the UK's top entertainment venues. Our 10,000 seat Arena hosts the cream of live music, comedy, shows & sporting events in the Midlands. The Arena is based within the National Ice Centre complex, the UK's first twin ice pad facility and centre of excellence for ice sports in the UK. The National Ice Centre also comprises the biggest ice sports store in the UK - Ice Locker - as well as dance studios and conference rooms.
Preston
Level Contributor
270 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Relaxed and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

How refreshing to go to a concert venue that didn't insist on a bag search and removing bottle tops. Manchester could learn something! Acoustics wise I'm not so sure but we had a good time here and it was easy to walk to well sign posted.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank cel_longridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    275
    121
    40
    32
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
562 reviews
282 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Impressed with the acoustics”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We went to see the Sterophonics here and were very impressed with the sound quality. Being a smaller venue than the NIA for example it had an intimate feel to it. The staff were brilliant very friendly and helpful, no attitude from the door staff. The food and drink wasn't extortionate by normal standards either.

We would certainly return again to go to concerts, the only downside is getting out of the city car parks at the end of the night.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank no1missmarple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We went to see Micky Flannagan and initially turned up on the wrong night. The brilliant staff there went through all that evenings stubs to find our ticket stubs so they could match them up so we could go back the following week. Not only did they all keep their sense of humour but made us feel at ease for being numptys. The following week they remembered us and made us laugh again. Now that is excellent customer service. Well done- we will be back but on the right night next time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Losing staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Always used to visit the venue and spend some time in the t&d's bar and enjoy seeing friendly bar staff especially June, however shocked to hear that she is no longer there

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaseyH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Ice Hockey is alive in Nottingham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I've just been with the family to the Ice centre to watch Ice Hockey. The family are from Nottingham and are big fans of the local team, the Nottingham Panthers. We've been here lots of times so thought it was about time I wrote a review about the place.

What I like about coming here for the Ice Hockey is that fans can sit with each other and there is no animosity. It is very much a family atmosphere and swearing and too much drinking are not encouraged. In fact, you can get thrown out if you cause too much of a disturbance. The arena is used to lots of activities, from boxing matches to pop concerts, but we like coming for the Ice Hockey.

The venue is in the centre of Nottingham and there are very good transport links. If you book tickets on line and have them with you, rather than collect them from the door, you can get cheap buses to the front door. There is ample parking near the venue, but much of it is NCP so be prepared to pay for it. However, getting tickets is easy on line and you can print them out or collect them from the venue on the day for no extra charge, but check out that last bit.

There are the usual burgers and fries and soft drinks etc at the venue as well as alcohol. The staff are friendly and the matches are very well supported. You can get tickets but don't really bother turning up on the day expecting to buy them as all matches are usually sold out well in advance. TIckets are not expensive and there are reductions for juniors. We paid £45 for 2 adults and a child under 13. There are three types of tickets, gold silver and bronze. Wherever you sit you will get a good views of the action.

The atmosphere inside is brilliant if you're a home supporter but there is a separate area for away fans and their views are always well respected. Fans from each side will mingle during the intervals too and I have never seen bad words said between them. There are facilities for people with wheelchairs, who have a separate seating area which gives a good view of the whole rink.

As for the game tonight, the Panthers were playing the Sheffield Steelers. Panthers won all before them last year so were heavy favourites to win. The game was pretty even at one goal each until the last period, when Panthers scored 5 times and ran away with the game. Ice Hockey is great if you like that sort of thing and there was plenty of action for the fans. I've never seen so many power plays in one game and it did get a bit rough at times with a couple of players being sent off for long periods for "unnecessary roughness" which in layman's terms meant fighting. Now normally I would watch boxing if I wanted to see a good fight but Ice Hockey is a contact sport so people are going to get hurt at times.

Anyway, in summary, the Ice Centre is a great venue for Ice Hockey. Fans are well treated, it's a great atmosphere and you will have a god time. Chuck in a few goals and some well intentioned music in the intervals and you have all the ingredients for a great night out for the family. Just check the website for the fixture list and book your tickets early as seats go fast.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank helenandpaul13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motorpoint Arena Nottingham also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Motorpoint Arena Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing