We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice walk round the lake and worth taking a look”

Wollaton Hall and Park
Ranked #1 of 124 things to do in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Wollaton Hall is one of the country's finest Grade One listed Elizabethan mansions, set within 500 acres of beautiful parkland. Experience stunning architecture, exhibitions, a packed events program and an array of wildlife. Go behind the scenes on a variety of guided tours available throughout the year and on demand for groups. Other special events include costumed tours, puppet shows, craft fairs, Segway tours and our popular spooky Ghost Nights (not for the faint hearted!). Visit the Cafe in the Courtyard for light refreshments including freshly ground coffee, specialty teas and home made cakes.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice walk round the lake and worth taking a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

It doesn't cost much so its worth parking up and having a walk round the lake and going around the Hall but inside its not really going to hold a young child's attention for long though for 6yrs upwards I think its much better.

I enjoyed it but i'm local so I may be biased :-). They could do a lot more with it but compared to how it was when i was a child its much better. Still if its a little excitement you want, you could always look for the ghosts. :-)

There is a car park at top of the hill near the Hall as well as ones as the bottom of the park. Just in case you are worried you might struggle.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pepperoni_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,605
    915
    156
    28
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Especially love the walk around the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

As a family we really enjoy Wollaton Park, especially in the Summer months. It's a great place for a picnic, and the kids love running through the trees when we take a walk around the lake. Always get to see lots of damsal flies and dragon flies scooting around the lake and a great place for bird spotting.

There is a fee for the car park.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice time to share with grandchildren”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We go to Wollaton Park with our granchilden. We have had lots of fun as they are varying ages. The hall is great education/ learning lots of interesting stuffed animals. Lots of interesting old working machinery. The children also enjoy walking round the lake and gardens. You can take photos of the herd of deer roaming the field. Great place to go for a picnic, walk the dog or play on the swings. Great day out!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank EgyptfanDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Historic beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Beautiful part of Nottingham's history with fantastic walks, wonderful playground for kids, excellent day out for the whole family or even a walk with the dog!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“See a stuffed giraffe for free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Entry to woollaton hall is free ( though there are charges for parking). Inside the hall is an interesting collection of animals and birds, beautifully preserved my favorite is the giraffe. You dont often see a stuffee giraffe for obvious reasons. The cafe is clean and has a good choice, on the pricey side but as everything else is sich good value. And having a cuppa is not compulsary I feel its ok. The grounds are lovely a level walk around the lake is quiet and picturesque. And catching sight of the deer is a treat. Good all year round, sledging, picnics or autumn walks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 40MacTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wollaton Hall and Park also viewed

 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Wollaton Hall and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing