We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second trip to "The Trip"”

Ye Olde Trip to Jerusalem
Ranked #1 of 141 Nightlife in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“My second trip to "The Trip"”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was actually my second visit to "The Trip" this year as I've been to Nottingham twice on business. I know that there are several pubs that claim that they are the oldest, but this one which is built below the castle and into I guess you could call a small cliff has a great atmosphere. I have to admit that I was there for liquid refreshment only so I didn't get a chance to sample the food. I was impressed with the selection of ales. My favorites were the Abbot Ale and the Old Speckled Ale. During my first visit we drank in the courtyard. You need to go through the rooms which is a cave in the side of the cliff. The ambience is unique and is perfect for sitting down with your friends and having a few ales.

If you're in Nottingham, you need to stop in and see this jewel of a pub. Living in Nottingham MD, I call this my sister city !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrcabdrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,229
    812
    170
    38
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cradley Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Superb"”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

What can i say, the surroundings are comfortable and interesting, the food is superb, we both had the rib eye steak that was superbly cooked all washed down with excellent cask ales, the staff were very friendly as were the locals, overall a great experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob150832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Why Not”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a must visit if you are in Nottingham and well worth it. The building is amazing with so many interesting features and the ambiance was good but I'm a lover of modern comforts so a draft on my shoulders didn't do it for me. The food was very ordinary . But am I glad I visited yes without a doubt would I go back why not but be realistic. The staff are charming and this is all part of English History.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank carmel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A must visit in Nottingham”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

A pub dating back centuries, and in a cave? What more does one want when it comes to atmosphere!! Beautiful pub with some great local ales (and mulled wine if you are in during December/January), great pub food (especially their pulled pork) and nice deep chairs. Ticks all the boxes

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank scubed82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“What a gem”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is another pub where you can go into the caves. Unfortuantely when we visited, we did not go down the caves as the trips have to be booked in advance. This place was rammed with people which goes to show how popular it is.

The food was very good. We had a platter of mini burgers and pulled pork with chips for just under £10.00 The bar staff were very good, especially the chap with the surfer - type hair who sounded Australian. He was very polite and efficent and knew exactly who was next in line to be served at the bar.

Very quirky pub, which has a museum and gift shop upstairs. There is also small room marked 'haunted snug' .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Trip to Jerusalem also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Ye Olde Trip to Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing