We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic overpriced arena venue”

National Ice Centre and Motorpoint Arena Nottingham
Ranked #8 of 124 things to do in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Motorpoint Arena Nottingham is one of the UK's top entertainment venues. Our 10,000 seat Arena hosts the cream of live music, comedy, shows & sporting events in the Midlands. The Arena is based within the National Ice Centre complex, the UK's first twin ice pad facility and centre of excellence for ice sports in the UK. The National Ice Centre also comprises the biggest ice sports store in the UK - Ice Locker - as well as dance studios and conference rooms.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
LINCOLNSHIRE
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Basic overpriced arena venue”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Went to see Mrs Brown Boys and were royally entertained by the show, but the dispppointment as usual is this tired overpriced arena. Sat in the gods with our knees under our chins, on plastic seats embedded in the all to apparent concrete surroundings. The men's toilets stank, the drinks prices were exhorbitant at £3.80 for a small bottle of beer, small ice cream £2.50 , didn't even look at the prices of the disgusting smelling burgers. If this is the best we can do for a national ice centre, no wonder we can't play football!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JRWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    284
    125
    40
    34
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Concert Hall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Well this venue can be disaster for the sound quality due to the open construction of the ceiling becomes resonant when there is a lot of sound
However some artists get it right using the line array sound PA systems.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“BEWARE OF YOUR SEATING POSITION AND DRINK/FOOD PRICES”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Second time I decided to try the venue,The show was Mrs Brown rides again. We had seats on the ground floor approx ten rows from the front,which We thought would give excellent views.We had a person with us not to good on his feet,so we were shocked to find we had to climb down steep steps with no hand rails to reach the ground level. The seats were the type you sit on in your local village hall.Close,uncomfortable and no leg room. Drinks in the venue are extortionate.3 bottles of Stella,3 small bottles of water £18 yes £18. The best was to come, 6 very small tubs of ice cream a staggering £15. The venue for ice skating is great,but we will not be visiting the venue ever again.
We left at half time and we were not alone. Several couples were complaining around us at the poor seating and some left part way through the first half.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank RONSROLLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“the ice centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

plenty of room for our use all ways made welcome and will go back next year

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mr d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mrs Brown's Boys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were very impressed with the organisation there - I do think it's a little pricey for the tickets but I guess that's just the going rate. Refreshments were very expensive and I've never seen such a long queue for the ladies, but it went down pretty quickly. I think that wherever you sat in the arena you would have a good view, although quite a way from the stage - I did think that I could have just watched it on the telly because we were so far way that it was easier to look at the screens than the stage. Beware when you come out - the arena is shoe horned into a small site in Nottingham with no parking and everyone is heading for transport home - a bit chaotic. All in all we had a good night but not sure that I'd rush back.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Ice Centre and Motorpoint Arena Nottingham also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to National Ice Centre and Motorpoint Arena Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing