We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely pub”

Ye Olde Trip to Jerusalem
Ranked #1 of 139 Nightlife in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A lovely pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Wow ! A gem of a place for some really good ale (most important) and some really good food. Very packed on the day we visited because it bucketted it down with rain. Lovely nooks and crannies for the romantics and lots of little rooms to eat. Staff were charming and more than helpful.

Upside - good beer, good food, helpful staff, enjoyable all round
downside - the squid starter was very poor but the beer and sandwiches made me forget that.

All in all I would recommend the tram to the train station, a nice walk along the canal and then up to the pub.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,175
    775
    167
    35
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“you just have to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

NIce little pub good food good selection of real ale all at fair prices great atmosphere all in the traditional way

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good pub,worth a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

If visiting nottingham and going to nottingham castle then drop into the trip for a decent pint and just to say that you have visited England's oldest pub

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank steve n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“5 star ale, 1 star food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

If I were reviewing the selection and quality of ales, this would be a 5 star review. Sadly though, I took my family for lunch.

The food is very overpriced, and really not up to the mark. Every one of our four meals was missing something which should have been included (according to the menu) and it looked as if it had been literally thrown together. The quality was also far from brilliant.

It's a great place to go for a beer, so it's a shame that they don't capitalise on their reputation and put a decent menu together.

Disappointing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisk495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“wonderful Ale full of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Unforgettable experience of having typical English beer in very very old pub... Pub is nicely situated under castle.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Proxima_Centauri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Trip to Jerusalem also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Ye Olde Trip to Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing