We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally ”
Review of Top Dog - CLOSED

Top Dog
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Nottingham's very first dedicated gourmet hot dog bar based in the heart of the lenton student district. A family friendly cafe serving speciality hot dogs, fresh ground coffee, milkshakes and featuring an art wall and mini performance space. Free wi-fi served. Breakfast dogs served at the weekends.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Finally ”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Finally managed to go to topdog today. Had a Mexican dog. It was lush! Might well become my after work stop.

Helpful?
Thank samnicholas300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    2
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“top dogs indeed”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

we stumbled across this place one afternoon and have used it as our base while house-hunting due to their exceptional service, friendliness and of course, tasty hot dogs. One member of our group is lactose intolerant and so asked for soy milk; they don't sell soy lattes but immediately went to the shop to buy some soy milk which was a very nice touch. The hot dogs are so good that some of us even have to buy two just to get a chance to taste multiple toppings as they all sound so good. One of Nott's best kept secrets.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Irini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The top Dogs in town”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Having visited the restaurant on several occasions, I can honestly say that the food and the service here are absolutely spot on.
The staff are polite, the restaurant is very clean, warm and welcoming. The chef {Errol}is a really nice chap who comes out of the kitchen to ask the staff if they are enjoying their food and to gather feedback.
The restaurant has a wide choice to choose from posh or standard and is explained very clearly on the blackboard behind the counter.
The lady behind the counter Phillpa seems very friendly, quick and passionate about her the products on sale which is rear in many eateries in Nottingham today, do ask her to recommend as we do and she will ensure that you make the right choice.
I will be going back again I just wish there was more of them.
An added bonus is that it has free wifi and they sell a decent coffee too. .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nottsprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Plastic cutlery? What cutlery?”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Several legs in to my Top Dog journey and it's a very pleasant trip. Well priced, fantastically convenient for something to eat before the Savoy cinema (try 5-6 with parking on Church Street possible all evening if you arrive after 5) and, benchmark of place worth eating in, a spotlessly clean and comfortable bog! Minor point - offer of cutlery would have been greatly welcomed, especially when trying to take down the chilli without wasting any.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scribz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always delicious”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Perfect food after a night out. Delicious, cheap, filling and friendly staff. I will always visit Top Dog when I'm in Nottingham. My only issue is that the plastic cutlery and basket, rather than a plate, were slightly inconvenient and messy

Helpful?
1 Thank SlicK-05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top Dog also viewed

 
Gunthorpe, Nottingham
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing